We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch deal”
Review of The Old Fields

The Old Fields
Ranked #7,760 of 24,831 Restaurants in London
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We went in hear for lunch as Monday to Friday they do a deal of sandwich, side and soft drink for £8.45, for an extra £2 you can upgrade to an alcoholic drink .
This was the first time we have eaten here and we where really impressed, better that your standard pub chain food. I ordered pulled pork which came in American style cornbread with coleslaw and chips. My husband went for the fish finger brioche with onions rings.
The service was quick and the staff where also friendly, I will be back to try the Sunday roast.
Also worth noting that the pub is dog friendly and supplies biscuits and water

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
351luciat, Manager at The Old Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Good afternoon Jane, thank you so much for taking time to review the pub, we are glad you enjoyed your visit here. Looking forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018

A group of us went here just before Christmas, the staff where very rude, and unwelcoming. A few of the groups meals had to be taken back, as the meat was so hard! They couldn't even provide one gluten free meal (very bad in 2018) I had to order a curry when I got home. I also had to bring my own drink in, as they didn't even know what drinks were gluten free. NEVER AGAIN!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank connaughtonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
351luciat, Manager at The Old Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Good evening, thank you for your review, I will definitely pass on your feedback to my kitchen team.
We are sorry your experience was not up to the standards we both expect. I do remember when you visited the pub in December, and we did provide our allergen menu for you to see our non gluten containing options for both food and liquor, as you notified us that you have a severe allergy to glutein we suggested that our non gluten containing dishes are not ensured to be gluten free, this was important to point out to make sure you could be aware of any risks.
As you stated in your review some members of the team were rude to you I would appreciate if you could e-mail us on 1574@greeneking.co.uk to give us more details about this.
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Was staying nearby for a week and went in a few times. The guy behind the bar was always friendly and helpful. Good pub grub, and well priced drinks.

Thank Stueyy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
351luciat, Manager at The Old Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you like the pub, see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

We have had drinks here before and always been pleased. Today we tried Sunday lunch and glad we did. Every member of staff was warm and welcoming. We found a nice table at the back, all still very festive and chilled! After ordering the roasts we set about playing some of the board and card games available to borrow. Lunch was served and very tasty too, so much we couldn’t fit in deserts! Many people including their children came and went, a great friendly atmosphere.

The staff asked a couple of times if the food was ok or if we needed anything else.

Great way to spend New Years Eve and say good bye to 2017.

Lovely food and great service - we are sure to return in 2018 to sample more food off the menu!

Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
351luciat, Manager at The Old Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you like the pub and we are looking forward to see you again soon,
Wish you and your family a great new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Came to this pub with a brood of youngsters and could not have been made to feel more welcome. All the staff were fabulous and super helpful and even tailored the kid's deserts so they all felt super special. Rarely been given such great service from a whole team of staff! And the food was delicious too, a cut above your average pub food - being delivered with a smile makes it all the better. Keep up the good work! We will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andyr0bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
351luciat, Manager at The Old Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you like the pub, I will definitely pass on your message to the team! See you again soon,
Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Fields also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Old Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing