We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked this hotel not knowing what to expect as the price paid was very reasonable compared to some London hotels .We were pleasantly surprised. Very clean, excellent service from all the staff which we encountered , decent breakfast, beds changed every day, drinks in the hotel pub/bar were very reasonably priced . Would definately visit this hotel again .

Room Tip: Rooms slightly noisy at night due to traffic if you have a room on the front - but this was not bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,194 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

I was travelling by myself while staying at this hotel, waiting to join a Contiki tour. This hotel was fine. The reception staff were okay, but not the friendliest. The breakfast was edible, but not great. The room was clean, but small. It had a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The sheets and bath towels were clean. It is conveniently located, directly across from the lovely Russell square and there is the underground just around the corner that runs the Piccadilly line. Some rooms face over Russell Square, mine faced inwards towards other buildings, which was okay - it did make it feel like the stereotypical London. There is a nice restaurant down the street on the corner if you turn right out of the reception and walk the block over past the Royal National. The restaurant at the hotel is not the greatest, but average. There is free wifi in the coffee bar, but not in the rooms. In all, the hotel was satisfactory. I might stay here again based on location and convenience, but I'm sure there are other hotels in the area far better than this.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Russell Square are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexandraAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

rather than a hotel this is more akin to a hostel for adults of a similar standard to butlins in 1975 without the fun
I imagine that the main customers are tourist coach passengers from places that wouldnt know better and builders taking temporary digs mid contract at far less than the rack rates, the breakfast is a woeful presentation of under over luke warm cheap foodstuffs that the catering corp would take umbrage at.
beds are particularly cheap and nasty with sheets and blankets that seemed clean to be fair but undersized
Decor stalinist in essence with a circa 12" tv , single glazed windows [ dont take the rooms with a view as these are next to southampton row which a very busy road] no repairs to the ceiling where there had been an old leak , the bath has the painted gloss side panels and shower curtain , no granite glass or marble here
location is excellent and there are lots of other hotels in the same location far better at these rates.
Staff are from far flung parts of the world obviously chosen as the cheapest option rather than the best and it adds up to an environment that you should not feel safe in.

For a precursor of what to expect see the standard of the adjacent casino !
and finally this hotel is part of a group in the area and this is probably the best or least worst of them all , , ye gods

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ouihotpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My party booked in for a long week end, theatre break. Ideal location for the West End, room was clean and well serviced. Lots of traffic noise from the main junction outside our room, breakfast was good as was the reasonably priced meals to be had in the bar. Pity about the reception staff , as I had previously arranged for them to arrange for a taxi which never arrived.When I spoke to them about this I was told that there was no one available and that I would have to hail one myself. This as you can image was no great chore, however we nearly missed our train at Kings Cross because none of the reception staff told me of the situation.

Room Tip: Avoid room 514 if you do not like traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

If anyone out there is remotely interested in beautiful architecture please seek out a picture of the original hotel that stood here before they knocked it down and built this monstrosity, it will make you weep.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Les j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#503 of 1,076 in London
3,688 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#571 of 1,076 in London
2,717 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#463 of 1,076 in London
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#397 of 1,076 in London
2,212 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#877 of 1,076 in London
8,336 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#364 of 1,076 in London
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range: €100 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing