We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Olympia
Ranked #692 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed overnight following a trip to the Ideal Home exhibition at nearby Earl's Court. The check in etc was seamless, room well prepared and spacious. It is well located between Earls Court and Westfields shopping centre. We were room only, breakfast is £17 each or £12 each if staying over. Had it before on a previous stay, nice but not worth that much. It was a nice morning when we got up - went over the road to Frank's cafe/Sarnie bar and was happy enough with an egg and sausage sandwich, two coffee's for about £6.50. After a meal the night before, we did not need any more, let alone a full buffet! Talking of which, the Indian restaurant next door but one to Franks was very good - no drinks licence but an offlicence is next door.
only propblem at this time is the building work going on opposite - will be going on for a while so ask for a room around the back if it is possible

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back while building work is going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com.
I was delighted to learn that you found our unrivalled location an ideal base for your trip to West London.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.
Happy travelling! Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,329 - 2,333 of 2,687 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Booked in for 7 nights at the Hilton Olympia as I was attending a conference at Olympia. Overall, I found it to be a very clean, comfortable hotel with a few minor issues that take the shine off its 4 stars. The lobby is modern, and the reception staff were pleasant enough (not overly friendly, but not offensive either). And yes, the lifts are on the smaller side, however I have been in some European hotels that have only a single, smaller lift so therefore didn't find this to be an issue.

I had been booked into an executive room on the 5th floor, which was reasonable in size but on the smaller side of the scale when compared to other executive rooms I've stayed in at other hotels. I believe my room had been renovated as some aspects of it appeared modern (lighting, carpeting, soft-furnishings), however there were other aspects which seemed dated (eg, the timber veneer furnishings, chipped/flaking woodwork on the bathroom door, patchy tile work in the bathroom). The bed was on the firm side (which I like) however I was expecting a king-size which is standard in most executive rooms, but was provided with a queen-size. The room faced onto Kensington High Street so there was some traffic noise and noise from the construction site across the road, but on the same level as I've experienced in any other inner-city or main-street hotel. Echoing what other reviewers have said, the bathroom ceiling is low and the shower positioned above the bath which makes it awkward for showering when you're near 6 feet tall, however the shower head is adjustable. My main gripe with the room was that the traditional bar-fridge has been replaced with an automated vending-machine style fridge. This means that guests are unable to use the fridge for storing any of their own food or drinks in the room. Apparently this has been done "for your convenience", but obviously it's purely for the convenience of the hotel management (and their revenue lines), as it offers no real convenience for guests.

Breakfast was served either in the main restaurant or the executive lounge, but at an additional £12, I thought it to be a bit on the steep side. I found the main restaurant had a better selection so opted to eat there most mornings. The executive lounge was quiet and comfortable and offered a good range of canapés and drinks plus a couple of computers with internet and printer access. I was however frustrated to find that guests in the executive lounge were provided with free wifi throughout the hotel (including in their rooms), having paid an additional £79 for a week's (flaky) access. It would have been nice if reception had mentioned this when I had specifically asked about wifi access on check-in. A final positive point is that the concierge will arrange a car to take you to the airport on check-out for £38 - almost half the price of a black taxi to Heathrow.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Olympia and would stay there again... if work is paying for it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weetbix75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RFinn, Manager at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your detailed review. All comments about our hotel, good & not so good are invaluable to us. Without this feedback we are weaker in our quest to provide consistent excellent hospitality, care & service.
I just wanted to note on your remark in regard to the lift and room size. The Hilton London Olympia has been a hotel since 1967 with the building having been constructed in the late 1950's. Indeed, the lifts are smaller than modern buildings becaus this is the ize the lift shafts were built back in those days. The same applies to the size of the bedrooms, where in some we are unable to fit a king-size bed as it would be too large for the room.
Here at the hotel we feel that what we lack in comparison to these newly-built, contemporary hotels, we certainly make-up for in character and service.
Also, in regard to the mini-bar offering, we have indeed replaced the out-dated fridges in the rooms with a new European vending-style fridge. The convenience we offer to our guests is the provision of chilled drinks and snacks in the bedroom to save you bringing your own or having to call room service. You are correct that there is no space for your own personal item, however the majority of our guests do not tend to bring their own provisions to a hotel.
Once again, thank you for your input and happy travelling.
Richard, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank BennyBonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank G4653FFalbertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragos-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gamuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragos-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Kensington
#508 of 1,077 in London
4,356 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#619 of 1,077 in London
249 reviews
Hand and Flower Hotel
#519 of 1,077 in London
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Paul's Hotel
#71 of 1,077 in London
531 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#426 of 1,077 in London
3,857 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Olympia

Address: 380 Kensington High Street, London W14 8NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#380 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: €97 - €308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Olympia 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton London Olympia hotel on bustling Kensington High Street, 2 minute' walk from Olympia Exhibition Centre, 10-15 minutes from Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Westfield London Shopping Centre. Try our quintessentially British menu in our fabulous interior designed Society Restaurant inspired by the Victorian era or relex and enjoy our delicious cocktails and nibbles in Society Bar. Do business in one of our 10 newly refurbished meeting rooms, unwind in the fitness centre, or enjoy our COSTA coffee shop. Heathrow airport is 14 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Olympia Hotel London
Hilton Olympia London
London Hilton Olympia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing