We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place but needs a bit of a revamp”
Review of Hendon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hendon Hall Hotel
Ranked #463 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Comfortable rooms but a bit dusty. Very slow service in restaurant- we waited over 45 minutes for 2 starters of terrine and goats cheese so didn't even need cooking! However after we pointed this out things sped up well! Food was good quality! Wine over priced!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your recent review, I was disappointed to read your comments about the slowness of the starters, this is far to long to wait. However I am glad that you pointed this out and the service improved. The price of wines varies and we do try to have a good selection at various prices. Kind regards Matthew Moffatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 536 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here last night was a great location for us being close to my husbands work. Staff friendly room lovely and clean dinner and breakfast was very tasty. One thing about this hotel is that when people in room next door shower sounds like horrendous road works right outside your window not good!
All in all good clean hotel and value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bungles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to read that you found all the staff friendly and that the food was enjoyable. I am sorry to read however about the noise from an adjacent room, the sound proofing in the majority of the rooms is excellent however from time to time we do get this comment, we would of course allocate another room if it was disturbing you. Am sorry that it may have taken away some the enjoyment you may have had. Kind regards Matthew Moffatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

A very nice hotel, in a prestigious part of London! Bit out of the way if you want to use it as a base for London but ideal if you need to be in Hendon!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to read that you are able to relax and enjoy your stay and we are able to make it feel like home. Breakfast is also such an important meal and I am pleased that you enjoy that too. Kind regards Matthew Moffatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

As always I enjoy staying in this pleasant hotel with its quite location very easy to unwind after a busy day and easy to get onto the free wifi to catch up on business emails. The staff are always very helpful and make me feel the hotel is almost a home from home obliging in making my necessary arrangements to dine locally etc. they serve a very heartful breakfast enjoyable to start any day

Room Tip: Rooms on back of hotel very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

I was delighted to read your recent review of the hotel and pleased that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the food. Your comments with regards to the sauce are very important and I agree the chef makes lovely sauces that accompany many of his dishes; he did take note of your comment and will review how much he puts on the plate in future. With regards to coffee in the morning this must be perfect, I can assure you this is close to my heart and the Restaurant team are fully aware of the importance of good hot coffee, I am sorry that we did not deliver this to you. Thank you for the review, we use your comments very constructively. Regards Matthew Moffatt General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I visited this hotel following treatment at the British Hernia Centre, which is just down the road. The BHC recommend the Holiday Inn Brent Cross for the night of your operation, but this hotel is a great alternative option, being close by and having a good relaxed atmosphere. I booked our room a few days before at a bargain rate of £99.00, B&B and we also had a two course dinner in the restaurant for £23 a head, from their economical Market Menu.

I can find little or nothing to complain about. Our twin room was compact, but still had space for a small round table and three chairs and full size bathroom (bath & shower). The hotel don't charge extra for room service, which is welcome.

Our dinner was fine. Small portions, but I didn't have much appetite anyway! One comment for the chef about the sea trout. If you make a delicious sauce, why dribble a tiny amount on to the plate and leave the trout, broccoli and mashed sweet potato dry?

Breakfast was good - there are a wide range of hot options to order and an ample buffet.Although the menu promised homemade jam and honeycomb honey but this seemed to be absent. The coffee also could be improved - it wasn't particularly hot and was obviously made in bulk. Why not provide guests with their own cafetiere?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review of Hendon Hall Hotel; I was delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay. With regards to the breakfast offering there should always be home made jam and Honeycomb, I am very sorry that they were not available, I have spoken to the Head Chef and he will ensure this does not happen again. Regards Matthew Moffatt General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express London - Golders Green North
1.5 km away
The Hide London
The Hide London
#52 of 1,076 in London
966 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn London Hendon (The Hyde) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Best Western Palm Hotel
Best Western Palm Hotel
#531 of 1,076 in London
822 reviews
1.8 km away
Travelodge London Finchley Hotel
9.9 km away
Hotel 55
Hotel 55
#414 of 1,076 in London
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendon Hall Hotel

Address: Ashley Lane | Hendon, London NW4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in London
#230 Romantic Hotel in London
#277 Family Hotel in London
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: €86 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendon Hall Hotel in North London is ideal for a relaxing stay in a beautiful mansion with terraced gardens, yet with easy access to the West End and central London. With a large free car park, the hotel is easily accessible from the A1 and M1. Hendon Hall offers 57 bedrooms - a mixture of classic, executive and junior suites all of which were refurbished in 2010 to a high standard.The property offers the self-contained Pembroke Suite, a function space with its own entrance, reception area and bar that can cater for up to 200 guests. The Pembroke is ideal for weddings, celebrations or business meetings and events. Hendon Hall is home to the 2 Rosette fine dining Garrick Restaurant and serves afternoon teas in its lounges or outside gardens as a speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hendon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hendon Hall London
Hendon Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing