We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #170 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a brilliant location”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel two or three times and plan to continue using it on my fairly frequent visits to London.It is very convenient for Westminster and equally accessible to Green Park and the St James' Street area. The rooms are a good size and the beds extremely comfortable as well as very quiet. The continental breakfast which is served in the bar is also above average. I have not had other meals which are served also in the bar but being a Fullers pub the beer is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    514
    80
    34
    15
See reviews for
228
523
60
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Sanctuary is a fairly small hotel over a pub, a couple of minutes from St James' tube station. Hotel entrance is easily accessed off the street with a lift up to reception/rooms. The rooms themselves are fairly spacious, modern, clean and pretty well-equipped - dressing gowns/slippers provided, toiletries, useful hotel-tailored local information, tea/coffee making facilities (no fridge), room safe, bath with shower, although the latter was quite noisy and the screens let water onto the bathroom floor. Room had temperature controls which seemed to work OK to cool the room but not to warm it up, which we needed in February. Don't think the room was double glazed, some noise from passing traffic/pedestrians although the hotel isn't on a busy street. Pleasant and efficient reception. Didn't try the food which is in the pub downstairs.

Certainly a hotel we'd return to; its only detraction for us was that the local tube station is only on the Circle/District line so it's at least one change to get to mainline stations or most attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denmead-Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear united kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I loved the location and convenience for transport hubs. I loved the building and the room. Comfy bed as well. But, we had a lot of problems with condensation on the window sill, literally puddles of water every day and in the bathroom where the mirrors etc were steamed up most of the time the bathroom was in use.
The hotel is quiet but do avoid eating in the pub on a Friday evening as you can't get in the door for the weight of people enjoying their start to the weekend drink. We didn't pay for breakfast, we found cafes nearby that did a nice one at a third of the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequiettraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Excellent hotel for visiting Central London - 2 blocks from Westminster and Parliment. Quick visit on a business trip and spent a few hours touring the area. The rooms are reasonable in size - for an older downtown hotel. The bathroom is large - but the shower does get on th floor - needed to use towels to keep the water down. The pub attached is very convenient and offers a nice selection of ales.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We're staying in this hotel 5/11/11 for 5 nights.
Room was clean and large enough. Manager on reception was kind and service was not bad. Also the hotel has a great location.
But some things don't let me to stay there again.
First one is door-key troubles. Every evening we had to change our electronic keys because they could not unlock the room door. I don't know now what is the trouble was but we was very annoyed.
Second one is terrible noise at night. Imagine you're sleeping and neighbor's door has breaking by hammer! The action continued about a half an hour then I waked up finally and went to ask what's happend? Yeah, stuff broke the door because neighbor couldn't enter into his room. Great?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moahha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,013 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,068 in London
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#231 of 1,068 in London
584 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#485 of 1,068 in London
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Property: The Sanctuary House Hotel
Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Family Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Westminster stands the Sanctuary House - our grand hotel and Ale & Pie pub that offers fine food, warm hospitality and top class accommodation. You’ll find all the comforts of home, from our beautifully-appointed bedrooms to Fuller’s proper pies and pints. All our stylish bedrooms are available with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing