We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for new year celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #161 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2007

Stayed at this hotel over the new year as I wanted myself and my family to see the New Years eve celebrations and fireworks which take place every year on the Thames.
The hotel is ideally positioned approximately 100 yards to the left of the London Eye.On New years eve the large outside balcony is opened up for residents and you have pole position for the best view in London of the fireworks.
River view rooms are nice and overlook the Thames and Big Ben even though the windows are on the small side.
Over the New year period the buffet breakfast (hot and cold) is excellent alot better than when the hotel reverts back to normal breakfast selections following New Year.
The reservations manager
was very pleasant and very knowledgeable.
Would stay here again for the quieter location and general feeling of space this hotel has.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,371 - 2,375 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2007

We stayed at the hotel over the Christmas break and had a super time. You really couldn't ask for a better location with the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye a minute away! The hotel itself is impressive with a grand entrance and a professional and courteous welcome. The family room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and there was lots of hot water!
Our only complaint...the view from the bedroom window was at best disappointing. We overlooked the tiny courtyard and several skips located in the centre of the building. It would be worth asking for a view when you book! Other than that we would thoroughly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Peal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2006

We arrived on Saturday after an overnight flight. We arrived after taking the train to Victoria Station and then a cab to the hotel. We were told the room would be ready in 30 minutes, so we waited in the lounge. they brought our key and we were taken to the room. The whole nine days were perfect. we loved the stay and we were even able to broadcast live webcam video of big ben and The London Eye to our family back in the States. The only complaint would be the price of Internet.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

We spent 4 days/3 nights and the Marriott London County Hall and had a wonderful experience. Listening and watching Big Ben chime midnight across the river was really, really nice. The location can't be beat for walking distance to everything from Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster, Buckingham, Trafalgar Square, The Theater district, and the London Eye (right next door). For travelers arriving on the Eurostar train, the hotel is 2 blocks away and less than a 10 minute walk pulling suitcases.

The old County Hall building is enormous, but it needs to be noted that the hotel occupies the center section (where the building bows in) and a block of rooms on the side closest to the London Eye. However, the main hotel entrance is at the bridge end (Big Ben end) of the building. There is also an additional "back" entrance on the street behind the hotel...the side away from the river. If you enter here however, you must wander a bit through the old building 'til you get to the section Marriott occupies. This back entrance is handy if you are running out to the Starbucks or the Italian place or the Yo! sushi joint on that street. There is also a sort of restaurant row (Giraffe and Wagamamma noodle are good choices) just down past the London Eye and the Golden Jubilee Bridge....5-10 minute walk along the river park. Here you'll often you'll find live entertainers performing. We like the guy playing theater hits on water glasses and the silver statue guys. We were suprised to see a Krispy Kreme donut in Waterloo station and heard from friends they make them in front of you at Harrods. If you have kids, there is an aquarium, video game room and Mc Donalds on the ground level of the hotel on the river side. (We didn't personally visit those 3, but just wanted to make the note)

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Let the concierge make all your arrangements for you....he was very helpful and catered to our needs with 4 kids ages 11 and under. The room was spotless, although the carpets and some wood moldings (doorways) were a bit worn. The bath towels were huge and the tub large and deep with a good quality shower head. The bedding was top notch and very comfortable. The pool is very nice for laps (4 lanes X 25 m) with 2 lanes roped off for lap swimmers and the other 2 for kids playing, etc. The breakfast was an exceptional continental buffet, but very pricey at L20. (Approx. $40 at the time of our visit.) We had it included with our room price so that helped quite a bit. The Library holds a traditional Afternoon Tea and has great views of Big Ben and comfy chairs to sink into.
As a side note, crazy things happen occasionally and the staff was very gracious and helpful when we had a child get violently ill with a stomach bug and we needed to extend our checkout time. We moved into one room, and they let us stay until she felt well enough to venture out. All in all, this is an excellent place to say, although probably not for the budget concious. Some weekend rates make it worthwhile to get supurb quality and service. Marriott is a known quantity and connecting rooms (hard to find in Europe) make it easy for larger families.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank TravelingFamilyOfSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2006

We were booked in for 2 nights,and on arrival at 3pm(1 hour after check in)we were told our room was not ready and wouldnt be for at least another 20 minutes,so we were shown into the main bar area and given a cup of tea on the house.We waited for perhaps another 45 minutes expecting to be told our room was ready but nothing happened so we went back to reception and it appeared they had forgot and so we were promptly given our key and given our room.That was the only blip on an otherwise faultless stay.The room was good,we had a Thames view room,but not really worth all the extra money,but the best thing of all was the bed.It is the most comfortable we have ever slept in,it was wonderful.The hotel is VERY pricey for food and drinks but what you do have is very good.The staff are very nice,but alas,hardly an English accent to be heard,which can sometimes lead to confusion.The location is superb,with 2 tube stations close at hand,and right next to the London Eye,and just across Westminster bridge to the Houses of Parliament.Its fine for a short stay,and try and get a deal with breakfast included! We will be staying there again next year,and we shall start saving now,but its worth it for the bed.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Robjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
#205 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: €244 - €462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing