We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, but hidden pricetags” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA London St Pancras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA London St Pancras
Ranked #25 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Unknown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money, but hidden pricetags”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed with 6 friends in a room at YHA. The room itself was pretty big, the bathroom was a toilet, a sink and a hole in the wall that was called a shower. The showercurtain was broken and kept falling down. I didn't really care but with a little effort the bathroom could have been better. The lobby is really nice, good atmosphere and a place to sit and eat.

What's worse is the fact that every person needs to be a member to stay in this Hostel. When we booked nobody informed us about this. We had to pay an extra 60 pounds to stay in the hostel. 10 pounds isn't much but for a cheap hostel it's a pretty big chunk. Also there was no free internet, you had to pay 50 pence for every 10 minutes - retarted.

The location however is great and even though I don't agree with some choices it's worth staying there if you don't want to spend to much money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasperrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    307
    108
    31
    10
See reviews for
130
64
222
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was by far the cleanest, best kept hostel I've ever stayed at in London. We stayed in a 5 bed room and we were very impressed with how nice the room looked when we arrived. We chose this hostel because we had an early morning train out to Paris and it was an ideal location to get us there in the morning but it was also super easy to get around to other attractions in the city before we left. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for an easy base to see the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Loved the location. Easy to get to anywhere in London.
Biggest Negative is they charge for internet. We paid the fee and it did not always work in the room. We had to go down into the lobby.
I stayed in a private double. Bed was okay. Room size was what to be expected, but we had a great view of St Pancras Renaissance Hotel. Bathroom needed update and had an awkward shower...hope you don't mind showering in the dark. There is also no handsoap in the bathroom.
Room had a bed, a wardrobe and one chair.

Room Tip: Located on a busy street. We were on the 6th floor and still could hear the traffic a bit. but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is a great hostel in terms of both its location, price and staff friendliness. The rooms are standard hostel dorm rooms, mine slept 5 and had a ensuite bathroom. The beds are very comfortable and bed linen is supplied, although towels and small locks for the in-room luggage cupboards are not (although they can be bought from reception for a few pounds).

There is a small cafe in the reception area selling drinks (including alcoholic drinks), and reasonably priced hot and cold food. In terms of luggage storage, there's space in the room, including a lockable cupboard as mentioned above, and also paid locker storage in the basement, if, for example, you want to store your luggage at the hostel after you have checked out.

One of the major draws of this hostel has to be its excellent location. When you stay in this part of London you can walk to almost anywhere, and you're close to Camden and the lovely area of Bloomsbury, which can boast some great bookshops, the British Museum and the British Library (which is literally across the road). The hostel is opposite Kings Cross and St Pancras stations, and down the road from Euston station, and is near lots of underground stops too.

The only negative thing was that the ensuite bathroom wasn't very clean, although this may have as much to do with the strangers I was sharing the room with as with how often and thoroughly it was cleaned. There are other bathrooms in the hallway which you can use though, so that, plus a pair of flipflops, and you should be fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60degreesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Super clean hostel, very great location (2 minute wakl from St Pancras/Kings Cross Train Station. Stayed overnight to catch an early train to Paris...big bathroom, nice beds. Stayed with 3 friends and one other person who was very nice. Lockers available beside the beds in a wooden cupboard...great hostel. Would stay again!!! Staff is very helpful and right beside O'Neill's pub...which is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodmanpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#64 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#45 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pancras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pancras

Property: YHA London St Pancras
Address: 79-81 Euston Road | King's Cross, London NW1 2QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London St Pancras 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel makes a fantastic base for weekends away, budget family breaks and sightseeing holidays. Please note, we do not have a self-catering kitchen available for guests at this hostel, but meals and snacks are available in our cafe-bar. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your YHA London St Pancras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pancras Hotel London
London Pancras St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing