We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A step back in time - perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #84 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A step back in time - perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is an amazing hotel, perfection on all levels, we were met at the door by a very smart doorman in top hat and walked back in time to an elegance and style that is missing from most hotels these days.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it will be the only hotel we use when we are in London.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tillysdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,733
    933
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
884
1,845
180
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My company generously put me up at the Rubens. This is a old style London hotel with a doorman in tophat, lovely dining room and well decorated rooms. Free high speed internet and very friendly and helpful staff. A little pricey, no overly so, but well worth treating yourself.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed here recently with work for the 3rd time and this was definately the best time. The room was amazing, very large with a really comfortable bed and massive, spotlessly clean bathroom.
I was the only one staying and there must have been at least 10 towels in the room which was nice. The rooms are really tastefully decorated and the reception staff are some of the nicest and friendliest I have ever met in London (alot of London hotels employ real surly people I always find.)
Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lw0u21db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My hubby and I stayed here on the last legged of our European trip. We wanted to indulge some more and The Rubens did not fail us. Yes the rooms are small but lovely. We were given a small room at first but we requested for a bigger one cause we have 2 30kg suitcases we need to pack. So they upgraded us. Rooms are different from each other. Each has it's own charm. Service are great too, you really couldn't ask for a more perfect stay. On the day of our departure/check out, we told them we will be leaving late in the afternoon, we expected that they're just going to take care of our suitcases, hence our appreciation when the front desk told us that they'll be lending us a room so we can be comfortable while waiting for our flight.
Breakfast has a good selections too, not much but all the essentials are there.
Location is good too, less than 10 min walk from the underground and the buckingham palace.
All in all, I would love to stay here again if given the chance to go back to London with a few pounds to spare.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gracia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Have been attending weekend management courses here since Sept 2010 once every 2 to 3 months. Booked the advanced purchase room only rate at 129+VAT only available online. Am always upgraded to a better room. Have experienced the rooms which are very comfortable and pleasant - lovely robes and personal touches in the rooms, free wifi a bonus too; the reception staff - efficient and friendly; the evening meal; delicious and plentiful; lunch - good variety. Front of house staff can't be faulted and there are always loads of them around attending to customers needs. Great location at Victoria and across froom the palace. Will return again sometime but this time for pleasure and not business!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tddentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#184 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,778 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing