We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ring to check its open!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Banqueting House

Banqueting House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$144.07*
and up
Private Tour: Westminster Abbey and Banqueting House Walking Tour in London
Ranked #200 of 1,599 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This revolutionary building, the first in England to be designed in a Palladian style by Inigo Jones, was finished in 1622 for James I. Intended for the splendour and exuberance of court masques, the Banqueting House is probably most famous for one real life drama: the execution of Charles I which took place here in 1649 to the ‘dismal, universal groan’ of the crowd. One of Charles’ last sights, as he walked through the Banqueting House to his death, was the magnificent ceiling, painted by Peter Paul Rubens in 1630-4. Banqueting House is the last and only surviving part of Whitehall Palace, once the largest palace in Europe, destroyed by fire in 1698.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ring to check its open!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We are members of the Royal Palaces pass so this was our motivation for going. After checking the opening times and spending the money getting there their was s sign saying it was closed for the day as it was rented out for a function! This was at the end of our trip and we had no time to go back so didn't get in. Their info pamplet should say to ring and check it is open! The pass was worth it but Kensington was under renovation, Kew very dissapointing and this was closed, Hampton court and the Tower of London were great. The pass is marginal for tourists like ourselves even though we had 5 weeks to use it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank palmynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    139
    53
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rubens ceiling with great history- a quick visit, too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

My visit began with a great video in the basement area of Banqueting House. The video explained the history of Banqueting House, including the beheading of Charles I. Then, I went upstairs and was able to admire the beautiful Rubens ceiling. There are mirrors on the ground which can be moved around the room and used to admire the detail of the ceiling, without having to keep staring straight up in the air. There are great written descriptions throughout the room and the audioguide is also very good. There is a small giftship and beautiful ladies lounge on the main level. Admission is including with the London Pass, but is only a few pounds fee without the pass.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
Thank suven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Magnificent Rubens paintings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Wonderful 9 pannels which cover the ceilling of the UK formal reception hall. Just across the horse guard. Go visit. It worth the time and money. A very interesting video introduction to the history of house and the paintings.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Adomvatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Does not take much time but valuable to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

The Banqueting House is one of the Royal Historic Places in London. It is located on the whitehall street, though it is easy to miss especially that the Horse Guards Parade which takes place nearby is much more popular. The main attraction of the Banqueting House are ceiling paintings of Paul Rubens. Before seeing the main hall you can enjoy a video telling the history of the place and it's most famous owner i.e. King Charles I who spent there the last night before his execution. The entrance is free for London Pass owners and the audio guide is complimentary for all the visitors. It takes around 30 - 45 minutes to listen to the story and enjoy the view of the magnificent painting.

Helpful?
Thank xgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
177 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Not a must see but …”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

This building was an interesting history. It was here that Charles I was executed (the only member of the Britain’s monarchy to be executed), later it was the only part of the palace that survived a fire that destroyed the palace and contains the only Rubens paintings that remains in their original location.
The visit starts with a video about the history of the Banqueting House, then grab the audio guide and the rest is in the main area where you can see the paintings in the ceiling.
5 Pounds was the ticket price with the audio guide included. (I didn’t pay because I had the London Pass but…I think I’ll not waste $ in here)

Helpful?
2 Thank Selloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banqueting House also viewed

 

Been to Banqueting House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing