We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #206 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Since my review is late posting (disregard the date of visit), I should not speak regarding the decor since it seems they've had some renovations since. For my visit I was "upgraded" to the top floor but I think it was an on the spot decision seeing that I was an able bodied person to hoof it up and down the narrow stairs.

This was a leave your key at reception type of place and there was no coming or going without their watchful eye. The assistance with things to do was always available and they even let me down to the basement to use their iron.

The area, as you already know, is very central. Key for me included the nearby Metro stop.

If they have indeed renovated the rooms, I would consider giving them another look.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamachi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    250
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
104
276
95
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

For the location and the degree of comfort offered, the price can't be beaten. The lack of breakfast isn't really a concern (unless you're used to being served in bed, maybe) as there are a plethora (!) of places within a couple of hundred yards (traditional English at the friendly Wings cafe on Drury Lane or Patisserie Valerie on Long Acre, not to mention all the Cafe Neros and St*****ks) . Arriving by taxi will require you to walk only 70 or so yards with your luggage from Bow Street.
The staff is friendly and helpful. I had a single room (Room 1) on the ground floor. If mobility is a problem for you and as the Hotel has no lift and fairly narrow stairs, you would be wise to specify upon booking that you want a single or double on the ground floor (there are no triples here I was advised). The room is tastefully decorated, with the usual flatscreen tv, desk, coffee making facilities, lovely soft carpet (which you notice when you're not used to it...), heavy curtains...
If I had one (small) gripe (about this room) it would be the bed, which is fitted exactly into the space between the external wall and the wall behind the bathroom. As I am 6'2" (186cm), my feet and head were flush up against the walls: not really a problem as I don't always sleep fully extended, but you can't help being reminded of it occasionally during the night.. Anyone 2" shorter probably wouldn't notice it.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. Great for theatre, opera, shopping, restaurants. And finally, as it's located on a pedestrian street, it's very quiet (for London).

Room Tip: Specify ground floor room to avoid heaving heavy cases up/down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect on a residential street in Covent Garden, ideal for exploring London. The hotel does not offer a bar or breakfast but with so many options seconds from the front door, this not an issue.
I stayed in room 42 in the basement and opening the door was a lovely surprise, well decorated room with a deep bath. Then in the bathroom a fabulous monsoon shower.
Friends were in twin rooms on other floors, not quite as fabulous as my room, they were however well presented and clean.
Reception were friendly and I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a central location in London.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Late rooms special,price around £55. Imaculate room, v comfy and in great spot. Great value at that price

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teejay12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozani, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

it's a very sympathetic hotel for a couple or a family. it's in the hard of the London in a very good location. the reception it's very friendly. a best solution for someome who is looking for a good hotel, in a very good place, with a very good decoration and with a very good price. have a nice accomobation!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsiompanos i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#127 of 1,067 in London
132 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#252 of 1,067 in London
3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Henrietta Hotel
The Henrietta Hotel
#648 of 1,067 in London
15 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,067 in London
1,494 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Property: The Fielding Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London
The Fielding Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing