We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice and ideal location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cheshire Hotel
Ranked #995 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Very nice and ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

First time here and we arrived at 3am with a very helpful receptionist, our room was G5 as shown on someone's else's review. Very clean and the beds were good and clean, very tall ceilings and nice decor.....cold breeze coming from window but it is -5 outside. Booked again for march.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M2bfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    60
    96
    74
    179
See reviews for
62
126
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Very good location, friendly staff and clean and cosy rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 138bruun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Unfortunately, not a very good review but you do get what you pay for. My partner and I went on a Saturday as we were seeing a show. Well we ordered a suite but was told that it was not available as they were doing maintenance on it, so we settled for a double (no option really) which was small and not very cosy. The bathroom blind fell down, the bath panel had a massive hole in it, the glasses in the room still had lipstick on them and the blind in the bedroom did not open. The breakfast area was no better. It was so cold in the basement and the staff said the heating was broken so as soon as you got your cooked breakfast you had to eat it in double quick time as it was freezing cold leaving your food congealed on your plate. We were not offered extra toast as most hotels do or coffee. We even had to pay to leave our bag in the hotel whilst we wandered round London on the day we left. Disgusting. Would not recommend unless you really were desperate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

told when we arrived that booking was cancelled, although i checked that booking was ok day before
they eventually did find as a room that was ok ,no real complaints about the room as we didnt spend much time in it. the location is very good
problem when we tried to check out they tried to charge us £18+ for phone calls from our room which we did not make when I complained they said theywould investigate
now i find they have charged my credit card this hotel is run by incompetant staff

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

OMG!!! One of my pet hates are cheap, nasty hotels where staff work and hardly speak a word of english and the main aim is to rip you off!!! And the Cheshire Hotel is a PERFECT example of this. £120 per night. Are you kidding me. The hotel is filthy, discusting, falling to peices, the dingiest and the smallest room I've stayed in. Breakfast was swimming in grease. Please I beg you give this one a swerve and stay at the Y, The council should be ashamed of allowing this place to remain open. Final Tip: Avoid at ALL cost!

Room Tip: 1 tip: Avoid this like the plauge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#672 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#364 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Hotel

Property: Cheshire Hotel
Address: 110 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NA, England (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #995 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cheshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn London Bloomsbury
London Country Inn
Cheshire Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing