We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cartref House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cartref House
Ranked #267 of 556 London B&B and Inns
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here for two separate nights in December 2011. The rooms were very comfortable, the hosts were very helpful. Great neighborhood! I am looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammahbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    50
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
32
43
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Very friendly hosts. If you're unsure what you might do during the day, Derek will have suggestions for you and tips to get the most out of your stay. Excellent breakfasts. Convenient location to Victoria station (coach, train, underground). Room was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed here with my family last week and loved it. The hosts were very friendly, the house was clean, and the beds were comfortable. If you stay on the top floor (rooms 7-9), like we did, be prepared to hike up four flights of stairs to get to your room.

The location is beautiful, safe, and convenient. It's about a 5 minute walk to Victoria Station, a couple blocks from Buckingham Palace, and steps from a convenience store, cafes, upscale restaurants, and more affordable sandwich and breakfast spots.

Each morning guests choose from eggs, muesli, and cereal for breakfast. Derek is an enthusiastic server eager to talk with visitors. He's an expert on touring London, so visitors should try to get his opinion on their plans for the day and see if he has suggestions. He told us the best way to get to different sites and what order we should visit them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the house had amazing sunlight, at least on the top floor. The top floor room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed Dec 19-23rd. Room 2. Room was spacious for three but easily could have four people.
Bathroom is a "pod" as others have eluded. Likely it was installed in a previous closet. The room was clean, beds were comfortable. Location was SAFE. I was there with my two college daughters. We felt safe at all times. Walked early morning and after 11pm and felt safe at all times. Near pubs, starbucks and close to Victoria Station where could get tube, trains and buses. Far enough from station for safety and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Derek was helpful and friendly. We would stay again! There are stairs but all of London and Europe is stairs so not an impediment. We double carried our heavy luggage up stairs and were set until check out. London was very casual. Recommend you pack light and re-wear jeans. Wicked nearby was awesome! Got last minute tickets day of performance at box office. Billy Elliott not very good. Lots of "smoke" in theatre, no fabulous talent, music fair. Les Mes was also great! Tube easy to navigate. THis was a great place and made our trip amazing!

Room Tip: Belgravia area is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maryloujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Cartref House provides real charm, a warm welcome, comfortable bed, good shower, a delicious breakfast served with friendly and informative conversation. Derek is a wealth of information and runs a well kept B&B in a charming neighborhood, Belgravia, on a quiet street. Plenty of eateries nearby and Victoria station just a hop, skip and a jump away. Great London location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#306 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#526 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
No photo provided
Cheshams
#699 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#14 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Belgravia
Park Avenue Belgravia
Park Avenue Belgravia
#140 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartref House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref House

Property: Cartref House
Address: 129 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cartref House Hotel London
Cartref House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing