We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again ”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #520 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Stupidly booked without looking at the pictures, don't think the hotels has had any work done for quiet a few years, when we tried to check out after only just checking the receptionist just smiled like she'd heard it a 1000 times before and said she couldn't refund our money as we didn't book direct.
The room doors are all spring loaded so once a nice inconsiderate piss head decides to Slam the door at 3-4am I can guarantee your awake along with the paper thin windows there isn't much chance of getting back to sleep.

The lights above the beds were 4ft fluorescent fittings which would be more suitable for a small kitchen rather than light reading.

Oh and the light switch above the bed turned the Tv off

A homeless person would probably knock the breakfast back.

Credit where it's due though the shower was brilliant

Thanks

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank davidamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This hotel is ideal for being close to the Stations, but that about all. I have stay in 2 0ther Imperial hotels & they was fine. The bedroom was all that clean even though the bed & sheets looked clean. There was musty in the room, the tv did not work but then that's not a problem because you wouldn't wish to stay in your room long. If you do need the loo in the night then its a walk down the corridor & for a shower if you are brave. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our County Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast and appreciated our central location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station and a ten minute walk to Euston Station. Equally, our staff are on hand twenty-four hours a day and would have been able to assist with any concerns regarding your room, including the TV. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay with us further.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Regards,

Christianna Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Stay here on most trips to London ....Basically you get what you pay for..If you want a little luxury in central London, Go Elswhere and be prepared to pay accordingly. The County cannot be beaten pricewise for a central location, and a superb breakfast...

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EscotiaIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your review following your stay at our County Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast superb, found your room adequate and you appreciate our value for money, in such a central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our County Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We booked the County Hotel as part of a package through a third party. Upon arrival we were shown to our room. All I can say was I was utterly shocked. The room was filthy although the beds appeared clean. There was grime on the inside of the door. The trunking had come off the electrics and in the exposed part the dust was at least an inch thick. The kettle and TV were last tested in 2011. The wire to the TV was split open. My daughter actually cried and begged me to change hotels! Upon examining the room, I realised that the dust was so bad that I was actually beginning to have an asthma attack. I asked at reception and we were changed to a different room which although exceptionally dated was 1000 times better that the previous room.
The staff in the breakfast room were not exactly the most inviting and reminded me of prison guards as they patrolled the room inspecting what you were eating.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. One of the porters was exceptionally rude when spoken to although the other (a spaniard) was polite and pleasant. The same can be said for the reception staff.
I actually raised this as a complaint direct with the hotel upon returning and awaited a response before posting this review. I have been assured that the original room was cleaned to their exceptionally high standards. My standards are obviously very different to theirs.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

worst place i have ever stayed at rooms were clean but it was like stepping back in time the rooms were very dated one plug in a double room meant could not charge phones properly the attitude from staff unfriendly especially the breakfast staff and porter staff the breakfast was horrible to look at and eggs watery would not recommend staying here very nice part of london but if you are looking for a comfy hotel and to have a few drinks avoid here if you are just needing a place to crash out for the night make sure you get very drunk and the county hotel will do

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank darcyeaston25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#572 of 1,078 in London
2,693 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#506 of 1,078 in London
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#560 of 1,078 in London
2,093 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#454 of 1,078 in London
2,155 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#880 of 1,078 in London
8,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: Russell Square | Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #520 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: €60 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering exceptional value in an excellent central location, the County Hotel is the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring the city. A short walk from three mainline stations, it's also halfway between world-renowned Oxford Street shopping and the food, fashion and festival atmosphere of Camden Market. Small and friendly, it's become the essential central London choice for sightseers and shoppers on a budget. All 175 rooms have wash-basins and bathrooms are shared between four rooms. But there's more to the County than resting your head - be sure to begin your London experience with our complimentary English breakfast. It's hearty enough to fuel even the most action-packed stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing