We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$280
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$383
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$344
US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$227
US$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$106
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
63
174
202
73
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
174
202
73
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswall mounted fanmins walk from victoria stationtoilet and showerspent one nighttriple roombuckingham palacestayed for nightsopen the windowtea and coffee making facilitiesclean hotellocation is greatshort staywould stay againa lovely staywi fipimlicopubs
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Hi,

I booked the hotel based on the pictures on various website including their own website. When i went there we were totally disappointed. The room was very very small, bed squeaking, bathroom smaller then my ward-robe. If they had advertised as a B&B it would have made sense but i would not have paid the GBP 75 as I was getting B&B for much cheaper price. Even the BF was not great and dint have options...

The only good thing about the place was a very good customer service and the location. The staff in the front desk was very friendly and helpful. It must be good for budget traveller (though its is pricee)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

We were disappointed to read your reviews. However we are constrained by the size of the buildings in Central London.
It is always difficult to maintain a decent balance between free space and provide all the necessary facilities that our customer expect and prefer.

We are constantly reviewing this. A majority of our guests are happy and we have a large percentage of repeat customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed to this hotel 2 times: 28-30 June 2002 and 09-11 December 2011.
This is a budget hotel, close to Victoria Station (3 minutes walk) and close to many atraction in London. The breakfast is poor and the room a very small. Fist time I hadn't WC in my room, second time I had toilet in my room. The room are basic and clean.

For the price payed for this hotel, in another capital of Europe I payed for 4 of 5 stars hotel.
In my country, Romania, The Dover Hotel can be like a hotel with 1 or 2 stars.
For London, this hotel have a good price for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROgalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

We appreciate your comments. We have some cheaper rooms where the toilets are shared but the majority of our rooms have en-suite facilities.
We have advertised and provide a continental breakfast, which is included in the tariff. There are plenty of cafes nearby which provide English breakfast at a good price.

Our aim is to provide clean and comfortable accommodation in an excellent location at a reasonable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the room and the en suite facilities. The decoration and the furniture was not recent but both produced a feeling that was pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is well served with late-night corner shops, pubs and restaurants in the proximity and the shopping centre at Victoria station is two minutes walk .There was a reasonable choice of TV programmes and the toast for breakfast was freshly prepared. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red_RobboPaulhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Many thanks for your kind comments.

We are in the process of getting the quotes for redecoration and hopefully will gradually carry out the works over the next year.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, the room is very small and bathroom really compact. It is generally clean but the place could do with freshen up, the bathroom smell quite bad because it so small. It is a very basic hotel. The fire security system was puzzling because I had the receptionist guy knocking on my door on the second evening asking whether I was smoking and if everything was alright. He apparently had a signal alert down the reception of smoke or something, while you won't hear any alarm in your own room. It's a concern. He was knocking all the doors asking the same questions. The only thing is good about it is the location very handy for the tubes and trains, only 2 mins away. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doverhotel, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

We thank you for your feedback.

We take the issue of Fire safety very seriously and have a System which identifies if there is a problem on a floor by floor basis and are regularly inspected by the Fire Brigade.

Even though we are a no smoking hotel, on that particular evening, we had a complaint from one of the customers that there was somebody smoking on that floor. Our receptionist quickly went up and spoke to the 3 rooms on that floor, including yours, and sorted the matter out.

We are thinking of news ways of enforcing the no smoking rule.

As far the room size is concerned, unfortunately, a lot of hotels in central London are in small
buildings like our and we have tried to make the best use of the space available.
We have installed the basic facilities and are providing a clean and comfortable room at a reasonable price in an excellent location for our budget conscious guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed here for one night with my Mum after a show in town..it was a cheaper option but it would have been nice to have had a little more comfort. The room (a twin) was tiny but the linen was very clean - the pillows were like envelopes! The "en-suite" was almost a capsule all plastic, attached to the side of the bedroom...had a door but a four inch high step up was required to get in...it was a very "cheap" wetroom!

We arrived back at around 10pm and it took some time for the the door to be open after we'd rung the bell four times..

Breakfast was very basic, self service for coffee,tea and cereal but God knows what the milk was it wasn't fresh and I couldn't eat my cornflakes...toast and marmalade was ok though

All in all not idea if you want comfort and class - if however you want a bed then go for it...we were there for c 11 hours...sleep quality wasn't great....!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucygooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for your comments.
We will definitely address the issues you have raised.
The pillows and quilts of a better quality are already under order
Normally the doorbell is answered instantly, but in this case the recetionist may have gone to the washroom or been called to one of the rooms.
As far as the Bathrooms are concerned, due to space limitation, a lot of hotel use the "Pods "
which are waterproof and include all the facilities.
Unfortunately, in Central London we do not have the luxury of a lot of space and have to maximise the usage of the space available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews