We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of The Marylebone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marylebone
Ranked #64 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have stayed in many hotels on business, both in and outside of London. It is rare to see a team of people who genuinely enjoy their jobs and genuinely care about guests' experience during their stay. I could find nothing negative to say about anyone who worked there - in my experience they went over and above their duties to make the stay an extremely pleasant one. Thank you to all the lovely people at the hotel who made it feel like a proper holiday. I came away feeling pampered and felt like my money was well spent. I would definitely stay here again and have already been raving about the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments about our team, every one of our employee absolutely love looking after our guests and enjoy being part of our guests’ experiences. Your kind feedback will be shared and I know it will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about us, it will be wonderful to personally welcome you back to the Marylebone Hotel and I hope to meet you when you return.

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,443
    827
    195
    42
    31
See reviews for
647
1,305
192
891
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Chose this hotel for a last minute surprise visit for 3 nights in London for my birthday. My daughter phoned ahead to request a room upgrade which they said they would do. Due to flight delay we arrived an hour after check in and was told our superior double room wasn't ready, but after searching their system and intervention by the asst. manageress we were allocated one of the "best" room. Was a tiny bit disappointed in the room, it was rather plain, in comparison to the reception/lounge/seating areas in the rest of the hotel. The room was very clean, with a comfy bed, two chairs and a desk with chair. More than adequate for us. Bathroom was quite small, but plenty soft fluffy towels and lots of hot water.
Was delighted on our return from seeing "Wicked" later that evening to find a bottle of wine, fruit bowl, a flask of hot raspberry tea and two small chocolate cakes, compliments of the hotel for my birthday. There were also 2 bottles of water left for us each day.
The hotel is ideally located for shopping, restaurants bars etc. Marylebone High Street is a street away, Oxford Street 5 mins walk and not much further to Bond Street Tube Station.
Unfortunately my daughter took ill on our last day. The Manager, Nadia was extremely understanding and helpful, allowing us to stay on in our room beyond the noon check out time, until late evening at no extra charge, before we had to leave for our flight back to Edinburgh. We did not get the opportunity to go to the pool/spa area, there is just to much to see and do. The only meal we ate at the hotel was one breakfast time which was rather pricey at £23 each, but there was a vast selection of hot and cold food to choose from. I would definately return to this hotel for its location alone.

Room Tip: Room 490 very quiet even though it was Mothers Day/St Patrick's Day week/end. Not a nice view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usafanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read that you were pleasantly surprised by the little treats we placed in your room to celebrate your birthday with us. We always believe that it is the tiny noticeable touches that turn a good stay into a great one and I am delighted that we were able to make your birthday a little more memorable. Thank you for mentioning Nadya’s helpfulness on departure, she is a true asset to our team and genuinely cares about our customers. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments. I also hope your daughter is feeling much better now.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about us, it will be wonderful to personally welcome you back to the Marylebone Hotel and I hope to meet you when you return.

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel, beautiful decor, a very tasty breakfast, offering everything on the menu from freshly made smoothies, figs and watermelon to pancakes, sausages and eggs with soliders! From the moment you walk into it, you feel the atmosphere of cosmopolitan London. (The aroma of Neom candles burning in the backround was so divine, that I could not resist purchasing one to bring home!) The staff are fabulous, are ever so helpful without being too imposing as they genuinely want to help you. You can also tell that they are well trained and it shows that they all love working within the Marylebone, they enjoy their roles, they are empowered to work their best efforts within this hotel. The hotels location is deal, just a 10 minute strole from Oxford St, the nearest Tube Station being Bond St. It is also located with a beautiful, stylish village called Marylebone which has very nice restaurants situated throughout. Am definitely returning to this hotel on my next visit to London - couldn't resist it!

Niamh O'Sullivan, Kildare, Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

I am absolutely thrilled to read your positive review, particularly the mention of the service you experienced from our team. We are very fortunate to have a team of employee’s who genuinely care and love going the extra mile for our customers and it is always incredibly rewarding when that is reflected in our guests’ comments. Being fairly new to the Marylebone area myself I couldn’t agree with you more! It has such a wonderful village feel and yet the accessibly to the City’s sights and sounds is only a stone throw away, it really is a brilliant area to visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about us, it will be wonderful to personally welcome you back to the Marylebone Hotel and I hope to meet you when you return.

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed for 5 nights and I'm glad I chose that hotel! The location is perfect! You can walk to all the major streets in London for shopping, food and drinks. You have access to all transportation (metro, bus, taxi etc). The Marylebone High street is a wonderful street to walk providing everything you may need. The hotel is clean, quiet, comfortable rooms and with free access to wi-fi which was very useful to me (and everyone I beleive). The staff was very polite and helpful and the concierge responded perfectly to everything we wanted. Breakfast was pretty good and the smile of the staff there was the best way to start your day. I also enjoyed the bar - it is located in a different level of the hotel and because it has a street view away from the rest of the hotel, it gives you the impression that you are in a bar apart from the hotel (practically it makes want to stay in the hotel longer).
If I had to say something negative about my experience at the Marylebone that would be : 1) a smell of fryed food (on my floor at least - 4th) which was coming from the kitchen of the hotel and was there all day long and 2) I would deeply appreciate a little better cleaning of the toilet in my room (of course it was acceptable and I was ok in general).
In conclusion, I will definitely suggest this hotel to anyone and the next time that I will visit London I will stay there again!
Thank you Marylebone for making my vacations even better!
Food tip : if you want to eat fish&chips, one of the best places is just across the bar of the hotel (sorry, i can't remember the name).

Room Tip: I stayed at room 452 wich was at the back of the hotel, next to the stairs and the fire escape door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LamprosX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly pleased that you felt that our team responded perfectly to your requests. It is incredibly important to us that our team engages every one of our guests with genuine hospitality and play their part in our guests’ experiences. Thank you for letting me know about the odor of cooking food and the cleaning of your bathroom. Our aim is to makes sure your stay is perfect in every way so I can assure you I will look into these two areas, which I am confidant we can resolve quickly.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about us, it will be wonderful to personally welcome you back to the Marylebone Hotel and I hope to meet you when you return.

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Was booked here by client. so had no expectations. About 10 mins from Paddington Heathrow Express by taxi. Check in was efficient and friendly. All public areas seemed to be soaked in aromatherapy, so watch out for your senses.

Room was good (not large but well planned). Bathrooms were very modern but a trite small (what we call a 1/2 tub). Staff were all foreigners but very helpful. Nice little touch was a GBP 5 upgrade from standard to full English breakfast.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms seem to be located miles from the lift bank
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtoileBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

I am pleased to read that we managed to surprise you positively whilst in our hospitality! We firmly believe that friendly, helpful and professional employees who genuinely care about our customers form the foundation of our service offering and it is always great to read when it positively impacts our guests’ experiences. The contemporary feel of the hotel does indeed flow through from the public areas into our bedrooms and bathrooms and our design team looked carefully at optimizing space, functionality and aesthetics during the recent renovations.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about us, it will be wonderful to personally welcome you back to the Marylebone Hotel and I hope to meet you when you return.

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#25 of 1,069 in London
516 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#24 of 1,069 in London
315 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#183 of 1,069 in London
1,961 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,249 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#22 of 1,069 in London
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone

Property: The Marylebone
Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in London
#27 Spa Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#61 Luxury Hotel in London
#67 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of the finest hotels in London, The Marylebone is a haven of understated and contemporary luxury that turns even the briefest of stays into a genuine pleasure. Located five minutes walk from Bond Street Station in the heart of the fashionable Marylebone Village, the hotel offers a variety of guest rooms that are light filled with Italian marble bathrooms and contemporary furnishings. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and still and sparkling water. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to London's trendiest health club, The Third Space, with a fully equipped gym, 18m swimming pool, daily fitness classes and spa with a range of treatments from Dr. Murad. A variety of meeting and private dining rooms are available for social occasions and business events. The vibrant 108 Brasserie and 108 Pantry, combine bar and restaurant to provide chic all-day dining offering simple British dishes made from the finest locally sourced ingredients. Be sure and try a super healthy juice or smoothie from The Juicery at The Doyle Collection, also available across the three London hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Marylebone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London
The Marylebone London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing