We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, but hidden pricetags”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA London St Pancras
Ranked #22 of 931 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed with 6 friends in a room at YHA. The room itself was pretty big, the bathroom was a toilet, a sink and a hole in the wall that was called a shower. The showercurtain was broken and kept falling down. I didn't really care but with a little effort the bathroom could have been better. The lobby is really nice, good atmosphere and a place to sit and eat.

What's worse is the fact that every person needs to be a member to stay in this Hostel. When we booked nobody informed us about this. We had to pay an extra 60 pounds to stay in the hostel. 10 pounds isn't much but for a cheap hostel it's a pretty big chunk. Also there was no free internet, you had to pay 50 pence for every 10 minutes - retarted.

The location however is great and even though I don't agree with some choices it's worth staying there if you don't want to spend to much money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasperrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 427 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was by far the cleanest, best kept hostel I've ever stayed at in London. We stayed in a 5 bed room and we were very impressed with how nice the room looked when we arrived. We chose this hostel because we had an early morning train out to Paris and it was an ideal location to get us there in the morning but it was also super easy to get around to other attractions in the city before we left. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for an easy base to see the city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Loved the location. Easy to get to anywhere in London.
Biggest Negative is they charge for internet. We paid the fee and it did not always work in the room. We had to go down into the lobby.
I stayed in a private double. Bed was okay. Room size was what to be expected, but we had a great view of St Pancras Renaissance Hotel. Bathroom needed update and had an awkward shower...hope you don't mind showering in the dark. There is also no handsoap in the bathroom.
Room had a bed, a wardrobe and one chair.

Room Tip: Located on a busy street. We were on the 6th floor and still could hear the traffic a bit. but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is a great hostel in terms of both its location, price and staff friendliness. The rooms are standard hostel dorm rooms, mine slept 5 and had a ensuite bathroom. The beds are very comfortable and bed linen is supplied, although towels and small locks for the in-room luggage cupboards are not (although they can be bought from reception for a few pounds).

There is a small cafe in the reception area selling drinks (including alcoholic drinks), and reasonably priced hot and cold food. In terms of luggage storage, there's space in the room, including a lockable cupboard as mentioned above, and also paid locker storage in the basement, if, for example, you want to store your luggage at the hostel after you have checked out.

One of the major draws of this hostel has to be its excellent location. When you stay in this part of London you can walk to almost anywhere, and you're close to Camden and the lovely area of Bloomsbury, which can boast some great bookshops, the British Museum and the British Library (which is literally across the road). The hostel is opposite Kings Cross and St Pancras stations, and down the road from Euston station, and is near lots of underground stops too.

The only negative thing was that the ensuite bathroom wasn't very clean, although this may have as much to do with the strangers I was sharing the room with as with how often and thoroughly it was cleaned. There are other bathrooms in the hallway which you can use though, so that, plus a pair of flipflops, and you should be fine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60degreesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Super clean hostel, very great location (2 minute wakl from St Pancras/Kings Cross Train Station. Stayed overnight to catch an early train to Paris...big bathroom, nice beds. Stayed with 3 friends and one other person who was very nice. Lockers available beside the beds in a wooden cupboard...great hostel. Would stay again!!! Staff is very helpful and right beside O'Neill's pub...which is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodmanpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 931 in London
1,222 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 931 in London
630 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 931 in London
2,161 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 931 in London
589 reviews
Safestay
#19 of 931 in London
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pancras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pancras

Address: 79-81 Euston Road | King's Cross, London NW1 2QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 931 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: €31 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London St Pancras 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA will be carrying out improvement works to provide better facilities for our customers which involves extending the reception and café bar, refurbishing the public and DDA toilets and creating a new hostel entrance, Works commence 5 June and will complete by 30 July. We apologise for any inconvenience whilst we carry out the refurbishment but guests will be able to check in/out as normal and meals will be served in the lounge on the 1st floor. The hostel makes a fantastic base for weekends away, budget family breaks and sightseeing holidays. Please note, we do not have a self-catering kitchen available for guests at this hostel, but meals and snacks are available in our cafe-bar. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA London St Pancras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pancras Hotel London
London Pancras St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing