We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #149 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here for two night in January and the hotel is just lovely. As platinum Priority Club Member I got complimentary upgrade to a suite. Location is great with the tube 2 min away from the hotel. Breakfast was nothing special and you get better food in a Holiday Inn Express. Dinner was ok, but I believe they are changing the main restaurant to a Thai concept...good move...will defiantly stay again

Room Tip: No wifi in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest Relation M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Thelight20
Thank you for your review. You are right that we are changing our restaurant, in fact it opened this week ( 6 March). Umami offers a range of authentic dishes from Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore and Vietnam in stylish surroundings with cool retro music. It has it's own entrance on Cromwell road and is a great addition to the local area.
I hope you will be back to try it very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    840
    199
    34
    22
See reviews for
913
582
104
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed here with my 16 year old daughter. Our first trip to London. It was a block away from the Gloucester tube so we could go everywhere very easy.
The hotel is very clean safe and in a nice area.
The negative: no free wifi.
I would stay at this hotel again if I couldn't find a hotel as nice with free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhosTheStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Whos The Stew
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Whilst the internet access in the bedrooms is chargeable ( like 80% of hotels), we do however offer free wifi access in our bar, lounge and club lounge (unlike 80% of hotels)
Best regards

Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
705 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel is located near Gloucester road tube station in the middle of Kensington and is a Victorian conversion. Despite hearing so many stories about bad Victorian conversions, I did not hear any noise on my top floor suite. It reminded me of another hotel in St Germain, Paris converted from a monastery and how similar the layout was. However Crowne Plaza's converstion was way better, better quality furnishings and all the other touches: no expense spared.

The lift on the ground floor with reception on the right, took me to my top floor suite, with an elegant sitting room as I entered the space. Stairs took me above, where the bedroom and bathroom was located: both large, well designed and with good quality items. I really liked this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Londontravellista
Thank you for your review and we are all delighted that you were able to give us a 5/5 rating.
We have 20 duplex suites such as the one you stayed in many with balconies and views over the gardens.
Since your visit we have also opened our new reception and front hall which creates an even better sense of arrival.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I had the fortune to find this gem of a hotel again after staying there years ago when it was under a different name (Holiday Inn then, CP now). It is very conveniently situated next to Gloucester Rd Station and the view from the hotel towards the back is that of a quiet church and lovely surrounding gardens. I was upgraded to a Suite (due to my Platinum status) and this was large, being of duplex type, with two floors. Very quiet, well sound proofed at front which my room was facing. Beautiful bar and afternoon tea area in the main public area, wholesome and decent breakfast and very attentive and polite reception staff. Overall a very pleasurable stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: all rooms well furnished but for view, go for room facing the garden and church
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphSingapore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear RalphSingapore66
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked all the changes and improvements since your last visit.
Next time you visit, I hope you will try our new restaurant, Umami, which offers a range of authentic dishes from Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore and Vietnam, in stylish surroundings with cool retro music.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My fiancé and I stayed 4 days, 3 nights at Crowne Plaza Kensington over last weekend. The place looks wonderful – the new renovations make the ground floor look chic and modern. The rooms are decent size and bathrooms are small but functional. The bed was very comfortable and we got great sleep while we were in London – we faced the main road and did not hear any traffic. The hotel is also very conveniently located, mere steps from the Gloucester Road tube stop. It's walking distance from the V&A, Natural History Museum, and Harrod's, and there are also a lot of pubs, cafes, stores nearby, which is nice. That’s about where the positives end.

The room (501) didn’t seem very clean. As you can see in my attached photo, they used duct tape to attach the carpet to the tile. Four star elegance at its finest! A horrible musty smell emanated from the bathroom. In the corner of the room there were a bunch of carpet stains that looked as if someone urinated on the floor. Lovely. I would have requested a room change, but staff members are borderline incompetent and give off a vibe that they truly do not want to interact with guests. Whoever has described staff members as “friendly” or “helpful” is misguided. Also, there is no ability to access wi-fi in the room. We would have gladly paid for that. At least you can get free wi-fi in the lobby, but it is rather inconvenient to have to go all the way to the lobby to check email.

About the staff – nobody will greet you when you enter the hotel. More accurately, staff will be standing idly until they see someone approach the doorway, and then they will start shuffling papers, looking things up on the computer or turn their back away…anything to keep from having to acknowledge guests. Housekeeping staff also came around at 8:30 AM one morning. Seriously? Not even people staying on business would have been out of the room by then. Our overseas power adapter broke and staff was unhelpful, telling us first to go across the street, and then upon us asking to confirm if we should get one in the arcade across the street, they treated us like idiots and told us to go to the corner post office. Only positives with staff are that they let us check in early and check out a little late, but I chalk that up more to a script they are given than them actually having decent personalities.

I got a pretty decent deal to stay here, but feel sorry for anyone who actually pays over 200 GBP a night. Management can make the exterior and lobby as pretty as they like, but this is nowhere near the four stars they claim. It served its purpose as a place to sleep, but don’t stay here if you expect any sort of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tpc220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Tpc220
I am so sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay and offer my sincere apologies for not having lived up to your expectations.
We have since your visit, opened our new recption which is now directly facing the entrance doors so that our receptionists can see guests arriving and give them a warmer welcome, rather than being tucked around ato the left of the entrance.
There are no excuses for the temporary repair to the carpet in your room and I our housekeeper has had the carpet cleaned in this room to bring it back up to the standard you would expect.
With regards internet access, we currently offer free wifi in our reception, lounge, bar and club lounge and a hard wired broadband service in the bedrooms. We are currently upgrading the bedroom service to include wifi.
I hope you will return to see these improvements.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#120 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
No photo provided
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing