We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #277 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 February 2012

You can walk everywhere , get high floor, lots of lightand quiet. Staff friendly. Breakfast not with 12 pounds unless you are frivolous, plenty of places nearby!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0shanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,327 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at the Citadines Trafalgar Square for nine nights over Christmas 2011. We had a great time, this was due to the outstanding customer service provided by the reception staff, a beautiful renovated studio apartment and of course the great location. We had stayed at the Citadines Trafalgar Square in 2009 and while we enjoyed the stay, the apartments were in need of renovation and the customer service wasn’t good. But this time around, they have ticketed all the boxes for us. Thank you to the staff at Citadines Trafalgar Square. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henrietta-Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stylish, though basic mini apartments in an excellent central location, for a very reasonable price. We were upgraded to a suite which had a cramped bedroom , and in many ways the studio apartments we saw appeared a better bet. There were renovations in the public areas which were disruptive, but these seemed as though they would be complete in a couple of weeks. The rooms were well maintained with very helpful staff and free and effective wireless internet. Our room was quiet, but only with the windows closed, not good for those who prefer fresh air to air conditioning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visiting-doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed for New Years Eve and had 3 apartments. They are fully re-furbished and we all thought they were lovely,clean and spacious.
The gentlemen on reception were polite, courteous and friendly, the coffee machine (free) in reception was a lovely touch, as is the free wi-fi
Our rooms were on the 5th floor, 4 sharing so we each had 1 double bedroom (overlooking Northumberland Ave) and a lounge / dining / kitchen area, the bedding was spotless and the twin sofa bed (already made up, just folded away). Both rooms had flat screens on the wall. The lounge area had a table and chairs so when we were in the kitchen we could chat etc to everybody..the kitchen had a microwave, 2hob halogen top, kettle, toaster and even a mini dishwasher (they even provide tablets and washing up liquid!)
A great location.. 2mins to Trafalgar Square one way, 2mins to the Thames the other..although we looked over the main street, the rooms were quiet. The pub next door is quaint and old-fashioned..worth a visit!
Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to re-book on our next visit to London..

Room Tip: High rooms are quieter, ask for a room at the back if you want it even quieter! Rooms on 6th floor h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We booked two nights at the Citadines Trafalgar Square through hotels.com. I made the reservation in the morning for an evening check-in the same day. I was a little worried when the front desk staff did not automatically have a record of my hotels.com reservation (which was prepaid). But after showing them the confirmation they proceeded to check us in.

The lobby was welcoming and stylish -- with the amenity of free wi-fi internet. It seemed the hotel was undergoing some major renovations and truthfully it was in need of them. The "aparthotel" we stayed in was a spacious one bedroom with very old furniture and worn down carpet. However, it was relatively clean and had everything we needed: a little kitchen area, a living room area, and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was also separate and accessible right from the entry way.

We had our toddler with us so having the separate bedroom was very convenient because we could put him to sleep in his portable crib in the bedroom while my wife and I were able to stay up and watch TV or work on our laptops in the living room area. There was no wi-fi internet in the room, but there was a free wired connection via ethernet. I simply hooked up my MacBook Pro to the ethernet and then "shared" the internet connection wirelessly -- setting up a mini wi-fi network in the room that we could use for internet access with our Blackberries and iPad.

The hotel is in a very convenient part of town. A short walk to the exciting Embankment tube station that allows you to connect to the whole city. We used the hotel as a base for our excursions and it was great to come home to in the evening. The price was probably too high given the outdated room we had and our boring view of the adjacent brick building, but hey it was central London in the summer time -- difficult to find anything reasonably priced.

Overall it was a positive stay. The hotel served its purpose for us but was not a luxury stay. The room layout and the hotel location were the two bright points.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank videohb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#174 of 1,076 in London
1,205 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: €161 - €354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing