We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and perfect for my needs”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #706 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Now that I have moved out of London I needed a base for the occasions when I have to stay over in London. I think the Americana is going to be the perfectly placed for me as I will be able to walk to Lords for the cricket or take a short cab ride to a theatre, galley or any of the museums that I want to visit.

The beds are comfortable and although my room was on the small side it was prefect for my needs. There was no tray in the room but this was amply compensated for by the free coffee service in the lounge and the fresh ground espresso was a step up on the instant that hotels leave in their bedrooms. The rooms were clean and tidy and I much appreciated the huge bath sheets that are provided instead of the normal bath towel. It was a pity that it was let down by the staining on the carpet that smelt as though it had been recently cleaned and the poor state of the laminate on the bedroom door.

The breakfast buffet had a good selection and the lady who takes charge there made me feel most welcome. The staff at the reception were most helpful and nothing was too much for them. They were able to give me good directions and even checked the rail time table to help me on my way home. I found all the staff there to be service minded and from my experience that is a rare thing these days.

I will certainly be staying again and can recommend this small gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusterGray30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Americana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a bit of travel fiasco on the morning of our trip, so the Americana Hotel was booked last-minute. Yes, we had a roof over our heads, but it was definitely less than our expectations. I'm not sure the carpet throughout the hotel has ever been cleaned. The laminate is peeling off every door I saw. "Making the bed" consisted of pulling the duvet cover up toward the head of the bed; we know this because we found my boyfriend's t-shirt folded up in the bed when we got home that night. The bathroom seemed clean when we arrived, but given the otherwise little attention paid to the rest of the room, we're not sure it was actually cleaned while we were there. I understand "it's London" and rooms are going to be small, but we didn't even have the room to put our suitcases and open cabinet doors and navigate around the bed - it was one or the other. The safe in the room was broken, and instead of trying to fix it, the manager at the desk preferred to just change our room. In fact, the desk staff was less than helpful throughout our stay. Only one of them is a native English speaker (in the home of the English language), and communication is definitely not their forte. The hotel does offer a nice breakfast, but that is pretty much the only positive thing I have to say about this place. Do yourself a favor - pay a little more and stay at a more acceptable hotel with better standards of cleanliness and better attitudes by the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here as the usual venues were full and there is a limited budget for expenses. Rather tired and shabby room but clean and comfortable bed and en suite. Breakfast fine and for central London a bargain. Staff were also very friendly

Room Tip: Had a room at the back on the ground floor which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here with my sister for a three day trip to Lindon. The staff were very helpful and although the hotel was sdmall by usual standards it was clean and tidy. Great location close to baker street and very resonabnly priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justliketetris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Due to train problems my wife and I were stranded in london overnight. Cabbie sent us to this hotel. Despite the late hour,0030 reception was manned and we were made very welcome. We had a basement room, small but adequate,and a very fine ensuite, and we could not fault it .The bed clean white bedding and very comfortable . At breakfast ,continental,. but plentiful food. Tea, coffee and chocolate were available all day plus some pastries. The staff were extremely helpful.The gentleman on reception,the owner i believe, was particularly helpful, and assisted my wife to make an international phone call at about 1am in the morning. Altogether we had a pleasant short stay and would not hesitate to stay there again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tortola15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#433 of 1,072 in London
678 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#583 of 1,072 in London
241 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#240 of 1,072 in London
246 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#597 of 1,072 in London
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 172 Gloucester Place | Regents Park, London NW1 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: €104 - €146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and thanks to our close proximity to Baker Street Underground Station guests staying at the Americana have easy access to London's business district as well as its many tourist attractions, shops and theatres. The Americana Hotel has a friendly welcoming atmosphere and our staff is available 24 hours per day to take care of your detailed requirements and maintain a safe environment during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing