We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
131
327
200
61
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
327
200
61
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddington station hyde park family suite sussex gardens heathrow express budget hotel beans breakfast staff stayed nights would stay here again beds were comfortable five minute walk quiet at night rooms are small long weekend central line short stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

The location of the hotel is nice, two underground stations are very close, but the area was pretty quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful, too. Overall, we had an ok stay, although the room was quite cold at night (thin windows and poor insulation) and the breakfast could be improved.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Laurakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Laurakoo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

However your time would have been better spent turning on the thermostatically controlled valve attached to your radiator. Our heating has been on since the 3rd week in September
and has been in good working order since then.

It has been a common theme amongst reviewers to make their complaints on social media rather than inform the 24 hour reception. Is it because people today live their lives in a virtual world where reality has been taken over by screens?

My advice to you all is to complain at the time to the receptionist if you would like instant gratification rather than be a moaning mini on social media. You may not be an internet sensation but at least your room will be warm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Located just a couple of blocks from Paddington train station, this hotel is nicely appointed and comfortable. It’s affordable, for London, and the staff was kind enough to allow us to change rooms because a large group checked in before us and they were being very loud. Once we moved to a different room, on the first floor, we were very comfortable for 4 nights. They also recommended an amazing restaurant for our last evening! Breakfast is included, and is a great start to the day. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel as a great value for the lower cost.

Room tip: The first floor seems to have the biggest windows, and the ceilings were a bit higher.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DevonSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Devon S,

Thank you for posting your review whereby you recommend us as great value. We are in a lovely location and our staff are happy to help in the event of anything that may arise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent trip to London. Hotel was in a great location close to tube and rail stations, unfortunately this is about as good a point as I can put on it. The rooms were very small and whilst this is ok for a central location the beds were very uncomfortable nothing some new mattresses wouldn’t fix. The worst thing was the shower in the particular room I stayed in was terrible hardly worked at all very disappointing.
Then myself and my sons had same experience went down stairs to bar to get a drink ordered drink gave over cash then got told it was 4.50 gave 5 pound sorry no change and staff walked off, this also happened to my sons when they went to bar at a separate time surely they should carry some cash somewhere in hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank boycie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Boycie 13,

Thank you for your thoughts following your recent visit.

I can't pretend that it's music to my ears because there are certain aspects that I've never heard before. Your comments regarding the staff having no change and walking off does not sound like the usual behaviour of our staff.
If this is the case we apologise and would appreciate it if you get in touch so that I can follow this up.

The other complaints could have been dealt with if you had mentioned it to reception. We have an on-site maintenance team that can fix most faults on the spot. In addition we have Superior rooms that are a little larger for those guests that require more space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

This hotel is conveniently located within a short walk of Paddington station,Hyde Park,underground stations and plenty of shops and restaurants.
The included breakfast is more than ample and the staff is friendly.
I'd stay again,but would request a better room. Mine was on the ground floor with a view of the air shaft,and I learned quickly to keep the window closed overnight,as the kitchen exhaust fan was 10 feet away,which blew greasy fumes into the room early in the morning.
It would be very uncomfortable in the summer because of this,but I managed alright as it was October.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for your thoughts following your recent visit. We have a variety of rooms that may be considered each with a different rate. From Junior suites, superior rooms and standard rooms. There are rooms at the front or the back of the hotel.

All our guests can request their preferred room types. The main thing is that the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Upon check in ran into an error i had made in my booking, and Kate simply helped us solve it and make it accommodating to our needs which was very refreshing for a business to be able to do.
Kate, Jenny and everyone up front was so helpful and friendly. We frequented the bar to share stories or gather suggestions for our travels through London and we always got what we needed
The staff downstairs for breakfast was very enjoyable as well. The staff is very strong here and i hope they are well taken care of and appreciated in return. They work hard on creating the guest experience ive enjoyed! Would love to return

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank src707bvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Dear Src,

The girls have an idea who you are and are bubbling with excitement at seeing their names published in such a positive manner.

Thank you for your kind words and we would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews