We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
397
112
55
53
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
112
55
53
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscardinal suitesignature suitefulham roadsouth kensingtonwedding nightrestaurant downstairsromantic weekendquiet neighborhoodthe general managerafternoon teacontinental breakfasta lovely staysingle roomluxurychelseamirrorbasement
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The hotel is very nice. The room was a decent size and very nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable and the TV was new and a decent size. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was good even though a bit expensive. The rooms have free wifi and the gym was small but adequate (with free bottles of water and sports/energy drinks). The one downside was the bathroom which was chic and trendy but not convenient. There is no shower. The bathroom has a rain shower in the middle of a claw-foot tub with a shower curtain that you can draw around you (in a circle in the middle of the tub). The space for the "shower" was small and it was hard to stop water from splashing everywhere outside the tub. That being said, the Molton Brown products in the bathroom were very nice and everything else about the room was good. I would stay here again and would recommend staying if you're looking for a chic, boutique hotel experience. It is about a 10-15 minute walk from the South Kensington Underground station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Director of Sales at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Valeri004,
Thank you for visiting Blakes and taking the time to write about your experience! We're glad you had the time to try our brand new gym and also dine in Blakes Restaurant. Our rooms were designed by Anoushka Hempel and the B&O TVs with the full Sky package mean you can relax and watch a movie in comfort!
We hope you return to Blakes again soon in the near future and please feel free to contact me to arrange your next stay.
Cataline Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

stayed here in a directors double room at the weekend, we had a room with a huge roll top bath, was lovely just to soak, bathroom has nice molton brown tolitries,the bed was so comfy and proper sheets and blankets not duvets, we liked the quirkiness of the hotel, staff were very pleasent and helpful had breakfast in resturant following morning there was plenty of choice on the menu something for everyone coffee and tea was hot and fresh no complaints .....i would say the hotel is a higher end 4* difiantly not a 5* we did not hear any building work going on at all in fact did not even see any .....and it was a pleasent change to have an actual key for your door and not a swipe card! i did like the different electrical sockets hidden in the draw so you would have no need to bring adaptors from over seas....i had got a good rate from travel zoo for the night £199 which i think was a fair price i would not have paid any more for the room ....the area is nice lots of cafes, resturants pubs etc , we would come back again to this hotel as a treat for a night in london if i found a simlar price or deal ....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seska1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Director of Sales at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Seska1,
We're delighted that you came to stay at Blakes and enjoyed our super comfortable beds and frette linens! We also love the fact that we have room keys instead of plastic cards - it gives it a much more 'homely' feel. We're very lucky to be in such a terrific location in the heart of South Kensington. Blakes is certainly an eclectic boutique hotel - they broke the mould when they made us! We hope you can come back in the near future and become one of our many valued repeat guests.
Kindest regards
Cataline Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Maybe not the best hotel in London but certainly the place to be if you are looking for a different experience. Location unique, food is outstanding, service very familiar and certainly a place where things are going on constantly, tried it once and going back constantly, it just is the place to be in the capital city of England.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Director of Sales at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Anamack,
Thank you for your review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the delicious pan-asian food in Blakes Restaurant! We're very proud of the fact that the hotel is such a quirky and unique property. Blakes is located in Kensington which is a beautiful part of London with lots of great things to see and do as well as being well located for public transport. We hope to see you back at Blakes again soon!
Cataline Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary & the room is beautiful .... we booked under the travelzoo offer of £ 298 suite with cont.breakfast & glass of champagne on arrival so very good value - if we had paid the true price then obviously it would have been much more - we had dinner in the restaurant which was nice but not outstanding I have to say and it was very empty on a monday night.
But a lovely change from the usual dreary london hotel rooms !

Room Tip: look at the rooms on the website - I chose the one we wanted & the hotel honored it
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSeeker002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Director of Sales at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear SunSeeker,
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! We so pleased that you chose to celebrate such a special event at Blakes. All of our rooms are individually designed by Anoushka Hempel and we're glad you enjoyed the Cardinal Suite - there's certainly nowhere else like it in London!
We hope you come again soon and get to experience some of our other stunning suites.
Kindest regards
Cataline Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at Blakes Hotel on 11/8/2011 for one night as a treat without the children. It is a very elegant and quiet hotel in a lovely peaceful location. We had high hopes when we were placed in a Director's Double which was a spacious room with a large bathroom. My only complaint about the room would be the incredibly creaky floorboards (no rugs or carpet). We had dinner outside the hotel so cannot comment on the hotel cuisine. We came back looking forward to a good night's sleep in the very comfortable bed. Alas it was not to be! At about 1.00 a.m. we were both awoken by the unmistable noise of workmen doing DIY!! We could not believe it and phoned Reception, who were very apologetic and admitted there was some work going on but would try to make sure it did not disturb us. At 1.30 a.m. the noise unabated we again rang through to Reception. The staff offered to move us straight away to a quieter part of the hotel. So a quick pack up of our things and we moved to another room at the front of the hotel. This room was admittedly even better than the previous one, however, we were somewhat frazzled to truly enjoy it's splendour! (Also this room had carpet so the floorboards did not creak and groan). We slept well for the rest of the night and were not disturbed by any road noise. We appreciated Blakes for sorting out the problem for us but disappointing that guests should be woken up by this type of noise at 1.00 a.m. We had breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, we had the continental and it was fine. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I am sure that what happened to us was probably a one off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Director of Sales at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Jay,
Firstly, thank you for visiting Blakes and taking the time to write your review. All of our guest feedback is critical to us so we appreciate this!
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay although I'm sorry you didn't like the floorboards in your original room! Blakes Hotel is coverted from listed townhouses and some of the rooms feature the original wood floorboards. Some of the boards do creak although we like to think this adds to the charm!
Regretfully, we had to carry out some urgent maintenance during your stay. We're so sorry that this disturbed you and it certainly was a one off as it was due to an annual servicing of an engineering system that couldn't be avoided. Happily, your new room was quieter and more to your liking! Overall, we're very happy that your stay was enjoyable and we do hope you return. Please contact me directly if you would like to make a repeat booking and we'll be delighted to welcome you back.
Many thanks
Cataline Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews