We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Lovely room, gorgeously decorated and very cosy. The bathroom was very large and sparkling clean, and best of all the breakfast was convenient, yummy and exactly what we asked for (excellent coffee too by the way!). The pool was really great fun and a brilliant way to relax after a day out and about, and the location, walking distance to Wimbledon Common and local pubs and restaurants was great. All in all a simply wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jalonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womble422, Owner at Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

We were so delighted to welcome you both - you couldn't have been more charming, enthusiastic and grateful. It was so kind of you to write a wonderful review, we take our feedback very seriously so when people make the effort to put their comments on here as well as telling us they enjoyed themselves, we are very grateful. We do hope to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and I and our two sons aged 23 and 19 stayed here for 1 night as part of an 8 week holiday through Europe, UK and Ireland. In choosing this hotel we were looking for somewhere that would provide use with easy access to the Wimbledon tennis museum the next morning. We found this B&B through Tripadvisor and were very happy with our stay.

This B&B is a privately run accommodation in the owners house, and when we were there comprised two rooms, one large family room that could accommodate all of us in one room which is what we were wanting and also a second room for 2 people. I think the B&B had only been running for a few months when we stayed in Sept 2011.

As we were staying only the one night our requirements were not overly complicated and this place was perfect for our needs. The room and self contained bathroom were clean, neat and tidy, wifi access was good, breakfast excellent and free parking in a quiet side street. The house is located on the edge of Wimbledon Common which was a perfect location for a relaxing walk. Train stations are nearby (not sure if they are in walking distance) and the visit to Wimbledon museum took us 10-15 mins by car. There is also an indoor pool which looks most appealing, although we did not get the opportunity to try it.

The owners were a friendly couple eager to help.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PR1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womble422, Owner at Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you would definitely stay here again and that you gave us 5/5 for value and cleanliness.

We started our B & B in January 2011 so had been operating for only 8 months when you stayed. Since your stay we have added some comfortable seating and moved the television so that it can be seen more easily by all of the beds, which you very kindly suggested to us.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer stay one day when you can make use of the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We enjoyed our staying in Forest Lodge tremendously. The Bed and Breakfast most charming home atmosphere, set in a wood by Wimbledon Village just outside London, was quite special. The friendly service impeccable, and for the first time, staying outside your home, you were given what you were promised!!! Quite unique in these days!

Equally it would be nice for any foreigner to come and try a real English Breakfast and the life of an English Country home as you would experience it deep in the country. But then London and its buzzying activities are just half an hour away!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosamarialetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womble422, Owner at Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so glad that you enjoyed both of your one week stays with us. We were delighted that we managed (eventually) to fit your turkey in our freezer! We hope you had a wonderful Christmas in Paris with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

.. The Forest Lodge is what you are looking for. Situated in a quiet and prestigious road, not far from Wimbledon Common with its numerous pubs, Wimbledon Village with variety of restaurants and different cuisines, famous Wimbledon Tennis Courts and Wimbledon Station with District Line and British Rail taking you directly to Waterloo in Central London in 17 minutes.

The Lodge itself is a wonderful, warm and cozy place where the owners Sue and Peter will make you feel totally at home.

It is even better than home, as you don't have to cook, clean or worry about anything, just enjoy yourself, swim in the heated, inviting pool or relax in your room.

The breakfast is wonderful: huge variety of teas, cereals and yogurts, always some fresh fruit, followed by an english breakfast cooked to you liking and served with a huge and genuine smile by one of the owners. I couldn't resist and had a full breakfast every morning.

The room we were staying in was a spacious family room, full of light, plenty of "wardrobe" space, comfortable beds and an inviting bathroom with heated towel rail. There is a TV as well as tea/coffee/variety of yummy biscuits facility, very handy in the evenings.

We loved our staying there and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorota A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womble422, Owner at Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Thank you very much for your delightful review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your daughter here and hope that we can welcome you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

So what can one really say about Sue and Peter and Forest Lodge? As hosts they are superb, nothing is too much trouble. They go out of their way to make you feel totally at home. We had the family room which was bright clean and very comfortable. Although we did not use the pool it looked wonderful. Breakfast ( cooked on the first day by Peter even though Sue thought he could not cope!) was excellent everyday. A good selection of cereals always available followed by an excellent cooked breakfast. I can not recommend this family run B&B highly enough. Whether for business or pleasure if you need a B&B in the Wimbledon area you will not go wrong staying here. As a final note, I would add this B&B is well situated for anyone having to go to the Parkside Hospital. The reason for my stay was that my wife was undergfoing surgery at Parkside and I needed to be close. This fits the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeyJsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womble422, Owner at Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Peter has not stopped reminding me that he is perfectly capable of cooking just as good a breakfast as me! We do hope your wife is recovering well and maybe we shall be able to welcome you both back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#562 of 1,073 in London
644 reviews
Wimbledon
Marple Cottage Guest House
Marple Cottage Guest House
#70 of 563 in London
98 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#26 of 563 in London
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wimbledon
The Fox and Grapes
The Fox and Grapes
#111 of 563 in London
79 reviews
Wimbledon
The Dog & Fox
The Dog & Fox
#75 of 563 in London
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 70 Drax Avenue | Wimbledon, London SW20 0EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: €68 - €226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful family run bed and breakfast with indoor swimming pool (non chlorine) in one of South West London's most prestigious roads. Easy access to major tourist attractions, tube and train close by with frequent buses. 18 minutes on train to Waterloo (London Eye)from Wimbledon. Museums 11 stops on district line tube (25 minutes). Families very welcome. Business stays catered for. Convenient for City, Central London, Heathrow, Gatwick, Wimbledon Tennis, Chessington, Legoland and Thorpe Park. Harry Potter World is about an hour and 15 minutes away. Wonderful walks, cycle rides or horse riding on ancient woodland nearby on Wimbledon Common. Local attractions include Horse Riding and Golf. Assured of a warm welcome, comfy beds, bright clean rooms and a delicious cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forest Lodge Bed And Breakfast London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing