We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss unless you are looking for a hostel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #856 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Give it a miss unless you are looking for a hostel!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Not recommended. As said by other reviewers this is a typical inexpensive hotel in the Paddington area but do give it a miss. It is more like a hostel and a poorly run one at that. Very small shappy cramped rooms. We were on the first floor--lucky as there is no lift --but there was a lot of noise from the kitchen staff. They had no regard for guests in rooms that were close to kitchen. Most staff rather unhelpful and surly. They could learn some customer care skills and to smile a little more. It felt like we were doing them a favour staying there!! Breakfast served to you but poor quality and done on the cheap. No doubt this hotel will be full of foreign guests over the Olympics, but what a poor impression for them of UK hotels and services. Find somewhere else if you can!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    110
    241
    162
    188
See reviews for
124
271
84
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rainy North of England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the location and because it was quite cheap. All I can say is that you get what you pay for. The first room we were in was like a prison cell - you had to push the bed out of the way to open the door. The second room was better it dirty and overlooked a noisy pub.
The staff were really unhelpful and did not answer the phone when you ring down for advice.

It is cheap - but you definitely get what you pay for. Great location but I am sure there are cleaner and nicer hostels for the same price.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shanlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Old shabby facility with small rooms and cramped shower/toilet space. The only reason for choosing this place is prime location - 1 min/ to Paddington station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TanyaTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I'm the kind of person who tries to see the good in everything, difficult as it may be. The ONLY good point I can say about this hotel is it's proximity to Paddington Station. It is less than a minute's walk.

Now, let's move on to all my complaints. One, receptionists are unaccommodating, inattentive and bordering discourteous. Never have I entered a hospitality establishment with such unhappy staff. They are not quarrelsome; but, they're lifeless zombies.

Two, lift is broken. It could have been a non-issue had they placed us in a room on the lower floors. But no, they just had to place us at the topmost floor. I don't know how long has the lift been non-functional, but it's annoying to see one that's not working.

Three, faulty amenities. TV is old, cranky and decides to just kill itself every now and then. It seems like it's the only hotel in UK not to offer cable channels. Hot water is faulty, too.

Four, dirty furniture. This is just horrible. The top of the TV is covered in dust! It's probably the most obvious place to start cleaning, but all of them seemed to have missed it. I don't want to know the cleanliness of the hidden spaces.

Five, breakfast portions are small. Yes, I know I should be grateful for the food. But sadly, I can't help but compare it with the other hotels or B&Bs we stayed at, which offer hearty full English breakfasts. It's enough to fill you, but it won't last long.

Six, no free internet. Again, a non-issue unless you have the chance to compare with other hotels or B&Bs.

Totally not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Cheap hotel centrally based and that's about itll!!
Scaffolding outside of the hotel did not give a good first impression.
Guy on reception was helpful and the reception itself was ok.
My room (422) was small with a double bed, very heavy floral curtains, a sash window opening out onto a view of the back of another property, cracks in the plaster, a very small ensuite ( the shower was smaller than in a cross channel ferry ensuite ).
The room was generally tired and in much need of re-decoration.
The carpets in the hall and on the stairs were threadbare in places.
I did not stay for breakfast even though it was included in the price.
Draw your own conclusions !!!!

Room Tip: Please don't go for room 422
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PACT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. David's Hotels
#618 of 1,069 in London
587 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#658 of 1,069 in London
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chrysos Hotel
#666 of 1,069 in London
463 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
The Belvedere
#679 of 1,069 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Norfolk Hotel

Property: Royal Norfolk Hotel
Address: 25 London Street | Norfolk Square, London W2 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #856 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1850 Victorian; warm atmosphere; multilingual staff; near Paddington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Norfolk London
Hotel Royal Norfolk
Royal Norfolk Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing