We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Ranked #418 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was a single women staying in London for a week. The location of this hotel was excellent. I never felt nervous about being alone. The two tube stations are very close, as is a excellent cafe and many restaurants There is a mall right on the corner with a M&S so I could pick up food to eat in my room or for my day trips. The lady at the front desk was wonderful, she could give me bus routes to places I wanted to go as well as make recommendations of things to do. I was able to have breakfast at the hotel next door which was great. I had to catch a cab at 2 in the morning and ended up meeting some great people in the lobby of the next door hotel. Yes the room was small but it was clean which mattered to me more the a large room. The bathroom for my room was out in the hall, which was the first time I had ever had that. But I was the only one using it and it was really convienant when I was running in from a day out and the toilet was closer then my room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank organicgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    145
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
47
93
72
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stay in budget hotels in London frequently. This is the best I have stayed in. Reception was friendly and efficient. The room was well equipped and clean; there was more space than I am used to at this price. The hotel is effectively an annexe to a larger Best Western next door and it is of a similar standard with use of their facilities. Continental breakfast was better than average, but the Full English (additional cost) was huge, well cooked and used quality ingredients.

Difficult to fault.

Well done KGH - I was impressed!

Room Tip: Room 14 is a very good ensuite single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serendipityagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Kensington Gardens Hotel your top-score! We are delighted to know that Kensington Gardens Hotel suited your requirements and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Comfortable, very clean hotel. Very friendly lady on reception was full of information! Rooms are not that large, but didn't bother us because we weren't there that much during the day & evenings.Hotel in a great area. Very close to plenty of varied cafes & restaurants. Also a short walking distance to Bayswater tube station & Queensway tube station a little further on. Not far from Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park & Portobello Road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Kensington Gardens Hotel your top-score! We are delighted to know that Kensington Gardens Hotel suited your requirements and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I highly recommend this hotel for the budget oriented tourist. Not the most modern amenities but the hotel is located near the tube, very clean, and the front desk staff was very helpful when asking questions on the local community. Lots of steep steps which after a long flight and dragging a heavy bag on the tube can be quite cumbersome.

The only odd thing was having to turn in your key everytime you left the hotel, which I assume is for security purposes. After 5 PM you must pick up your key at the neighboring Phoenix Hotel. All in all I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms in the summertime will be quite hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The room was nice, the front staff of this hotel was nice but this is an annex of the Phoenix Hotel a few doors away and the staff there treat it as a poor cousin. I believe the rooms are cheaper than in the main hotel but that should reflect the distance to the public rooms and the lack of elevator and not mean poor service. My main beef was that there was no wifi in this section of the hotel. So if you check your email, work or use your devises to find a good restaurant in the area, you have to run down the street to the main hotel and enter in a complex user/password combination. We stayed 7 nights, so you can image how many times I had to do this. I saw people with their work spread out in the lounge for hours and skypeing in the lobby isn't fun. The front staff knew about it and their reaction varied from being bored by the question to saying it would be looking into and finally, at the end of the stay, just admitting that there never would be wifi at that part of the hotel. Really too bad since a simple router would correct the problem, but I won't stay again because of it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverBCSmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#283 of 1,069 in London
1,639 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#365 of 1,069 in London
1,486 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#312 of 1,069 in London
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#395 of 1,069 in London
419 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#640 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Caring Hotel
#518 of 1,069 in London
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Gardens Hotel

Property: Kensington Gardens Hotel
Address: 9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#380 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington Gardens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Gardens Hotel is a 17 bedroom 2 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theatres within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi is always included when making a reservation with Kensington Gardens Hotel. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. Reception is manned from 8 am to 5 pm. The reception at Phoenix hotel, next door at 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, will assist during other hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kensington Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Gardens Top Hotel
Top Hotel London
London Top Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing