We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Farringdon
Ranked #871 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Birmingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel. Room was basic but clean and the bed was comfy. Wish there had been way of turning heating down though, as it was too warm. We had breakfast but would not do so next time we stayed at a travelodge. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I would say that the hotel is further than the 1/5 mile that were on our directions. It is about 10 - 15 mins away from the nearest tube station, Kings Cross.

Room Tip: If you want a no frills, basic hotel, this is for you. I think for a little more money you could get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    450
    651
    423
    534
See reviews for
310
834
192
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent location. Excellent breakfast. Rooms could do with a lick of paint. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathmacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

First the good point. It's in a good spot near some good eateries and not touristy.
Unfortunately I have not got any good points. Staff never on the reception desk, always in the back office. The triple room was tiny and very noisy (we had asked for a quiet room), the bathroom was probably the same size as in a tourer caravan and really need a good clean and updating. The tiles around the bath were grubby and the grouting was black in some areas.
The pillows were next to useless. Half the draws were broken and one plug was dangerous. We had 2 towels between three of us. I could go on! What I would say is considering we are hosting the Olympics this year and will have visitors from around the world, I would have thought that Travelodge would have invested money on an upgrade. Sadly they have not and I do hope that people DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I paid £12 for a double room in the Travelodge sale and if I had paid full price I would be gutted. At the time of booking I thought I had managed to bag an amazing bargain, but now I think the price I paid was about right.

The room was adequate but unwelcoming and shabby. On the plus side the bedding was clean and there was plentiful hot water. The bathroom was dated but generally clean, although the toilet bowl was cracked and the hooks on the back of the door were broken. The room was very small with the double bed pushed right up against the wall on two sides. The mattress was very soft and there was a fag-burn on the duvet. The pillows were wafer thin and when we asked for more we were told there weren't any. The lighting was peculiar; it was all-or-nothing so any hopes of reading in bed evaporated. The remote control for the TV didn't work. The traffic noise, even with double glazing, was very loud.

The location of the hotel was absolutely fine for the price. Kings Cross is only a short walk away, or about £6 in a taxi if you have a lot of bags, and the walk felt safe. There aren't many restaurants in the immediate vicinity but, as you're in central London, you would have to be severely lacking in imagination not to be able to find somewhere.

Overall, it is clear that this hotel is a relatively recent acquisition and is certainly not up to the usual Travelodge standard. I was quite surprised that Travelodge seem happy to put their name to this hotel as it has certainly undermined my confidence in the brand.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyhatespets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Drab exterior. Easy self-service check in. I'd pre-booked a £25 single room. Everywhere was clean. Room 313 was fine in the sense that it was clean, but suffered from traffic noise. The fittings were shabby and the flat TV was bizarrely square rather than wide screen. It had tea and coffee in the room. For what I paid it had everything I needed for a one night business stop over at a bargain price. The breakfast was about £7+ and was all you can eat cereal, egg, bacon, yogurt, toast, hot drinks including latte, capuchino etc included. Only disappointment was the croissants were dry and I couldn't eat it. The room itself was cheerless and felt institutional.
If you paid a lot more you would be disappointed. Time for a total refurbishment of this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalcoachtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#527 of 1,088 in London
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Farringdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Farringdon

Property: Travelodge London Farringdon
Address: 10-42 King's Cross Road | between King's Cross and Farringdon stations, London WC1X 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #871 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Farringdon 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated close to King's Cross Station & a short drive from West End, British Museum & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge London Farringdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Farringdon Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing