We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #601 of 1,064 Hotels in London
new england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cromwell for a week during our honeymoon. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay there. It was comfortable, convenient, fairly quiet, the staff were great, and the wifi is free (if a bit spotty). It's a short walk from Kensington Gardens as well as several museums (Science, Natural History, and Victoria & Albert). Plus, it's steps away from the Gloucester Road station, which is on three Underground lines.

We had two qualms. First, the shower stall didn't have a door and the rain-style shower head sprayed water all over, leaving the bathroom soaked after every use. Not fun. But our second, bigger qualm was with the breakfast. It was fine, but fairly bland and the exact same selection every day. After a few days, it was incredibly tedious, and after a week, we dreaded it. It was included in our room rate so we took advantage, but under no circumstances should anyone pay for the in-hotel breakfast. They were charging 10 pounds for cold breakfast and 13 for hot--a ridiculous rate, given that there were lovely cafes within a couple of blocks that offered much better food for half the price or better. In the end, we would rather have gone without the included breakfast in favor of the neighborhood's many breakfast offerings.

All in all, though, we'd recommend it for sure. Just don't pay extra for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S4496NQamyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us, I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable visit and found our central location perfect for your needs.

I have past on your comments to the maintenance and breakfast team to review. At The Cromwell we offer a full English buffet breakfast selection which offers a variety of hot and cold items. I am sorry that these did not meet with your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    541
    280
    141
    72
See reviews for
168
606
84
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Excellent location, just one-half block from Gloucester Rd tube station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was located downstairs (below the ground floor) but it was not a problem for us, since we just closed the drapes. Our friends' room was on the 3rd floor and had a tiny balcony with a charming view over the garden. Both rooms were smallish, which is typical, but comfortable. Always appreciate a wifi that works, this one was intermittent. Simple but nice breakfast. We booked this hotel through Europeandestinations.com and got an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am extremely happy to hear you had a good stay with us, and that you found our location ideal. We look forward to having you at the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I needed to place to stay in London on a 24 hour layover, so I figured instead of staying out by the airport I would enjoy a night in the city. I picked this hotel since it's in a neighborhood with plenty of food and walking options, and it's on the Piccadilly line to Heathrow. The hotel was extremely modern, clean and pleasant, and the room was small, but not ridiculous by European standards. All amenities were up to snuff. Tons of places to eat within walking distance, and only a 3 minute walk from the Tube. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyrewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay with us. It is really nice to receive feedback from our guests and I will pass this on to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stay in this area every year and know most of the hotels nearby. Essentially the advantage of this one was that for what you were paying elsewhere you were also getting free breakfast and wifi. The location opposite the supermarket and near the tube station is perfect. The hotel is obviously newly refurbished and the room and bathroom were spotless. The room is a little small but once you are not staying there more than a few days and without lots of luggage it's fine.The bed is comfortable. Despite overlooking that busy street I was not disturbed by traffic noise. The breakfast is good and the staff helpful. My gripe is that when I was there the wifi was verrrrrrrrry slow to not working. They gave me a network cable and once plugged in all was well. Bottom line - I'd stay there again but would walk with a 10 ft network cable and not use the 2 ft thing they provide. Or maybe they'll get the wifi fixed by then ?!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding you recent stay with us.

Unfortunately our Wi-Fi has been giving us a few more grey hairs than usual! We are working closely alongside our IT Consultant and internet provider to improve this area.

Our location is perfect for both the business and leisure traveller. With excellent transport links and local attractions on our doorstep.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Nice, clean and very closed to the Tube.

Strategic position and nice zone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments about our wonderful location.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

KInd Regards,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#364 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#418 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#494 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#352 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Property: Best Western The Cromwell
Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #601 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western The Cromwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing