We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Mercure usual standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #637 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to Mercure usual standard”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Having been patronized Mercure/Accorhotel for yrs, never had such bad experience. No heat at first night, telephone not worked at last night, only fix next morninig. What's more - water dripping sound (after toilet flush) lasted long & annoying. But front desk staff friendly & efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We wish you had informed us of these issues during your stay so we could have helped you. Your room has been checked but no problems were found. Sometimes guests forget to put their key-card in the slot by the door to activate the heating… We’re happy our staff made a good impression and would have loved to help you more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    633
    316
    137
    83
See reviews for
235
609
160
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was not up to the normal standard I expect and am used to at Mercure hotels.
Only one staff member on reception meant check in was slow. I had a couble room - which was literally a double bed with about 2ft around it - I would say a single room with a double bed squashed into it. Disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suffolknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Sorry to hear you were not satisfied. Sometimes when groups arrive, check-in can take a little time but usually it is swift and efficient. You stayed in a 'Small Double' room which does offer great value for money in central London but, if you prefer more space, please book a 'Standard King' next time. We hope you will give our hotel a second chance! We would love to change your impression of us. - Please accept a free welcome drink upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Had to arrange an overnight between meetings and booked this room via the Mercure website - paid £66.Got a small (but prefectly formed!) room with a double bed and all the trimmings from bath robe to all toiletries to tea/coffee and biscuits. Helpful pleasant staff and quick route to Earls Court tube which gives you easy access into central London. Given I paid less than half Hiltons were charging and less than Travelodges were charging (with nothing offered), it was very good value and I would recommend.

Room Tip: The higher the better, away from groung floor general 'service' noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Many thanks for your comments. Great to hear you enjoyed our value, facilities and service. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I travel to Japan frequently, so I am no stranger to compact hotel rooms - but the Mercure Kensington still gets the prize for the least space to move in a room! The room was called a "double" - and indeed the bed was a double - but there was no space around the bed. One had to climb over it to get to the desk at the other side. I had to store my suitcase against the door. It was not an enormous suitcase - but that was the only place to put it. That frankly presents a safety risk - you have to block the door with your luggage when you are in the room. The window was drafty and loose - but the weather was mild so that was not a problem. However on a windy winter night I am sure it would bang and rattle. The location of the hotel is convenient, but overall the room was below the standard one expects from Accor hotels. (I do 30-60 Accor nights each year, so generally I think it's a good brand).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wakemeformeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear guest, please understand that you chose to book a 'Small Double' room. Small Double rooms offer great value for money but are a little small. If you prefer more space, our 'Standard King' rooms are a bit higher in price but still offer great value with 2m-wide beds and over 20sqm of space. We are also more than happy to store excess luggage downstairs to give you more space. We hope you will come back and try one of our larger rooms next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#634 of 1,069 in London
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#345 of 1,069 in London
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Property: Mercure London Kensington
Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
#362 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing