We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,034)
Filter reviews
3,034 results
Traveller rating
1,678
813
325
135
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,678
813
325
135
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big ben london eye westminster bridge the executive lounge river view afternoon tea south bank perfect location two double beds tube station concierge elevator scaffolding platinum doorman pounds wallpaper
Filter
Updating list...
2,572 - 2,577 of 3,034 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Just returned from a week in London. We initially booked a hotel and stayed one night in South London. Took the double decker bus tour The BIG Bus which is a must on your first day to see the lay of the land. After walking around we found the Thame River and saw the London Eye which is the gigantic ferris wheel and saw that the Marriott right next to it. We inquired and found a room and it was the best decision for our trip. The convenience of this hotel is a must with all the great sites within walking distance. There is a great park behind the hotel and the weekends are full of things to do just around the hotel itself. The staff and service were excellent, the hotel offers a wonderful swimming pool and workout facility probably the best in London. Definitely a wonderful place to stay with children as well. I highly recommend this hotel in the heart of London.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4314debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We just went to London with our children (ages 6 and 10). The hotel was great! Perfect location for getting around to everything - between Waterloo and Westminster stops. Walking distance to most major sights and many restaurants. We had access to the executive lounge for continental breakfast (as well as all day snacks and drinks) - highly recommend! We never went to the restaurant, but room sevice was fairly good. The room was spacious and very quiet. We would definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RemJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Our family stayed in this hotel for a week for Easter holiday and loved our choice very much. Some good things about this hotel:
1. the room is spacious enough for a family of 4. in addition to two double beds, we also requested a roll away bed (for free) which was put right next to the window that was facing the London Eye. My 8 year old son loved this bed very much since every morning he woke up with London Eye welcoming him first.
2. there are several small restaurants/cafes behind the hotel including a McDonald inside the County Hall. There is also a convenient store among these restaurants for you to buy every day necessitites - i.e. water, milk, instant noodles, yogurts. We find these restaurants very helpful and yummy enough - one middle-east restaurant serving full English breakfast (very yummy) from 8:00am, one bagel shop serving breakfast from 8:00am, one chinese egg noodle shop which is very popular and full with people most of the time and open from 11 am something, one English food restaurant Locale serving high standard meals, and one sandwich shop Subway.
3. the location is very convenient with Waterloo station within 5-10 miniutes walking distance. Not only that we used this station to go to Hampton Cournt by South West Railway (which can be used to go to many other interesting places, i.e. chessington world of adventures), we can also use the subway station to go everywhere in London. Also, there are many shops in the station for an easy bite - Mark & Spencer Simply Food, Burger King, McDonald, and many other small food shops selling muffins, sandwiches.
It's also economical to use taxi to most major tourist points from the hotel, i.e. British Museum, Science Museum, London Tower, most within 10 pounds distance (single trip by subway for adult is 4 pounds, and 2 pounds for children)
There is also a pier from London Eye which is right next to the hotel. Boats at this pier can bring you to Greenwich and London Tower.
4. The hotel provides free good quality tea bags, coffee sachets, milk and sugar and hot chocolate powder in the room. My two sons enjoyed the hot chocolate very much.
5. The hotel in-door heated swimming pool is available for children from 9:00am to 7:00pm. My tow boys enjoyed it when it was raining day.
I would highly recommend this hotel to family travellilng with young children.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangeyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

I traveled to London during the last week of July, 2008 on business, and took my wife and teenage daughter with me so we could bookend a few days of sightseeing around a few days of meetings. We choose this hotel because we wanted to stick with the Marriot brand, and because this one got good write ups on TA and seemed to be near everything we wanted to see.

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are large and well kept. County Hall is a former government building, so the hallways are long and some of the rooms are a good walk from the elevators (lifts).

It was unusually hot for London during the week we were there (above 90 degrees Fahrenheit and sunny every day for a week). This made sightseeing a joy, although I had to continuously re-wear one of the two pair of short pants I brought with me. Who expects to need more in the UK? The pleasant weather was a nice surprise. However, it was clear that the hotel air conditioning system was not up to the challenge. Our room was HOT each day during the day. At first the hotel staff offered excuses about needing a new condenser. However, on our second day there a maintenance engineer came to the room with a fan. He explained that the building is old, and the thick granite simply soaks in the heat. It is generally not a problem, as it is usually not so hot in London, especially on a continuous basis. Sleeping at night was fine - things cooled off enough to be comfortable. The locals with whom I was meeting did not feel the same way, because most of them don't have AC in their flats - so I stopped complaining.

During our stay the hotel was undergoing the last bit of renovations to their front entrance on Westminster Bridge Road, so we did not get to see the main entrance until the morning of our departure. It was quiet nice.

We did not eat at the hotel, or even have a drink there. We read so many reviews about the overpriced breakfasts that we didn't even give it a try. There are just so many other options in London for places to eat and drink, many nearby. There are seveal restaurants right across the street. Also, there are several small conveinence stores across the street if you want to grab coffee; a sandwich; a soda; or a bottle of wine.

The best thing about this hotel is its location. To borrow a local phrase, the location is "brilliant". It is on Westminster Bridge Road, right across the Westminster Bridge from the houses of Parliament, wiht a nice view of St. Stephen's Tower, atop of which sits Big Ben. Our room had a partial view of the Thames and the London Eye, which is right next to the hotel. There are two footbridges across the Thames nearby the hotel. There are many restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance of the Marriot County Hall. Also nearby were: Trafalgar Square; #10 Downing Steet; the Cabinet War Rooms and Museum; and Westminster Abbey. We did alot of walking.

The hotel is also close to two tube stops - Waterloo Station and Embankment Station - which is just across the Thames. From these two stations you can get anywhere you want to go in London.

We saw many incredible sights, and had a jolly good time! A few "don't miss" things.....

The Big Bus Tour (not The Original Bus Tour). They pick you up right outside the hotel. Ride upstairs with the live guide. We did a full day, and hopped on and off at several locations. The Big Bus ticket also included several waking tours. Our daughter wanted to do the "Ghosts By Gaslight Tour", whic was touted as a ghost tour of London. It turned out to be a "pub crawl", with a ghostly theme. We started at The Sherlock Holmes Pub, near the Marriot, and hit several other watering holes before our tour guide Patsy, who was great, ended our walk at the Chesire Cheese on Fleet Street, rumored to be the oldest pub in London and the place which served the "special meat pies" made possible by Sweeny Todd. We also toured the Cabinet War Rooms and Chuchill Museum; the HMS Belfast; the Imperial War Museum; the Tower of London; Tower Bridge; and Buckinham Palace, which was open for tours while we were there.

We are very much looking forward to returning to London and would not hesitate to stay here next time.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cjbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The location is great next to the London Eye and being situated in the Old County Hall the building is amazing and full of history. Overall the room I had a on the sixth floor (612)was no different to any other Marriott hotel there was nothing special about it to make it 5 star. I was also situated at the back of the swimming pool and did not notice until I went to bed that the plant that runs the pool made a terrible humming noise that you cannot get away from. My only other critisim is that four of us met for breakfast it look 40 minutes for the food to arrive and every plate was not what we had ordered! Overall the location is great and the building amazing, the rooms and service average.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews