We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$350
US$313
Kensington Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
US$269
Bloomsbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)
US$147
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$291
Montague Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$368/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$269
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London(London)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$314
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$260
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
57
162
209
105
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
162
209
105
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathrooms and toiletsimperial hotelsrussell squarecentral londonfull english breakfastwest endrail
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This hotel is ideal for being close to the Stations, but that about all. I have stay in 2 0ther Imperial hotels & they was fine. The bedroom was all that clean even though the bed & sheets looked clean. There was musty in the room, the tv did not work but then that's not a problem because you wouldn't wish to stay in your room long. If you do need the loo in the night then its a walk down the corridor & for a shower if you are brave. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our County Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast and appreciated our central location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station and a ten minute walk to Euston Station. Equally, our staff are on hand twenty-four hours a day and would have been able to assist with any concerns regarding your room, including the TV. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay with us further.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Regards,

Christianna Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Stay here on most trips to London ....Basically you get what you pay for..If you want a little luxury in central London, Go Elswhere and be prepared to pay accordingly. The County cannot be beaten pricewise for a central location, and a superb breakfast...

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EscotiaIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your review following your stay at our County Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast superb, found your room adequate and you appreciate our value for money, in such a central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our County Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We booked the County Hotel as part of a package through a third party. Upon arrival we were shown to our room. All I can say was I was utterly shocked. The room was filthy although the beds appeared clean. There was grime on the inside of the door. The trunking had come off the electrics and in the exposed part the dust was at least an inch thick. The kettle and TV were last tested in 2011. The wire to the TV was split open. My daughter actually cried and begged me to change hotels! Upon examining the room, I realised that the dust was so bad that I was actually beginning to have an asthma attack. I asked at reception and we were changed to a different room which although exceptionally dated was 1000 times better that the previous room.
The staff in the breakfast room were not exactly the most inviting and reminded me of prison guards as they patrolled the room inspecting what you were eating.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. One of the porters was exceptionally rude when spoken to although the other (a spaniard) was polite and pleasant. The same can be said for the reception staff.
I actually raised this as a complaint direct with the hotel upon returning and awaited a response before posting this review. I have been assured that the original room was cleaned to their exceptionally high standards. My standards are obviously very different to theirs.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

worst place i have ever stayed at rooms were clean but it was like stepping back in time the rooms were very dated one plug in a double room meant could not charge phones properly the attitude from staff unfriendly especially the breakfast staff and porter staff the breakfast was horrible to look at and eggs watery would not recommend staying here very nice part of london but if you are looking for a comfy hotel and to have a few drinks avoid here if you are just needing a place to crash out for the night make sure you get very drunk and the county hotel will do

Room Tip: book elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank darcyeaston25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here a week. For me it's a single room bed, kettle, tv. Simple breakfast with no crowds. Bed was ok but possibly could do with changing to something better soon. Imperial hotels are a good chain to live with as they cover all levels of cost. I use county and Travistock and have done for 30 years. Remember if your going over a weekend to claim your free meals

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Fraser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your kind review regarding your stay at our County Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room adequate and appreciate our value for money in such a central location.

We look forward to continuously welcoming you back to our County and Tavistock Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews