We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Glorified hostel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westbury Hotel Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Ranked #768 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glorified hostel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had booked into stay at the Oxford Hotel in Earl's Court but were told upon arrival that the hotel was fully booked (despite the fact that we had booked 2 months previously). We were sent to their "sister" hotel the Westbury which was about a 5-minute walk away. Apparently this is one of 8 "sister" hotels in the area which explains other people's posts about being moved from one hotel to another.

I would describe this hotel as a glorified hostel. It was clean but very basic, a tiny bedroom with thin walls and even tinier beds. I have no problem sleeping in a single bed but these beds were child-sized and I was at risk of falling out each time I turned! The worst thing was the temperature of the bedroom; it was absolutely freezing. When we arrived in the room the 2 windows were wide open. We closed the windows and went out for dinner. When we arrived back at about 11pm the room was still very cold and neither of the radiators were working. I called down to reception at about 11.45pm and was told that the heating would be coming on in ten minutes. It didn't. It was a long, chilly, uncomfortable night made worse by the noises coming from next door through paper-thin walls and the fear of falling out of the cot-sized bed. The room was still cold the next morning so we had a quick shower and got out of there. We didn't even bother with breakfast. All I wanted was was a comfortable night's sleep...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    191
    194
    93
    92
See reviews for
161
205
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked a triple room
Basic accommodation
Room and bathroom were very clean
Very cost effective - 55 pounds for the night
Excellent location in Earls Court within walking distance of Kensington High Street
Very helpful and friendly Receptionist
Basic breakfast offerings
Would recommend for cost conscious travellers

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7063b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

After looking at some the reviews on Trip advisor and getting a good deal off the internet, I book a room at this hotel. I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who gave me all the information on the hotel, and of the surrounding areas of the hotel. There is a lift in the hotel so getting the bag to the room was no problem, the room its self was sufficient with a on suite bathroom (no bath only an open shower), a tea/coffee making area, flat screen TV (which the reception ask a five pound deposit for the use of the remote control, during your stay. I said no to that option, when I looked at the TV I found the manual controls on the side of the TV as well as the on/off switch), I had a single room (but it had two single beds in it), a telephone and one chair. The room was very clean, and a maintenance man came round and fixed some lights. Which I take the previous occupant had reported, there was the bar of small soap and shampoo in the bathroom. I managed to get the room for thirty five pounds including continental breakfast which consisted of tea or coffee, toast or bread, with spreads or cheese and three different cereals and hot or cold milk. The full price of the room was 90 pound plus, at that price I would have hoped for a better breakfast as the other hotels I have stayed at over the years in London have done better breakfasts. But for the price I got the room for, and being central (Earls court underground station at the end of the road) I think overall it was a valve for money and I got a good night’s sleep with no noise.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrighton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter,Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Exactly what we needed, no more, and certainly no less. We were tourists and all we needed was a place to sleep. We got that and more for a reasonable price. The staff is probably the best of their amenities (Hi Catherine:). The free WiFi was important to us. CLEAN was also important and it was. The contenintal breakfast was simple but adequate to start the day. We were within short walking distance of the Tube, from which you can access all of London and beyond.

Room Tip: Stairsteps are just a part of London life, get use to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stillmrscalabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Good Location, 5 minutes walk from Earls Court underground and about 15 minutes walk from all the shops in Knightsbridge. Also, many of the big museums are a short walk away.
The reception staff are very friendly ( the polish lady whose name I have unfortunately forgot, could not be more helpfull) and as I arrived very early from my flight, allowed me to check in early, as soon as my room had been cleaned.
My single room was on the small ish side, but was functional and clean and the en suite was perfectly adaquate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteyp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#742 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Caring Hotel
#504 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#586 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#741 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#606 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#750 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Hotel Kensington

Property: Westbury Hotel Kensington
Address: 22 - 24 Collingham Place, London SW5 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #768 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westbury Hotel Kensington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, newly refurbished hotel with friendly staff - close to museums, Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition centers, underground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Westbury Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Kensington London
Westbury Kensington Hotel London
Westbury Hotel London
Westbury Hotel Kensington London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing