We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #122 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

LOCATION:
Very good - Opposite Gloucester Road tube station, Waitrose supermarket and several restaurants.
Convenient for the park, and shopping in Knightsbridge.
RECEPTION:
Well lit and well located. Lots of smiling faces, waiting to greet you. However, we were overwhelmed by a somewhat dismissive and insincere approach from the encountered front-desk staff.
ROOMS:
As Priority club Platinum members, we were upgraded to a two-floor suite overlooking Cromwell Road – However, the rooms were dark and miserable.
A dark wooden staircase (reminiscent of a scene from Pirates of the Caribbean) at far end of the living room area, blocked out any light wishing to creep into the room thru' a tall narrow window. Then, from dusk to morning, bright external lights glare into your room, and the installed curtains only patchily protecting your sleepy eyes from that glare.
Living room sofa, and bed were quite comfortable. Other living room chairs were not comfortable at all and seemed out of place with other items in the room. Entering at living room level, there was space, but no provision for coats and luggage.
A reasonable choice of TV channels are offered, however, I don't remember CNBC, or Bloomberg. The TV remote control worked inconsistently (probably batteries needed changing) and, in general, the entertainment system was quite difficult to navigate, even for the experienced user.
High speed internet is available, but no wifi in the room. I experienced significant problems with numerous lost connections and very slow speeds. In fact, I had to utilise my BT mobile broadband dongle during my stay.
The bathroom was well stocked and equipped. Although, we did experience a constant and intense smell of cigarette smoke in the bathroom. The hotel offered a change of room for our 2nd of 2 nights stay, but engineering seemed to have quickly addressed the problem, and we decided to stay put. However, late evening, the smell returned.
RESTAURANT/ ROOM SERVICE:
Reasonable food and drink choices on room service menu. Quality of ordered food was fine. Although, we did experience slower than promised speed of service.
Restaurant was very busy at 09:30-10:00 Saturday breakfast time. Reasonable choice of food & beverages on offer.
CONCLUSION:
With some time having passed since our stay, we’ve reflected upon our stay, and are reminded of the style and service levels experienced in far less inviting hotels in Central & Eastern Europe. In short, disappointed. We will not return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PE1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear PE1703
Thank you for leaving your detailed feedback about your stay with us 4 months ago. I was most concerned to read that you were so disappointed with your visit to the hotel.
I was sorry that you felt that our reception staff were insincere despite their smiling welcome. That is certainly not the case and they are all very keen to help our guests get the most out of their stay here.
Had you told us that you were not happy with the duplex suite we had upgraded you to, we would have been able to cahnge your room to one of our Club or standard rooms on one level. (all our rooms have 100% blackout curtains and if drawn fully, no light enters the room).
You are right that during your stay we did not have wi-fi internet connection in our bedrooms, but all rooms had a hard wired connection and free wi-fi was available in all the public areas on the ground floor. Since your visit we have completed our ground floor refurbishment and now have a much larger and brighter reception lobby and are currently just completing the installation of wi-fi in all our bedrooms.
I do hope you will return to see the improvements and allow us an opportunity to restore your confidence in this hotel.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,551 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 4 nights. The room was huge, 2 big beds and a lounge area. We had a room facing on the front of the hotel, the windows are sound proofed so we could not hear any traffic from outside. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a snack in the bar on the first day and it was not very nice. We ordered sweet potato fries that were cold, I sent them back and they came out dripping in oil...so we could not eat them. I spoke to the restaurant manager about this and he took care of the bill. We ate in the Thai restaurant on the third night, the food was very good. Location is excellent, lots of lovely cafes around the area for breakfast etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Tinadubai
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel. I am delighted that overall you were so pleased with your stay and that you enjoyed our newly opened Asian restaurant, Umami. ( so sorry that the Sweet Potatoe fries in our lounge bar were not up to standard).
I do hope you will be back again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in March 2012, booked via the Lastminute,com 'Top Secret Hotels'. Room was upgraded and was a good size, huge bed and good bathroom. (Shower was a bit weak in strength but apart from that good bathroom). Had a good night's sleep despite a room facing onto the road.

All staff we experienced were very polite and efficient. We paid to have breakfast on the last morning we were there and there was an excellent selection. We also used the concierge service to store our bags on the last day before heading to the train station.

Great location, very close to tube station which was perfect for our sightseeing trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Hanks26
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Try our own website for the best deals.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have been in this hotel for 4 days due some business in London, got a chance to book one month in advantage and have been able to get very good rate.
Location is excellent, 1 min walk to Piccadilly line and Circle line, easy to reach every spot in London. As ICH member i was upgraded to business floor with larger room facing the garden so room was very very quiet. Bed is huge and fantastic and bathroom large and nice with separate shower and bathtub.

Unfortunately breakfast is really not in line with hotel #stars, value and rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Wimario
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in so many ways, but sorry to hear that you felt breakfast didn't live up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. I will discuss your comments with my team to see where we fell short and how we can pensure breakfast consistently delivers the highest standards.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Our experience with the Crowne Plaza London Kensington Hotel was flawed from the start. We made our reservations on line, and reserved a room that was clearly described as a family suite sleeping 4 people. The hotel changed the reservations to 2 separate suites (without ever contacting us), raising the quoted rate considerably, and we were told that there was no such room sleeping a family of 4. The room decor is outdated, and there is no ventillation in the bathrooms. We were excited about the lounge with free happy hour, only to find a poor selection of wines and almost inedible appetizers. The staff was friendly, and the location is superb. We've had a much nicer experience at the Holiday Inn across the street.

Room Tip: Don't make your reservation on line. Make sure you're getting the room that's described...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Napa5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Napa5222,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,075 in London
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#136 of 1,075 in London
750 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,075 in London
2,945 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#206 of 1,075 in London
3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: €153 - €295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing