We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rubens at the Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 41(London)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Goring(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,487)
Filter reviews
4,487 results
Traveller rating
3,094
1,011
244
101
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,094
1,011
244
101
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuckingham palacevictoria stationlibrary restaurantafternoon teaold masterscavalry barred carnationjames parkking roomfull english breakfastconcierge deskwonderful hotellovely roomgreen parktrafalgar squarebig benlocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,141 - 3,146 of 4,487 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My company generously put me up at the Rubens. This is a old style London hotel with a doorman in tophat, lovely dining room and well decorated rooms. Free high speed internet and very friendly and helpful staff. A little pricey, no overly so, but well worth treating yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed here recently with work for the 3rd time and this was definately the best time. The room was amazing, very large with a really comfortable bed and massive, spotlessly clean bathroom.
I was the only one staying and there must have been at least 10 towels in the room which was nice. The rooms are really tastefully decorated and the reception staff are some of the nicest and friendliest I have ever met in London (alot of London hotels employ real surly people I always find.)
Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lw0u21db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My hubby and I stayed here on the last legged of our European trip. We wanted to indulge some more and The Rubens did not fail us. Yes the rooms are small but lovely. We were given a small room at first but we requested for a bigger one cause we have 2 30kg suitcases we need to pack. So they upgraded us. Rooms are different from each other. Each has it's own charm. Service are great too, you really couldn't ask for a more perfect stay. On the day of our departure/check out, we told them we will be leaving late in the afternoon, we expected that they're just going to take care of our suitcases, hence our appreciation when the front desk told us that they'll be lending us a room so we can be comfortable while waiting for our flight.
Breakfast has a good selections too, not much but all the essentials are there.
Location is good too, less than 10 min walk from the underground and the buckingham palace.
All in all, I would love to stay here again if given the chance to go back to London with a few pounds to spare.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gracia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Have been attending weekend management courses here since Sept 2010 once every 2 to 3 months. Booked the advanced purchase room only rate at 129+VAT only available online. Am always upgraded to a better room. Have experienced the rooms which are very comfortable and pleasant - lovely robes and personal touches in the rooms, free wifi a bonus too; the reception staff - efficient and friendly; the evening meal; delicious and plentiful; lunch - good variety. Front of house staff can't be faulted and there are always loads of them around attending to customers needs. Great location at Victoria and across froom the palace. Will return again sometime but this time for pleasure and not business!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tddentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nice hotel in London, a bit dated but it doesn’t matter. It’s charming and very English. Have stayed there before and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinnLinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews