We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a cock up on the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Ranked #556 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Staying here on business with a number of colleagues. Firstly they could not find me and then said I was here a month too early. Managed to find me a small twin instead of the double booked some weeks ago.

The air conditioning is noisy and a bit smelly. On a plus the shower was great.


Breakfast is adequate but very basic. All self service and no fresh coffee. Dining room looks like it needs laying up there is nothing here.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueTravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Bluetravel1000,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write review of the hotel.

Your comments really help us to get an idea as to how we are doing and what we need to improve upon.

The team and I really look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 695 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night, as we had an early appointment at Guys hospital, London Bridge. It was the best deal we could find. Excellent value for money with a double bed and double sofa bed, buffet breakfast included - cooked and continental (not great quality but very good value).
Such a good location, Canning Town tube is 5 minutes walk away, then 5 stops to London Bridge, only 2 stops to Canary Wharf on the Jubilee line; or 7 stops to Bank on the Docklands Light Railway (DLR), last train from Bank is at 12.30am.
We really enjoyed walking around the Royal Docks area, seeing developments for the Olympics, especially the new cable car crossing, from Greenwich to the Royal Docks, due to be in service in June 2012.
We had dinner in the Canada Square retail centre (by Canary Wharf tube), which has many places to eat.
The hotel reception staff were very efficient and friendly. Unfortunately we experienced a lot of noise from a large party of Dutch school children. Having specifically requested a quiet room, I went to reception to ask to be moved. The receptionist handled the situation perfectly and we were troubled no further.
We will certainly return and would like to spend a weekend exploring the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UckfieldSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear UckfieldSue,

Thank you so much for taking the time to right such a warm review of the hotel and area.
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Your comments really help us to get an idea as to how
we are doing and what we need to improve upon.

The team and I really look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel while working at excel. There is on street parking outside the hotel, or the hotel car park is payable. We were in a double room, the bed was quite small and there was a sofa bed option too. Great shower, they are a bit tight with tea bags,only 2 so if you don't drink coffee you need to ask for more at reception. Breakfast was ok, except on the first morning there was no milk at 8.30 it hadn't been delivered, there is a shop around the corner do no excuse really to not have milk in breakfast room. HI express are all much of a muchness. They provide comfy beds, reasonable breakfast options and good locations.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear YorkCal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to a review of the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay overall.

The team and I really look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting an event at the O2.

It is so well located for the O2, with it being only 1 stop away and also easy to reach from central London.

The rooms are basic and clean and we did not have any problems during the limited time we were there.

Breakfast (which was free) was a bit of a scrum though, with a mad scramble for the various items of food. The staff kept it all topped up and there were also signs around warning the customers of the busy times in the breakfast room.

I would choose this hotel over many others in the O2 vicinity as the location is second to none and with it being only 2 stops to Stratford and about 5 stops in the other direction to London Bridge, everything you would need is a relatively short tube ride away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkyP264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Siddex,

Thank you so much for taking the time to such a warm review of the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay overall.

I agree breakfast can be busy at times, It hard to come down early for breakfast after having a great night out in London.

The team and I really look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed here for 1 week while visiting London with my boyfriend. We picked this hotel for the price as it was much more reasonable than staying in central London. It seemed like a nice area and it took less than 5 minutes to walk to the underground stop for the Jubilee line and the DLR. It took about 15-20 minutes on the Jubilee line to get into central London which was no problem.

The hotel itself was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The continental breakfast was perfect for us, and they had a bar open until 2am if we fancied a drink at night instead of going out to central London. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was just a few minor things which would make us re-consider staying at this hotel again.

1. We had difficulty flushing the toilet, sometimes it would flush instantly other times you had to push the handle about 15 times to get it to flush, quite annoying. 2. The wifi was quite expensive, 12 pounds for 24 hours. 3. Even to make a local phone call I had to put a 10 pound deposit down and even then I was still unable to make outside phone calls and nothing was done to fix the problem. 4. We got woken up at 6am the day we left with a wake-up call intended for the room next door. 5. It did get a bit noisy in the mornings as you could hear everything going on in the hallway, annoying when we were trying to sleep in. There was some type of school group of teenagers there over the weekend and they were really loud.

I would stay in this hotel again but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshChick04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Parakeet701,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay overall. I am sorry the toilet gave you a bit of a problem; I am not sure if you report the problem during your stay as we would have definitely repaired or replaced the toilet for you during your stay. I’m also sorry about the group of young teenagers who bothered you with noise. We will certainly look at trying to set the ground rules better with any future groups with young teenagers as the majority of the party.

I’m glad you took the time to express your thoughts about the hotel and they are gratefully appreciated as they help us to improve.

The team and I really look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Docklands
#568 of 1,077 in London
131 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #556 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: €51 - €222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing