We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay in London for Tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #163 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2009

This hotel is steps from Westminster Abbey, Parliament, the Eye, No 10 Downing Street, the Churchill Museum and Cabinet War Rooms--everything you want to see and do! There is a BIG BUS CO. stop literally as you walk out the front door, so if a double decker bus ride is in your plan, convenience can not be beat! We took it to the Tower of London and then rode the boat back down the Thames. Loads of fun! The room was spacious enough for a family of 4, the staff was great, the beds were "heavenly" and the breakfast is not to be missed! I wouldn't stay anywhere else. They even managed to get us into a room when we arrived early in the morning. After flying all night, the hot shower was appreciated!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Momof2travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,259 - 2,263 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

Just returned from a week in London. We initially booked a hotel and stayed one night in South London. Took the double decker bus tour The BIG Bus which is a must on your first day to see the lay of the land. After walking around we found the Thame River and saw the London Eye which is the gigantic ferris wheel and saw that the Marriott right next to it. We inquired and found a room and it was the best decision for our trip. The convenience of this hotel is a must with all the great sites within walking distance. There is a great park behind the hotel and the weekends are full of things to do just around the hotel itself. The staff and service were excellent, the hotel offers a wonderful swimming pool and workout facility probably the best in London. Definitely a wonderful place to stay with children as well. I highly recommend this hotel in the heart of London.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4314debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We just went to London with our children (ages 6 and 10). The hotel was great! Perfect location for getting around to everything - between Waterloo and Westminster stops. Walking distance to most major sights and many restaurants. We had access to the executive lounge for continental breakfast (as well as all day snacks and drinks) - highly recommend! We never went to the restaurant, but room sevice was fairly good. The room was spacious and very quiet. We would definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RemJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Our family stayed in this hotel for a week for Easter holiday and loved our choice very much. Some good things about this hotel:
1. the room is spacious enough for a family of 4. in addition to two double beds, we also requested a roll away bed (for free) which was put right next to the window that was facing the London Eye. My 8 year old son loved this bed very much since every morning he woke up with London Eye welcoming him first.
2. there are several small restaurants/cafes behind the hotel including a McDonald inside the County Hall. There is also a convenient store among these restaurants for you to buy every day necessitites - i.e. water, milk, instant noodles, yogurts. We find these restaurants very helpful and yummy enough - one middle-east restaurant serving full English breakfast (very yummy) from 8:00am, one bagel shop serving breakfast from 8:00am, one chinese egg noodle shop which is very popular and full with people most of the time and open from 11 am something, one English food restaurant Locale serving high standard meals, and one sandwich shop Subway.
3. the location is very convenient with Waterloo station within 5-10 miniutes walking distance. Not only that we used this station to go to Hampton Cournt by South West Railway (which can be used to go to many other interesting places, i.e. chessington world of adventures), we can also use the subway station to go everywhere in London. Also, there are many shops in the station for an easy bite - Mark & Spencer Simply Food, Burger King, McDonald, and many other small food shops selling muffins, sandwiches.
It's also economical to use taxi to most major tourist points from the hotel, i.e. British Museum, Science Museum, London Tower, most within 10 pounds distance (single trip by subway for adult is 4 pounds, and 2 pounds for children)
There is also a pier from London Eye which is right next to the hotel. Boats at this pier can bring you to Greenwich and London Tower.
4. The hotel provides free good quality tea bags, coffee sachets, milk and sugar and hot chocolate powder in the room. My two sons enjoyed the hot chocolate very much.
5. The hotel in-door heated swimming pool is available for children from 9:00am to 7:00pm. My tow boys enjoyed it when it was raining day.
I would highly recommend this hotel to family travellilng with young children.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangeyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

I traveled to London during the last week of July, 2008 on business, and took my wife and teenage daughter with me so we could bookend a few days of sightseeing around a few days of meetings. We choose this hotel because we wanted to stick with the Marriot brand, and because this one got good write ups on TA and seemed to be near everything we wanted to see.

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are large and well kept. County Hall is a former government building, so the hallways are long and some of the rooms are a good walk from the elevators (lifts).

It was unusually hot for London during the week we were there (above 90 degrees Fahrenheit and sunny every day for a week). This made sightseeing a joy, although I had to continuously re-wear one of the two pair of short pants I brought with me. Who expects to need more in the UK? The pleasant weather was a nice surprise. However, it was clear that the hotel air conditioning system was not up to the challenge. Our room was HOT each day during the day. At first the hotel staff offered excuses about needing a new condenser. However, on our second day there a maintenance engineer came to the room with a fan. He explained that the building is old, and the thick granite simply soaks in the heat. It is generally not a problem, as it is usually not so hot in London, especially on a continuous basis. Sleeping at night was fine - things cooled off enough to be comfortable. The locals with whom I was meeting did not feel the same way, because most of them don't have AC in their flats - so I stopped complaining.

During our stay the hotel was undergoing the last bit of renovations to their front entrance on Westminster Bridge Road, so we did not get to see the main entrance until the morning of our departure. It was quiet nice.

We did not eat at the hotel, or even have a drink there. We read so many reviews about the overpriced breakfasts that we didn't even give it a try. There are just so many other options in London for places to eat and drink, many nearby. There are seveal restaurants right across the street. Also, there are several small conveinence stores across the street if you want to grab coffee; a sandwich; a soda; or a bottle of wine.

The best thing about this hotel is its location. To borrow a local phrase, the location is "brilliant". It is on Westminster Bridge Road, right across the Westminster Bridge from the houses of Parliament, wiht a nice view of St. Stephen's Tower, atop of which sits Big Ben. Our room had a partial view of the Thames and the London Eye, which is right next to the hotel. There are two footbridges across the Thames nearby the hotel. There are many restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance of the Marriot County Hall. Also nearby were: Trafalgar Square; #10 Downing Steet; the Cabinet War Rooms and Museum; and Westminster Abbey. We did alot of walking.

The hotel is also close to two tube stops - Waterloo Station and Embankment Station - which is just across the Thames. From these two stations you can get anywhere you want to go in London.

We saw many incredible sights, and had a jolly good time! A few "don't miss" things.....

The Big Bus Tour (not The Original Bus Tour). They pick you up right outside the hotel. Ride upstairs with the live guide. We did a full day, and hopped on and off at several locations. The Big Bus ticket also included several waking tours. Our daughter wanted to do the "Ghosts By Gaslight Tour", whic was touted as a ghost tour of London. It turned out to be a "pub crawl", with a ghostly theme. We started at The Sherlock Holmes Pub, near the Marriot, and hit several other watering holes before our tour guide Patsy, who was great, ended our walk at the Chesire Cheese on Fleet Street, rumored to be the oldest pub in London and the place which served the "special meat pies" made possible by Sweeny Todd. We also toured the Cabinet War Rooms and Chuchill Museum; the HMS Belfast; the Imperial War Museum; the Tower of London; Tower Bridge; and Buckinham Palace, which was open for tours while we were there.

We are very much looking forward to returning to London and would not hesitate to stay here next time.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cjbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
#205 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: €240 - €454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing