We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #136 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in March. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious for central London. Lovely bathroom, comfy beds and a view of the garden so really quiet. Wifi on main floor and a garden out back which was a peaceful oasis. Add in a fab location across from Gloucester Rd station ( handy for everything including Heathrow) and lots of local restaurants ( and a Starbucks!) and I think this hotel is a wonderful find. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank caseycatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Caseycatkids
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our 1 acre garden - it is quite unique for a central London hotel.
You will be pleased to hear that we are currently installing wi-fi in all our bedrooms to replace the hard wired internet connection - this will all be live by the end of April.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    851
    199
    35
    22
See reviews for
933
590
106
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is truly great (and we have stayed in many London hotels).
The staff are genuinely friendly and welcoming, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the bedroom that we were allocated was superb (split level with lounge downstairs and en-suite bedroom upstairs).

Don't leave this hotel without experiencing the brand new UMAMI restaurant on the ground floor. Full of Eastern promise, the Asian cuisine is beautifully presented and, as all the dishes are freshly prepared to order, you can choose just hot hot/mild you would like each dish.

The location (on Cromwell Road) is great for the Natural History, the Natural Science and the V&A Museams and, as my wife has just reminded me, Harrods is only a short work away.

The General Manager is a great host and even works from a desk in the foyer of the hotel - a refreshing change - and always on hand if needed.

Will we return? - try and stop us.........

Room Tip: Our bedroom overlooked Cromwell Road - the tripple glazed windows, black-out curtains and huge bed e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Garth P
Thank you for your kind comments about our hoterl, my team and I are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We are delighted that you had time to try out our new Asian restaurant, Umami, which opened in March. We are already working on the next change of menu for June to add more dishes.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. On your next visit you will have the benefit of wi-fi, which will be in all rooms by April 27th.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

LOCATION:
Very good - Opposite Gloucester Road tube station, Waitrose supermarket and several restaurants.
Convenient for the park, and shopping in Knightsbridge.
RECEPTION:
Well lit and well located. Lots of smiling faces, waiting to greet you. However, we were overwhelmed by a somewhat dismissive and insincere approach from the encountered front-desk staff.
ROOMS:
As Priority club Platinum members, we were upgraded to a two-floor suite overlooking Cromwell Road – However, the rooms were dark and miserable.
A dark wooden staircase (reminiscent of a scene from Pirates of the Caribbean) at far end of the living room area, blocked out any light wishing to creep into the room thru' a tall narrow window. Then, from dusk to morning, bright external lights glare into your room, and the installed curtains only patchily protecting your sleepy eyes from that glare.
Living room sofa, and bed were quite comfortable. Other living room chairs were not comfortable at all and seemed out of place with other items in the room. Entering at living room level, there was space, but no provision for coats and luggage.
A reasonable choice of TV channels are offered, however, I don't remember CNBC, or Bloomberg. The TV remote control worked inconsistently (probably batteries needed changing) and, in general, the entertainment system was quite difficult to navigate, even for the experienced user.
High speed internet is available, but no wifi in the room. I experienced significant problems with numerous lost connections and very slow speeds. In fact, I had to utilise my BT mobile broadband dongle during my stay.
The bathroom was well stocked and equipped. Although, we did experience a constant and intense smell of cigarette smoke in the bathroom. The hotel offered a change of room for our 2nd of 2 nights stay, but engineering seemed to have quickly addressed the problem, and we decided to stay put. However, late evening, the smell returned.
RESTAURANT/ ROOM SERVICE:
Reasonable food and drink choices on room service menu. Quality of ordered food was fine. Although, we did experience slower than promised speed of service.
Restaurant was very busy at 09:30-10:00 Saturday breakfast time. Reasonable choice of food & beverages on offer.
CONCLUSION:
With some time having passed since our stay, we’ve reflected upon our stay, and are reminded of the style and service levels experienced in far less inviting hotels in Central & Eastern Europe. In short, disappointed. We will not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PE1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear PE1703
Thank you for leaving your detailed feedback about your stay with us 4 months ago. I was most concerned to read that you were so disappointed with your visit to the hotel.
I was sorry that you felt that our reception staff were insincere despite their smiling welcome. That is certainly not the case and they are all very keen to help our guests get the most out of their stay here.
Had you told us that you were not happy with the duplex suite we had upgraded you to, we would have been able to cahnge your room to one of our Club or standard rooms on one level. (all our rooms have 100% blackout curtains and if drawn fully, no light enters the room).
You are right that during your stay we did not have wi-fi internet connection in our bedrooms, but all rooms had a hard wired connection and free wi-fi was available in all the public areas on the ground floor. Since your visit we have completed our ground floor refurbishment and now have a much larger and brighter reception lobby and are currently just completing the installation of wi-fi in all our bedrooms.
I do hope you will return to see the improvements and allow us an opportunity to restore your confidence in this hotel.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 4 nights. The room was huge, 2 big beds and a lounge area. We had a room facing on the front of the hotel, the windows are sound proofed so we could not hear any traffic from outside. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a snack in the bar on the first day and it was not very nice. We ordered sweet potato fries that were cold, I sent them back and they came out dripping in oil...so we could not eat them. I spoke to the restaurant manager about this and he took care of the bill. We ate in the Thai restaurant on the third night, the food was very good. Location is excellent, lots of lovely cafes around the area for breakfast etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Tinadubai
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel. I am delighted that overall you were so pleased with your stay and that you enjoyed our newly opened Asian restaurant, Umami. ( so sorry that the Sweet Potatoe fries in our lounge bar were not up to standard).
I do hope you will be back again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in March 2012, booked via the Lastminute,com 'Top Secret Hotels'. Room was upgraded and was a good size, huge bed and good bathroom. (Shower was a bit weak in strength but apart from that good bathroom). Had a good night's sleep despite a room facing onto the road.

All staff we experienced were very polite and efficient. We paid to have breakfast on the last morning we were there and there was an excellent selection. We also used the concierge service to store our bags on the last day before heading to the train station.

Great location, very close to tube station which was perfect for our sightseeing trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Hanks26
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Try our own website for the best deals.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#121 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#189 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing