We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”
Review of Vancouver Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vancouver Studios
Ranked #392 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were a party of 3 and had booked a room with foldout couch and were happily upgraded upon arrival to a massive 3 bedroom 2 bath with garden.The staff were all very friendly and helpful.The main part of the hotel decor is very cheery and had us peeking around all corners to see what was there. Our room was modern, clean and fresh, seemed to be recently updated. Location is fantastic, close to Paddington and the underground, incredible variety of restos nearby open late, And the area was quiet-lovely to come back to at the end of a long day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touringirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 281 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed at Vancouver Studios for five nights. Although you won't find a lot of frills at this little hotel, it's clean, quiet and well-managed. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Just a couple of blocks from Queensway, the location is very convenient. My room was definitely on the small side but I was comfortable enough.

One odd little thing was that there was towel rack in the bathroom. I thought that to be strange.

Anyway, at 92 GBP per night, I was very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: My room faced the courtyard. Although the view - or lack thereof - was a little depressing, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Vancouver Studios is one hotel that gives you more than what they promise. The location is great with many restaurants, fast food joints, cinemas (Odeon in Whiteleys), shopping mall (Whiteleys is 5 mins away) and lots of other shops like Boots, Superdrug, Footlocker, Ann Summers nearby. Bayswater road/Hyde Park is 350 metres away with many buses. Also Queenswater and Bayswater tube stations are 5 mins away.

The rooms are compact and adequately equipped with everything to make your stay very comfortable. The bed is very comfortable with lovely pillows and soft duvets. The linen is softly fragrant. This helps in giving you a relaxing sleep. The towels are soft and fluffy. Toiletries like soap, shampoo and bath gel are provided and are of good quality. The bathrooms are small and the shower cubicle is tiny (26" X 26"). But it was ok for me. A large person could have a problem.

The kitchenette is compact and fully equipped with a stove, fridge, microwave, pots n pans, crockery and cutlery, dishwashing soap and scrubber, etc. I found the kitchenette very convenient and this was my main reason for choosing this hotel. There are many grocery stores nearby (Tescos, Sainsburys, M&S Food) to help you stock up on groceries.

A special mention of the staff of Vancouver Studios: Damian, the Manager, is friendly and very helpful. The other staff at Reception, Sarmite, Gita, Marco, Adrian are always serving you with a BIG smile. They are very very helpful and are willing to accomodate every whim and fancy of yours. They are a sweet bunch of people. They truly make you feel at home. The maids who clean your romm do an extremely good job. Their cleaning is spotless!!! Everything in the room looks bright and new!

They have central heating but no airconditioning. You can ask for an electric table fan which is quite sufficient.

The only drawback of this hotel is that there is no lift. I was aware of this and had therefore insisted on booking a room on the ground floor. I stayed in Room no. 1 which is their Garden Studio. This was a very beautiful room with doors that open into their lovely garden at the back of the hotel. Zeus, their freindly cat, was my constant companion, and i loved that!

I will definately stay there when i visit London again and would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the ground or first floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fun h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for a total of 6 nights, 4 at the begining of our european trip and 2 nights at the end. Our first stay was at the 2 bedroom apartment on Craven Garden and second stay was a 3 bedroom at the main building. WOW, both apartments were GREAT!!! Very comfortable and well appointed throughout. Although we did not use the kitchen much it was very usable and modern with most everything you would need. The beds were very nice and the towels soft and plush. Easy to get around London from both apartments and Hyde Park/Kennsington Park were a short walk. A wide varity of restaurants are within walking distance as well as shops, and grocery stores.The main building has its own private garden which was a great place to unwind, ah yes the smell of Jasmine. The staff were terrific, very helpful and they really made you feel welcomed. The manager, Damien, was a really great. I would highly recommend the Vancouver Studios.

Room Tip: Take some time to go into the nearby parks they a fun and very beautiful.. Also you can rent bikes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baldeagle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had a large and diverse party: from 70+ grandparents to two kids aged 6 and 4. Stayed in 3 rooms for 7 nights and the kids were almost in tears when we checked out.

A few minuses first:
- Room is not huge (this is London afterall)
- Shower cubicle rather cramped (again, London)
- No escalators and stairs are steep (remember, this is London)

But a lot of pluses:
- Excellent location: few minutes from Bayswater and Queensway tube stations, tonnes of restaurants and supermarkets just steps away, Whiteleys shopping mall at end of block...
- Excellent service: always with a smile, from cleaning staff to front desk who would buzz you in through the locked front doors every time
- Excellent facilities: given our young children, the kitchenette was the key reason for staying here. It was well stocked with toaster, microwave, hot plate, pots/pans/cups/plates, plus a small dining table with few chairs. It's wonderful to be able to stay in London and cook your own meals (though the restaurants in Bayswater are quite good and reasonable).
- Clean: we have stayed in many B&Bs in London, with less than ideal conditions. But here everything is clean and functioning, from the nice earth tone tiles in bathrooms, to multiple sockets for all the iphones/ipads/camera chargers, to electric fan (which is useful during hot summer nights) to laundry room in basement... Plus a lot of artwork in corridors, a nice drawing room with fireplace and a small but pretty garden in the back.

This is perhaps the longest review I have written on Tripadvisor, probably because there's so many good things to say about this hotel. So glad I did my homework on Tripadvisor before booking. Only regret is I found this place too late. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back and on the low floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yau Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#487 of 1,077 in London
456 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#417 of 1,077 in London
314 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#353 of 1,077 in London
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#285 of 1,077 in London
1,713 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#313 of 1,077 in London
2,356 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#395 of 1,077 in London
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Studios

Address: Vancouver Studios 30 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#120 Family Hotel in London
#193 Business Hotel in London
#228 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: €108 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vancouver Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Vancouver Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Studios London
Vancouver Studios Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing