We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second time at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkwood at Marble Arch
Ranked #28 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is our second time in this hotel and we were not disappointed. The rooms although basic are clean and of a good size. The bathroom is small and only has a shower but it does the job. We left our luggage in a room while we went to Paris and I felt that our stuff was safe. There is a safe to lock valuables.
The hotel offers a lovely English breakfast in the morning and you tell the staff what you want and they cook it up for you. The hotel is in a fabulous location....right near a supermarket, the tube, restaurants, laundromat and one of the main shopping streets in London. The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful. There is no lift in this hotel so just be aware. We had 10 suitcases and managed to get them up the stairs.
Next time we will definately be staying at this hotel again. It is well worth its money.

Room Tip: The family room is on one of the top floors.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLotsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Parkwood at Marble Arch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 363 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at Parkwood with my fiance for 4 nights when we visited London. The hotel is at a great location, just north of Hyde Park and close to a lot of other attractions.

The double room we originally requested was only available for 1 night, so they switched us to a twin room for the remaining 3 nights, which was fine. We liked the double room better, it had a bit more room and a larger window. The twin room, well the floor was slanted! that was interesting. To be fair, the building itself is obviously quite old and given that I think the hotel did a pretty good job at maintaining it. Despite the oldness of the building, the showers were decently clean. Sound proof was great too, couldn't hear much noise from other rooms.

The staff at the front desk, and the breakfast room ladies are very nice. They will let you store your luggage in the reception area if you arrive early or if you departure is late on the day you check out.

Breakfast was included in the rate, which is a plus. You can have full English breakfast or have something more continental.

Overall I would give 3.5/5 but alas that is not an option. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget option in a great location!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColourOfAbsence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Location is perfect, close to tube station and shopping and sights and a very short walk to the bus to take you to Paddington Station for the train to Heathrow. Staff were very friendly and helpful even in the early hours of the morning when the heating had been turned off and we rang to request a heater as our room was freezing. Breakfast was good - you can order extra if you are still hungry. As a family group meeting in London we booked 5 rooms, the 2 on the lower levels were excellent and were also quiet they appeared to be renovated however the rooms on the upper levels could do with some renovating and the double room was very small and you could not open the wardrobe fully to hang your clothes as the bed was in the way. You need to unpack your clothes and put suitcases on top of the wardrobe to ensure you can get in and out of bed without tripping over your cases. The shower could do with some work as you had to keep adjusting the head to ensure it sprayed inside the shower not outside! They were also at the front of the hotel and were sometimes noisy at night. The twin room had more room so perhaps next time we would book twin rooms. Room 6 is like a closet under the stair case and is suitable only if you are on a very tight budget. We would book again as you cannot beat the location but definitely into one of the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitechristmas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights in ground unit room with 2 beds. While the room was small, it was clean and the bathroom was recently renovated. We arrived before official checkin time but got key shortly afterwards anyway. Staff was very friendly and the English breakfast was good (except it would have been nice to get served fresh tomatoes instead of canned). Compared to other London budget hotels, this one is the best I've seen and I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elu22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed two nights at Parkwood in December 2011. We were greeted by the friendly lady who runs the hotel and checked into our room. The room was on the lower ground floor, quietly located and fine for our needs but perhaps on the small side. For the next night we had to move to another room. This we were told already at the time of booking since we booked with very short notice, so that was just fine. This gave us an opportunity to see another room at this hotel and we got one on the second floor overlooking the street. It was also small, but adequate. The bed was comfortable in both rooms. After the builders renovating the house next door had stopped working for the day there was no noise from the street to speak of. This was a pleasant surprise since I am usually easily disturbed by city traffic. The full English breakfast was very tasty and rich and served in the bright breakfast room downstairs. All in all this is a very friendly place at an excellent location just a stone's throw from Hyde Park and Oxford Street and it's good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castor_Dioskouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#154 of 1,072 in London
1,414 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 563 in London
619 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#24 of 563 in London
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#42 of 563 in London
603 reviews
Marylebone
London Kings Hotel
London Kings Hotel
#53 of 563 in London
155 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#27 of 563 in London
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood at Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood at Marble Arch

Address: 4 Stanhope Place | Marble Arch, London W2 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: €85 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkwood at Marble Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best of UK" Award Winner, 2009-2010! The Parkwood occupies one of the best locations for a good-value hotel in London - next to Oxford Street and Marble Arch on a fairly quiet street, just 50 yards from Hyde Park, in a section of London known as Connaught Village. "Frommers" NB- Free breakfast if booking is made from the hotel's own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parkwood at Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood At Marble Arch Hotel London
Parkwood At Marble Arch London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing