We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid till construction is completed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
Ranked #407 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Avoid till construction is completed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here last week and have stayed in this property previously in 2009. There is construction at the moment to upgrade the hotel before the summer and this means construction noise from 8am-5pm. In addition on both mornings exiting the hotel, large blue dumper trucks were blocking the hotel entrance road, jutting out onto the main road so you had to squeeze between the trucks or walk around them onto traffic in the main road.

TV set is still a small CRT 15 inch as opposed to flat screens in most of the newer upgraded HIX properties.

Pros - Location is good for colliers wood tube station or you can take buses from Wimbledon station so quite accessible. 15 minutes walk to St Georges Hospital. Room and bathroom were relatively clean and breakfast was adequate.

I think once the property finishes its upgrade, I would consider staying there again

Room Tip: ask to face park at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us, we value all feedback whether this is positive or negative.

We started the refurbishment and redevelopment of the hotel in August 2011 and this is due to be completed June 2012, this has been clearly displayed on all our websites, to ensure this is communicated clearly

During the refurbishment the exsisting rooms are being completely refurbishment, with new furniture, fabrics, beds, hard furnishings and large flat screen TV

At the end o this refurbishment the hotel will be offering a higher standard of product

We would like to once again thank you for your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again in the future once the refurbishment has been completed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    264
    138
    41
    19
See reviews for
179
145
43
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here 1 night on December 8, 2011. Arrived int he late evening and could not find the hotel due to the entire front entrance blocked off as a result of construction going on. They do not have a restraunt in this hotel, only offer morning breakfast so had to drop bags off and find somewhere to eat.

I still cant beleive that hotels are not offering Internet wifi included in your room rate. I was actually asked if I wnated to pay for a dial up connection or high speed (Seriously, high speed was like 2 pounds more).

The room was very small, freezing cold and the room faced the front of the hotel. I understand there is a large hospital nearby which explains all the sirens going by the hotel all throughout the night.

Room was relatively clean, bathroom was spacious enough and shower had hot water.

The elevator sounded like it was installed in 1944 and it felt unsafe so I took the stairs.

For $100 pounds I will look somewhere else for future business needs in that area.

Room Tip: It is right accross the street from Colliers Wood tube station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celticfcbhoy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regading your recent stay at the htel, we value all feedback, whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the service we offer

The hotel is currently in the process of completing a full refurbishment of all the bedrooms, exterior of the hotel and public areas, as a result of this the front of the hotel has hoarding up around it, we have placed signs and additional lighting to advise guests that the hotel is still fully operational

As an Express Hotel, we only serve a Free Continential Buffet Breakfast with three hot items, which are sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans. We do have takeaway menus which are located at the bar, which we are able to place orders for you with, and then you pay them on arrival and there is also a selection of restaruants situated around the hotel

We do charge for interent access within the hotel.

We do have rooms at the back of the hotel, if you are checked into a front facing bedroom, if you contact Reception which is manned 24 hours, we will offer to move you to a back room if we have the avalibility to do so.

We have a service contract for our lift and this is serviced on a regular basis.

I would like to again apologise for any incoveniance which was caused to you and thank you for your feedback and I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed here for two weeks on business. Excellent for Colliers Wood tube station (after dragging a suitcase on the tube all the way from Euston this was a great relief). Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty average but this is due to all HIE having consistent offerings. My only issue really was the overpriced internet. Not being able to cope without i shelled out for it, only to find it was barely 0.5mbps, come on, considering most hotels offer free WiFi you could at least offer a premium service if you have to pay!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurcherlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value all feedback, whether it is positive or negative, this is how we can improve our service

Thank you for your comments, regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and breakfast within the hotel.

We are located directly opposite Colliers Wood Underground, this is easy access to Central London

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Working away from home a lot i stay in a fair few hotels around London.My colleague and i spent one night here and it was ok.After a hard day on site ,I look forward to a hot shower and a clean bed to chill out on till its time for a meal and a pint.this ticked all the boxes,plus a decent tv and a couple of eateries/pubs within walking distance.Not the best but far from the worst, i wouldnt tell anyone not to stay here anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micka345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value all feedback, whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve our service

I am pleased to see that you were happy with the service which the hotel provided and that you were happy with the standard of rooms which we offer.

I would like to once again thank you for your comments and hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

First of all, I can't believe how much they charge for this place.
Good: the location, just outside Colliers Wood tube. The staff were nice and the bathroom was clean.
Not so good: the carpets are pretty dingy and the whole interior feels dated. There were lipstick marks on some of the supposedly clean cutlery at breakfast. £5 an hour for wifi access. The double bed is one of the smallest I've ever seen.
All things I could have lived for but for the rates!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Firstly thank your feedback, we value all feedback received whether it is positive or negative, as it helps us to improve our services

Thank you for your positive feedback relating to the staff working at the hotel and the cleanliness of the bathroom.

We are currently in the process of completing a refurbishment of the hotel, which is due to be finished Summer 2012, as part of this refurbishment all the bedrooms will be getting new case goods, beds, fabrics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#457 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Wimbledon Hotel
#726 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
Address: 200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#361 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your journey to London is for business or pleasure, Express by Holiday Inn London Wimbledon South is the ideal base.A modern hotel conversion with 83 air-conditioned, non smoking, stylish, modern bedrooms all with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, power shower. Situated opposite Colliers Wood underground station on the Northern Line, journeys to Waterloo are only 20 minutes away and to Leicester Square 30 minutes. For guests travelling from Heathrow or Gatwick by car, the A3 link to the M25 makes the journey from the Airport 40 minutes. The hotel has a secured underground car park, the charge per night is 7.00Our hotel bar is open seven days a week. We offer takeaway services from the local restaurants and you can dine within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing