We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancaster Gate and tips for staying in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #450 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Two girlfriends and I spent 6 days in London, England, UK in October 2011. Transportation is a hot topic and one we lingered on for weeks before we traveled. Everything seemed so confusing! Well, here’s what we did. We took the Heathrow Express (not the Connect!) to Paddington Station. It was cheaper (£16), but yes, it had a few stops (I think 3). When we arrived at Paddington Station, we went to the ticket desk and asked them what they recommended. Because we were site seeing and mainly were staying in zones 1 & 2, they recommended the standard Travelcard, which was good for 6 days and cost us £27. This card took us anywhere in zones 1 & 2, which was where the vast majority of sites were for us. It allowed us to ride any underground train or public bus in those areas. For general London transportation, it was more than adequate. Super easy too, just shove it into the machines and it scans and pops back out, just like DC Metro. The train lines were a little confusing. If you can handle the Metro, you can probably handle this, but I’d recommend mapping your route beforehand, because the crossovers are very crowded and no one wants to wait while you check your map. While on the subject of transportation, it’s a good idea to map out the route from your closest tube station to your hotel. We neglected that little piece and ended up traipsing around for probably over an hour trying to find the hotel which was supposedly very close to the tube station. …dragging our heavy suitcases… It’s a mistake we won’t make again. Or, better yet, just get a cab from Paddington to take you to your hotel. We took the tube and it was a huge pain to lug those suitcases up and down the steps of the underground. We were all tired and sweaty by the time we arrived at the hotel.
Regarding the hotel, it really was not that far from the tube station, probably 4 blocks or so. Once we found it, we were able to find an easier walk between the hotel and tube station. The hotel is also close to Hyde Park. The location was decent, but we took the tube everywhere and didn’t a lot of time in the hotel. Our room was small, but we understood that space is at a premium in London. We were quite cramped with 3 women in a room with a double bed and a twin bed. Closet space is tiny, the bathroom was tiny. We were fine with it, but if you have a lot of clothes or lots of hair/beauty products, this would be too small. Though it would probably be fine for 2 people. Also, the tub was super high up, a gigantic step up, and I did almost break a leg trying to step into the wet tub one morning. If you plan to stay here and aren’t super spry, you may want to inquire about the tub before you make your reservation. The beds were fine, but I sleep good anywhere, and there was very little road noise. The room was clean when we arrived and the maid service kept it clean the entire time.
We did have some confusion with the reservation. We had booked through Expedia and had paid up front. When we checked in, the staff tried to charge us a second time for the hotel. Once we explained and they checked, they did not double charge us. But, we also had confusion with using the computer and phone. Keep in mind, the staff are all foreign, and didn’t seem to speak English very well. They made us put a credit card down for the computer (in the lobby), and for the phone usage. One of us gave a credit card for computer/phone use, and then THAT card got charged for our stay AGAIN!! So we paid through Expedia, then my friend was charged again after we left. She had to call the hotel and get everything sorted out. It was a bit of a fiasco. I still don’t understand why we couldn’t just pay cash for the use of phone and computer. And the cost for the computer was crazy. I didn’t use it so I don’t remember what it was, just that it was nuts. Why not offer free internet, Lancaster Gate?
We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, so I can’t comment on that. But the hotel did arrange a car for us to return to Padding for the Heathrow Express on our way home. It was £10, which sounds like a lot, but for 3 girls to put 6 bags into a cab was MUCH MUCH easier than us lugging all that crap down to the tube station, down all those steps, into the train, then back up the steps at Paddington. Recommend you just take a cab both ways. Unless you pack light.
Regarding your stay in London, we noticed some cultural differences between Londoners and Americans. For example, we got the stink eye every time we said “bless you” to someone who had sneezed. Apparently that’s an old-timey thing over there and not many people say it. Also, your wait staff at most restaurants will be foreign. Don’t be afraid to ask for the check when you’re done eating. Otherwise you’ll sit for hours, because they won’t bring it unless you ask. Oh, and don’t rely on the websites for museum hours. They were wrong in almost every instance. Our itinerary was shot when we arrived at 3 locations only to find they were closed. Recommend you call each museum or place of interest ahead of time. We purchased our Tower of London tickets online prior to travel, and that was super easy when we got there. We spent hours in there, it was very cool. We also purchased train tickets to Edinburgh and tickets to the castle, and again, that was super easy. So in those instances, doing some preplanning online saved a bit of time and stress. If you get the chance, the castle in Edinburgh is TOTALLY worth the 4 hour train ride. Other things we enjoyed were Westminster Abbey, Picadilly Circus (where we found and had dinner in Chinatown), changing of the guards at Buckingham, river tour of the Thames, HARRODS!!!, and the British Museum. Hope this is helpful to any Americans looking to stay in London.

Room Tip: 3 in a room is a bit crowded.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dmmsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,211 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Quite location in convenient position. We chose this hotel because it could accommodate a preteen in the room. The bed was small (double) and uncomfortable. The room was clean but tired. On the positive side it had a cracker of a shower.The hall carpet was very stained and dirty.
Breakfast not included in price was very average. No free Wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PosieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay. We welcome all feedback from our guests as we are constantly striving to improve our customer satisfaction.
With regards to the beds the double beds are european standard size and as you requested a room with an extra bed we were unable to offer a room with a king or queen double bed. The hotel is currently going through a soft refurbishment of the bedrooms which includes soft furnishings,decor and replacement of public area carpets once completed.
Once again thank you for your time and the feedback given

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Recently returned from London and Paris.Stayed at the Lancaster Gate while in London and enjoyed it very much.Rooms were clean and comfortable.Staff were very friendly and helpful.We never did eat at this hotel,our outings kept us busy and up early in the morning.We were hoping there would be some kind of coffee bar set up for early risers since the packaged coffee no matter where you are is not good.That is the only suggestion I have for improvement,otherwise we had a wonderful stay.Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OntarioLeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and also your time in London.
Breakfast is available from 6.30am each morning and coffees from the bar are also available during breakfast service along with the regular filter coffee served at this time.
I hope that if you decide to return to London for a future visit that we will be able to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 days / 2 nights as attending a course (work paid.... whoopie). Welcoming was prompt and friendly. The room was very nice... if I had paid myself I would've liked a bit more luxury, but hey ho. Had a minor panic when I couldn't find the tea/coffee, thought no surely it must be here!!!, but don't panic folks... it's in the drawer marked ... tea and coffee ...under the TV!!!
Food, dinner was really nice, they had to put up with 10 of us, which was a challenge! and breakfast had all the usual stuff - no problems there, the bar was quite busy on both nights - mid week - which is always a good sign!
There's a shop round the corner and round the corner the other way another one with a cash point.
All in all a very good stay and I would recommend - although I would warn you don't use the Wi-Fi unless you are minted - very expensive!!
Enjoy. X

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katogirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you found your stay with us to be pleasant and that all outlets of the hotel performed to a satisfactory standard.
We encourage all customer feed back and I have duly noted your comments regarding the cost of wireless access. Currently this is provided by a third party who sets the tariff and I can assure you that once the current contract has expired this will be reviewed.
Once again thank you for your time and I hope that we wil be able to welcome you back to the hotel on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

A great venue for this event. Room view on 11 th floor was awesome and room very comfortable with everything i needed. Bed comfy too. Food at conference was very good on the basis of several hundred participants being catered for.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheffieldRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Royal Lancaster London
#234 of 1,072 in London
3,493 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#398 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#302 of 1,072 in London
1,974 reviews
The Columbia
#535 of 1,072 in London
867 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#423 of 1,072 in London
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: €93 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing