We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, comfortable, Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Ranked #378 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We stayed here for our anniversary and booked a room with a balcony. Staff very helpful, friendly, attentive. Breakfast buffet was quite good, large selection, nice view as you ate. Rooms are good, clean. Property Is in residential neighborhood and 20-25 mins from central London. The C10 bus stop is in same block as property.
From any London airport, get to Jubilee tube line and go to Canada Water station then take the C10 Victoria bus which stops just short of front of hotel (hotel has its own named bus stop on this line). There are lifts in the Canada Water station if you have bags. Easy access to hotel, bus has places for luggage. To get to city, you can either take C10 Canada Water bus to tube station (10 min ride) from hotel and take Jubilee tube to city or take C10 Victoria bus to Victoria Station in central London (25min ride). From Victoria station you can pretty much go anywhere in London or beyond (see my write up of Doubletree Victoria). Both bus stops in either direction are within 2min walk (or less) of hotel driveway.
We did not use ferry service to Canary Wharf during stay but there are a number or resturants on that side of river. About 10-12min walk from ferry.
Good place to stay away from city hussle/bustle. Staff very helpful. We had an old $1 pound coin that a local bank would not change out for us and mentioned at checkout. Front desk associate changed it for us out of her personal funds (she got her purse and did it as you need a bank account to make this type of a coin change). Shows the steps the staff takes to do everything they can to make your stay a good as possible!
Will stay again and recommend this hotel if you do not like to stay in the crowded city.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to river with City view, highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kpkphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie G, PA to General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and feedback in regards to your most recent stay. We are delighted that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. As highlighted our team work incredibly hard to ensure all guest leave totally satisfied. I will of course share you wonderful feedback with them as I know they will be delighted they were able to assist and exceed your expectations. Please do let us know when you will next return as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Amie Gotts
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Couldn’t believe our luck when we arrived. What a fab hotel. Sat right on the banks off the river Thames directly opposite Canary Wharf. The hotel was smart and well looked after. Consisting of old and new. One half is a converted old brick warehouse with a smart bar and restaurant area and the other side is the newer built on part with the car park underneath. A little ferry took you across to Canary Wharf which was handy for catching the Thames clipper. We used it to get to and from the O2. A much better way to travel than the tube. Service in the bar was good and we ate in there. My husband had a pizza and I had a smoked salmon and prawn sandwich which was very nice. We also had breakfast and that was excellent. There was a wide range of food to choose from. You could even order an omelette which was made while you waited. Overhaul a great hotel which we will definitely return to.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie G, PA to General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was an enjoayble one. I will of course share your feedback with the team as I know they will be delighted. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Amie Gotts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This was the worst stay I have ever had in a Hilton branded property. I haven't stayed at this hotel since it was a Hilton rather than Doubletree. The rooms are ok, smaller than they appear online and not as well finished. When I got to the room it was boiling hot. It was a sunny day and the room has large windows along one wall. Thermostat said it was 32 degrees! By the time I went to sleep I had managed to get it down to 27. My room had a balcony which was full of bird poo and the shower was leaking. The room did have a nice big TV and a bath which is always a plus.

The executive lounge was constantly a mess and no staff came in all day from noon until after 6pm. No still water in the fridge of the lounge for my entire time in the hotel but sparkling was always full. In the restaurant I could hear the chefs swearing whilst I was having dinner (I know chefs swear but I don't expect to hear it while i'm eating). The food was mediocre, my pie was pretty overdone.

Breakfast was extremely busy and some food items had run out. The staff seemed nice but were rushed off their feet. Food quality was good except from the scrambled eggs which were far too wet.

Housekeeping seemed to believe that my room was unoccupied as I was greeted in the morning at 9am by a member of staff walking into my room and my room was too hot! After a couple of hours another call from housekeeping while I was in the bath. Very strange and then once again at 1pm even though I had been granted check out at 3pm. This was most unsettling and made it hard to relax and feel comfortable.

The hotel benefits from nice walkways and great views across the Thames of Canary Wharf. They also benefit from a complimentary ferry across the Thames to and from Canary Wharf which is a great asset. The front office staff were very friendly and helpful and the public areas have been renovated nicely.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and I probably will never stay again. Try the Hilton in Canary Wharf or the soon to open Lincoln plaza instead.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are not worth it in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tatankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragos-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Tatankar,

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton. We apologize for the malfunctioning HV/AC. We have reported your concerns to our maintenance team so we can make it right. We’ve addressed the issues with the room amenities. Should you return to the area, we would love another chance to provide you with an exceptional stay.

We always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job at being hospitable towards our guest. You dinner experience has also been passed along to our culinary department for further review. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, I do hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

You get the usual Hilton standard. Whilst good quality, when related to the cost charged it is average.

Staff at front desk were friendly and efficient but ‘not hurried’. The entire check in process seems very old school, paper based and slow compared to more modern hotels....printout of paperwork, couple of signatures, credit card you booked with, etc etc.

Rooms are very spread out from the main hotel so quite a maze with multiple lifts going to different places etc.

Highlight is the novelty of the ferry over from Canary Wharf. Great location for that area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Kev L,

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction regarding the check in process, the staff and the room location. Please rest assured that we are actively working with our team to focus on guest satisfaction and we will keep your concerns in mind as we evaluate refresh options. Your compliments regarding the hotel's location and the ferry from Canary Wharf are greatly appreciated. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I have stayed here many times and have always been highly satisfied with the service. A clean bright hotel with fantastic views. The hospitality is warm, professional and efficient. My thanks in particular to Elvio, who has always been very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A5780TTjoannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie G, PA to General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and feedback in regards to your most recent stay. We are delighted that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. As highlighted our team work incredibly hard to ensure all guest leave totally satisfied. I will of course share you wonderful feedback with them as I know they will be delighted they were able to assist and exceed your expectations. Please do let us know when you will next return as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Amie Gotts
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#62 of 1,081 in London
3,810 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#149 of 1,081 in London
581 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside

Address: 265 Rotherhithe Street, London SE16 5HW, England (Formerly Hilton London Docklands)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#266 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: €103 - €299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your memorable stay begins with a warm, chocolate chip cookie at check-in. DoubleTree by Hilton London - Docklands Riverside, located along the River Thames with stunning views of Canary Wharf - an ideal choice for travellers looking to make the most out of London from a waterside location. This former 17th-century wharf building boasts exposed brickwork and London's last dry dock for shipbuilding. The hotel's very own river ferry provides complimentary river access to the square mile of Canary Wharf as well as connecting you with Thames River Taxi Clippers that offer an unforgettable voyage on the Thames, straight into central London. Only 20 minutes away from London City Airport, the DoubleTree by Hilton London Docklands Riverside is the ideal place to stay when attending events at O2 Arena and the ExCel London conference venue or visiting museums and shopping. If we can't tempt you to take the river taxi, the nearby Underground station or Docklands Light Railway service offer alternative means of getting to the rest of the city. Secure parking for 120 cars is available at the hotel for just £14 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Docklands Hotel London
London Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing