We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheshire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$228
US$222
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$357
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$336
US$299
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$179
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$216
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
35
72
112
96
231
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
72
112
96
231
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Very good location, friendly staff and clean and cosy rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 138bruun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Unfortunately, not a very good review but you do get what you pay for. My partner and I went on a Saturday as we were seeing a show. Well we ordered a suite but was told that it was not available as they were doing maintenance on it, so we settled for a double (no option really) which was small and not very cosy. The bathroom blind fell down, the bath panel had a massive hole in it, the glasses in the room still had lipstick on them and the blind in the bedroom did not open. The breakfast area was no better. It was so cold in the basement and the staff said the heating was broken so as soon as you got your cooked breakfast you had to eat it in double quick time as it was freezing cold leaving your food congealed on your plate. We were not offered extra toast as most hotels do or coffee. We even had to pay to leave our bag in the hotel whilst we wandered round London on the day we left. Disgusting. Would not recommend unless you really were desperate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

told when we arrived that booking was cancelled, although i checked that booking was ok day before
they eventually did find as a room that was ok ,no real complaints about the room as we didnt spend much time in it. the location is very good
problem when we tried to check out they tried to charge us £18+ for phone calls from our room which we did not make when I complained they said theywould investigate
now i find they have charged my credit card this hotel is run by incompetant staff

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

OMG!!! One of my pet hates are cheap, nasty hotels where staff work and hardly speak a word of english and the main aim is to rip you off!!! And the Cheshire Hotel is a PERFECT example of this. £120 per night. Are you kidding me. The hotel is filthy, discusting, falling to peices, the dingiest and the smallest room I've stayed in. Breakfast was swimming in grease. Please I beg you give this one a swerve and stay at the Y, The council should be ashamed of allowing this place to remain open. Final Tip: Avoid at ALL cost!

Room Tip: 1 tip: Avoid this like the plauge.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We arrived to be met by a Receptionist who announced in extremely broken English that there was a problem with our room (booked several days before) but that it was 'okay' because they had found us a room in another hotel. The inference was that we should be grateful. It was pouring with rain and we were due at a party in Covent Garden in half an hour so my husband asked if this 'other hotel' was nearby.It took several attempts at re-wording the question before the receptionist decided to summon someone who spoke English. The reinforcement heard our plea to be settled somewhere quickly as we were already cutting it fine and to his credit agreed that we could stay there (phew!) adding sotto voce that they would have to send someone else to the mysterious 'other hotel'. He then asked for our card and went to charge us before we had seen the room. Okay - so it's inexpensive for London (£152 with breakfast) but seriously? pre charging, when they already had our card number and we were obviously a middle aged professional couple - with luggage! :)
The room (404) was a cupboard, with the most basic bedding I have ever seen - one thin pillow, threadbare blankets - but it was clean so we dumped our luggage and paid up before departing for the party. Had we not been under such time constraint we would have politely declined and moved on. On our return to the room later, it became apparent that there was not only no tea making facilities but not even a bottle of water. We ended up ordering tea from 'room service' ('Room Service 'in name only- basically only over-priced drinks and Pringles served by some poor beleagured night porter) and we huddled together for warmth under the thin blankets and slept so fitfully that we both saw dawn rise.
Breakfast was similarly Fawlty Towers and when on leaving we explained that we had had room service and would like to pay there was yet more confusion and more questions - what had we had? we'd have to wait while the bill for it was found, and eventually..... how WOULD we like to pay the £1.70?
In retrospect it is quite funny but at the time it was cold, depressing and frustrating and I would urge you to avoid!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 675Helicreature675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews