We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad - every bit of it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Ranked #370 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 June 2016

My first impression of this hotel were disappointing and alarm bells were ringing before i checked in. When trying to find the parking I managed to end up behind one of the wings of the hotel, I wasnt sure if they were flats (council) or the hotel, turns out it was the room I paid £130.00 for the night to stay in. parking was difficult, check in rather simple, I made my way to my room through a series of tight corridors and a lift which made a clapping noise every few seconds on my 90 second ride up 2 floors. I managed to eventually find my room. the bathroom was so small you literally can not shut the door. the views promised are not what you get.

I ordered room service, the gentleman didnt know what cranberry juice was. after a much explanation the food arrived. the person knocked once and then started to kick the door a few second later. I did try and get to the door as soon as possible but he didnt want to wait more than 8 seconds. When i opened the door i undersood why, he was holding a heavy tray and needed me to open the door else he would have dropped it. I suppose the corridors are far too narrow for a conventional room service trolley to zoom through.

the Chips were burnt and very dark brown in colour, you could smell the burnt oil on the soggy chips.

the shower was terrible and very small. My student halls in 2005 were much more pleasant.

Now i appreciate not every hotel in London would be world class but I think the Double Tree and Hilton Brand have let themselves down tremendously to associate themselves with this property.

I would never stay here again even if it was for £20.00 for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank int-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie G, PA to General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are deeply disappointed to read such negative comments which will of course be addressed with the team. Please do contact me directly at the hotel as I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,013 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2016

Not a great location for Canary Wharf unless you find the ferry useful.

Very limited restaurant menu although the food was well presented and tasted ok.

Rooms were very small and it felt a little bit like being in a converted council flat. There was another section which looked nicer so I would ask for that if I had to stay there again.

Taxi they called me seemed like a dodgy back street cab with no meter!

Been in better Hilton hotels

Room Tip: Not the council flat side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Crankcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie G, PA to General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your time spent in our hotel. I will of course highlight the issue with the taxi service to our management team. I do hope you will once again consider staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and the location was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The first room we were put in didn't have a view so I asked if we could be moved. This happened with no trouble whatsoever and the room was perfect.
The free ferry to Canary Wharf was a great little bonus too.
Would recommend!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kath_H1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie G, PA to General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Many thanks for your review- We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and restaurant service. Our location is great and very easy to travel to central London making it extra easy with the use of our hotel ferry; I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

This hotel did not offer any of the services if expect when taking the suite. No luggage porter offer etc. not even breakfast included. In summary for the money the service level was not in line. Apart from that the hotel offers wonderful location, efficient staff, and rooms that meet expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lennert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie G, PA to General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are pleased to hear that your enjoyed the location while staying with us, I will of course highlight your concerns with our management team. I do hope you will consider staying with us once again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Great value room made us slightly concerned it wouldn't be anything to get excited about.....we were wrong, so I am writing! Went to a concert @ 02 and had a terrible journey from Somerset so no time to check in. Fell through the door at about 11.30, too tired too eat but enjoyed the warm cookie! Spacious room, great shower and great view over the river...slept like a baby in generous sized twin beds! Changed our mind about breakfast as we were now starving....no problem. Delicious fresh food with every choice available. Really helpful staff.....would definitely use again. Only one small niggle...although we appreciated the air con as room was cool, it was a real puzzle how to stop it as it was pretty noisy! However, it went off eventually....we should have just phoned reception who agreed it is a pain but they would have sorted it

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamDavisHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie G, PA to General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and feedback in regards to your most recent stay. We are delighted that you found your room and views to be wonderful. I do hope you will once again consider staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#65 of 1,078 in London
3,695 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#135 of 1,078 in London
487 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside

Address: 265 Rotherhithe Street, London SE16 5HW, England (Formerly Hilton London Docklands)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#260 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: €96 - €294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your memorable stay begins with a warm, chocolate chip cookie at check-in. DoubleTree by Hilton London - Docklands Riverside, located along the River Thames with stunning views of Canary Wharf - an ideal choice for travellers looking to make the most out of London from a waterside location. This former 17th-century wharf building boasts exposed brickwork and London's last dry dock for shipbuilding. The hotel's very own river ferry provides complimentary river access to the square mile of Canary Wharf as well as connecting you with Thames River Taxi Clippers that offer an unforgettable voyage on the Thames, straight into central London. Only 20 minutes away from London City Airport, the DoubleTree by Hilton London Docklands Riverside is the ideal place to stay when attending events at O2 Arena and the ExCel London conference venue or visiting museums and shopping. If we can't tempt you to take the river taxi, the nearby Underground station or Docklands Light Railway service offer alternative means of getting to the rest of the city. Secure parking for 120 cars is available at the hotel for just £14 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Docklands Hotel London
London Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing