We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Ranked #606 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 August 2011

After reading some of the reviews here, I was a bit apprehensive prior to my arrival. I needed a place to stay for 4 nights on short notice, and finding a reaonably priced hotel in London in mid July is not an easy task. I was pleasantly surprised.
I've stayed at about a dozen or so hotels in London during the past 10 years. The room here was probably in the mid-size of rooms I've had in London. Actually, it was much bigger than a room I had seen recently at a Quality Hotel in Manhattan.
The staff was competent and pleasant. They're not going to be your best friends, but I found them to be very professional. I certainly did not experience any of the surliness mentioned by a prior reviewer.
The hotel was clean, as was the room. No problems there.
Wifi was very strong and I had no issues. Well, actually, I couldn't connect in the basement during breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, I thought it was fine. Yes, they had the same choices every day (a prior reviewer had complained about this), but so does my local diner. I expect a reasonable palatable breakfast, not the Four Seasons. The staff was willing to make fried eggs each morning (I hate buffet scrambled eggs), so no complaints.
I had never stayed at a hotel in Underground Zone 2, so i was a bit concerned about the distance. However, I didn't really notice any significant travel time on the Underground and the hotel was less than 5 minute walk from the station.
A number of reasonably good restaurants on Finchley Road between the Station and the hotel. And a laundromat around the corner.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blockschip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 125 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a hotel I use regularly on business trips to London. Although some of the rooms are shabby, its comfortable and clean and the rooms are being gradually upgraded. The breakfast is adequate and for the price the fact that breakfast is thrown in is a bonus. The staff are pleasant, for the most part. Its just off Finchley Road so its quiet as London hotels go, but still near the tube and good bus services, and its a relatively safe residential area. Many nice restaurants nearby, with Starbucks and Sainburys in the shopping centre across the road if you want to eat light! Bus service to Stanstead close by and train service to Gatwick abnd Luton from West Hampstead overland station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adele1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We are a family of 4 so we had two twin rooms on the 4th floor. We parked the car in the hotel car park which was free and very close to the hotel side entrance so very easy to get the luggage up to the bedrooms via the lift. The bedrooms were clean and sufficiently spacious and the ensuite bathrooms were very smart and clean. The beds were comfortable, unlike many hotels beds and the breakfast was absolutely excellent - all cooked items were freshly cooked and high quality. All in all a very satisfactory experience. Hotel staff were all polite and fairly friendly. The only con that was fairly minor was that the water pressure in the showers was quite low - whether this was due to being on the top floor I'm not sure but we all took showers - just took a little longer than usual when you are used to a more powerful water flow. Also the shower screens were rather small and diddn't prevent some water going on the floor. So in summary a fine and reasonably priced hotel close to tube and bars and restaurants and we would certainly return on the basis of our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveZodiac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

PROS:
1) 5 minute walk to Finchley Rd Tube station, and Finchley Rd is on many bus routes which go throughout London.
2) O2 Centre is a short walk away--has a large Sainsbury’s, gym, Waterstone’s bookstore, movie theatre, Conran’s Habitat, and a few restaurants. For those with smaller kids, there is a Gymboree with music and tumbling classes.
3) Even though hotel is very close to a major road, it is tucked away on a side street, so relatively quiet.
4) Free wireless in rooms, although unsecured. 1 PC with internet in lobby.

CONS:
1) Bad first impression: Skip/dumpster parked right in front. Lobby ceiling was leaking into bucket upon arrival, although it was not raining.
2) Surly staff: Woken up by 2 housekeepers leaning against wall & chatting in hall while waiting for guests to wake up. The hall was littered with cleaning supplies and large bed linen pouches, which you had to step over. I emerged at 930am, to be accosted with exact words “So, are you checking out or not??” When they did not get the answer they wanted, they made it clear they were not happy. Normal checkout is at 11am!! I have never experienced this at any other hotel in the world.
3) Cigarette burn holes in blankets
4) Smell of stale cigarettes in room, embedded in carpeting. Carpets look as if many, many years of dirt have been trapped and cannot be cleaned properly.
5) Rooms very worn, except bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelforfunNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Just got back from a 5 day trip to London. Great hotel in a residential part of London, only 20 minutes away from city centre by tube. Tube (Finchley Road) only 5 minutes away. Luton airport greenline 757 bus also drops off near hotel as added bonus. O2 mall with stores nearby, Waitrose supermarket close too. Hotel, small, clean, free internet + okay breakfast. Excellent price, less than 100 British pounds a night. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stylomiloSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 km away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#632 of 1,076 in London
668 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.9 km away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
1.0 km away
La Gaffe
La Gaffe
#432 of 1,076 in London
268 reviews
0.7 km away
Pax Lodge
Pax Lodge
#94 of 908 in London
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Hampstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Hampstead

Address: 5 Frognal | Hampstead, London NW3 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: €123 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Hampstead 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Hampstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn London
Quality Hotel London
Quality Hotel Hampstead London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing