We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$270
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$316
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$314
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Grand London Kensington(London)
US$147
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$350
US$313
Kensington Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$291
Montague Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$379/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London(London)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$260
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,632)
Filter reviews
4,632 results
Traveller rating
3,214
1,025
249
107
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,214
1,025
249
107
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuckingham palacevictoria stationlibrary restaurantafternoon teaold masterscavalry barred carnationst james parkking roomfull english breakfastconcierge deskwonderful hotellovely roomgreen parktrafalgar squarelocation was perfectbig ben
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 4,632 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My family of four (my husband, myself, and our two daughters ages 7 & 9) stayed at The Rubens for four nights during a recent vacation to London and Paris. We adored The Rubens. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and very kind to our children. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed afternoon snacks on property, as well as breakfast in The English Room during our stay.

The location of the hotel was PERFECT. We could easily walk to Buckingham Palace and have a front row seat to the changing of the guard as the band marched right past the hotel. We could also walk to Westminster Abbey, Parlaiment, Trafalgar Square, and St. James Park. The hotel is a block from Victoria Station, where we easily hopped on the tube to get to various other destinations in the city. We had no trouble riding the bus, as there is a stop in front of the hotel.

We could not have had a better stay in London, and The Rubens was the best place for us. We will not hesitate to stay there again when we return.

Room Tip: We were able to reserve a suite so our family of four could stay in one room - a king bed plus a full size pull-out sofa for our daughters.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KellyC828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear KellyC828,

Thank you so much for leaving us a perfect review!

We so appreciate this. Your feedback means a great deal to the whole team, and we are thrilled. Thank you very much for your care and attention.

With my sincere hopes to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The Rubens at the Palace is in a fabulous location with incredible employees. There is a great deal of red in all of the public and
private spaces, but we became used to it after a few days. We enjoyed our stay and are grateful for the graciousness and helpfulness of the wonderful staff!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank leslie619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear leslie619,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us wonderful feedback.

I am so pleased you enjoyed a lovely stay with us, and found my team to be especially helpful and gracious!

With my hopes to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Warm regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend with friends who were celebrating their Golden Wedding Anniversary. We chose this hotel as it was within a short walk of Victoria Station, from where we were departing on our Belmond Murder MysteryTrain Journey.

The rooms were comfortable, clean, well equipped and quirkily decorated. They were quite small as is usually the case with central London hotels.

The range and quality of food at breakfast was excellent. Hot food was ordered from a menu and served at the table, whereas everything else was buffet style. The service at breakfast was a little chaotic, with incorrect orders being delivered and long waits for some things.

All in all a very pleasant stay in a convenient location.

Room Tip: Internal courtyard view for a quieter night.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leeds_UKTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Leeds_UKTara,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback online.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit, and to know that you had a brilliant time with us. I have shared your kind comments with my team this morning. I have also shared your feedback on our breakfast service with my Morning Manager. I am sorry to learn that you did experience some wait, as this is very unusual. Be assured that I will address this.

With my sincere hopes to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The rubens at the palace hotel accepted a reservation with fully prepaid payment of the charges for my stay. I was unable to stay in London, and cancelled the reservation more than 60 days before the proposed reservation. I wrote the manager of the hotel regarding this situation, and they have refused to refund any portion of my payments. TripAdvisor has made posting this observation unnecessarily difficult. I have to question who tripadvisor represents?

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Grgorio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My partner & I stayed Easter Sunday with our dog, Monty. We received a lovely welcome from all the staff and were even checked in by Jesus, you really can't beat that for Easter service :-)

The room was beautiful, if a tiny bit small for the massive Queen sized bed, but it was really comfy. Monty also had his own bed supplied, as well as dog bowls, Bonios and a poo bag!

Monty was welcome throughout the Hotel, we dined in the Curry Room on Sunday evening. The food was good but the service a bit inattentive unfortunately, although they did acknowledge this and deducted the service charge.

The full English Breakfast in the English Grill was great, we were given an extra sausage for Monty too.

The Hotel is right by Buckingham Palace, so it was handy for walks around St James Park.

I would definitely return, and would highly recommend the Reubens as one of the most dog friendly places we (& Monty) have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kittenziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear kittenziggy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and feedback.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and felt so well cared for by my entire team! I know that they loved spoiling Monty too.

With my sincere hopes to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews