We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Dean Swift

The Dean Swift
Ranked #1,002 of 25,563 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dean Swift, the original Local Beer House located near Tower Bridge in Butler's Wharf, SE1. Built on a reputation of serving some of the finest craft beer from London and further afield. Alongside a food offering that has seen the Dean Swift rated as one of the Top 20 Sunday roasts in London by the Evening Standard.
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Atmosphere and food were good, but we had to wait one hour for the food although we were told it would take only 1/2 hour.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paradise58075193037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Local_Beer_House, Manager at The Dean Swift, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us, pleased to hear the food and atmosphere were on point. Obviously not so pleased to hear of your wait. My apologies for that, below the level of expectations we aim for. Cheers, Zed - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We were there on the last Friday of October and had lunch during our long transfer between two of the busiest London airports. The atmosphere and the view from the second floor are so homely. The service is remarkable!! The waitress (said she was born in Romania) is such an asset! The cuisine is also on a high level, altogether with the beer!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank georgesW7839VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Local_Beer_House, Manager at The Dean Swift, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review, great to host you on your short stop-off in London, I'll make sure the staff see your kind words! Cheers, Zed - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Very good food, excellent Sunday lunches. Really wide choice of beers and very helpful staff. Prices a bit over normal pub prices.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank epynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Local_Beer_House, Manager at The Dean Swift, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Really pleased you enjoy your visit to our pub - many thanks for the review! Zed - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Recently moved into the area and thought we’d try out our local place. The bar staff were attentive and accommodating. The food was nice but overpriced (??£18.50) for a pub roast.. and the pint was nearly £7. Maybe I’m the only one by my wages haven’t doubled in the last year.. like food and drink prices seem to of..

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 416laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Local_Beer_House, Manager at The Dean Swift, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hi Laurie, thanks for taking the time to review, I’m pleased to see the offer and service were up to scratch! Our roast price reflects the premium approach we give it, best ingredients and days of preparation have helped get us into the Top 20 roasts of London in the Evening Standard! Beer wise we have various sub £5 pints including our Pilsner, Cider & Cask beers, so hopefully there is something for everyone! Hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Zed - manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent roast on a Sunday evening, washed down with a Stiegl or two. Well served with all the usual trimmings and kale.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KulinaryAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Local_Beer_House, Manager at The Dean Swift, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Roast & Stiegl - winning combo! Pleased you enjoyed so much! Zed - manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dean Swift also viewed

 

Been to The Dean Swift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing