We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Comfortable and convenient.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Ranked #526 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

On a recent trip to London, my daughter and I stayed at the LRD Holiday Inn for two days. We found it to be very convenient as far as train travel into London was concerned as the Jubilee Line runs from the local station which is only 5minutes walk from the hotel. The road is well lit and there is a broad pavement on either side of the road. We felt very safe walking along the road both during the day and night.
The hotel reception was warm and friendly. The receptionist dealt quickly and effectively with our arrival. Our room was bright and cheery and we were impressed with the cleanliness. The bed was marvellous and we had a very good sleep after a hard day's shopping. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff helpful and courteous. Everything was provided in abundance and was piping hot even though we were not among the early breakfasters.
My only recommendation to this hotel would be that they take hotel security a little more seriously. We arrived back at the hotel past 1am in the morning and sailed past the reception without anyone enquiring as to whether we were staying at the hotel or not. Hopefully we don't look suspicious or 'illegal', but I would like to think that whomever I bump into in the hotel passageways was there with the hotel's knowledge.
Notwithstanding this, we had a lovely stay and were very pleased with our choice of hotels. I would recommend this hotel to everyone without hesitation. Thank you to all the staff for your hard work and friendly smiles.

Room Tip: If you need to reach the hotel after a late theatre show in town, the DLR still runs trains until th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dealspotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Dealspotters,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and we will have another look at our security checking procedure. However we do like to have a light touch where guest entering and leaving the building is concerned.

The team and I really look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    343
    204
    60
    49
See reviews for
183
208
68
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights for business in Jan 12.
Whilst Silvertown is not the most desirable area of London, the area has changed significantly in the lead up to the Olympics. A short walk from both bus station and Underground/DLR rail connections into centrl london, it presents an opportunity for lower cost accomodation within 20 mins of OXford Street.

The rooms are HIEX standar and are clean and well kept.
The staff are very welcoming and hospitable and go out of their way to help
Breakfast- OK

perfect for business trips and budget travellers

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Camster66,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review of your stay at the Hotel.

It was good of you to comment on the Regeneration to the area, primarily due to the Olympics.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and we look forward to your returning to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Being treated by my daughters to a weekend in London to shop and watch a show, they picked a perfect hotel to make the whole weekend very successful. The staff were kind, efficient and very friendly and the hotel was everything it should be to make you comfortable and relaxed. Indeed, observing the relationship between the staff and the manager it was obvious why the hotel was a pleasure to stay at, they were friendly with him but he was definitely managing them and they were aware of his authority and his wish to ensure every guest was well looked after.

Room Tip: 4th floor was comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Corinne B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review of your stay here at the HIEX Royal Docklands Hotel. We really do value your comments as they show us how we are really doing and help us to improve where necessary.
We do print all our guest reviews so the team here will love reading your comments.
I’m glad you had a really great weekend and I hope you choose to stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

A decent budget hotel. Service fine, rooms well appointed and very clean, could do with heavier curtains. Breakfast was ok but the bar was a little dull. The walk from the tube is short but feels unpleasant in the dark, wouldn't be much fun with heavy luggage either.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euchrid1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear euchrid1978,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us review of your stay here at the HIEX Royal Docklands Hotel. We really do value your comments as they show us how we are really doing and help us to improve where necessary.

I am glad that you were basically happy with the Hotel but a little surprised by the comment regarding the walk from the Tube station. The reason for my surprise is that it is just about 400 – 500 meters from the tube up a straight and well lit road. The road and the paths have been recently rebuilt which include the path and lighting all being completely replaced by the council as it is a main thoroughfare to the Olympic park. There is still a bit of work being done but I feel it is probably one of the easiest walks from a station to a Hotel in London.

I hope the walk for the station doesn’t prevent you from choosing to stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I recent stayed at this hotel with my family in 2 rooms over 2 nights in mid January 2012. I chose it as it was on the outskirts of central London that had adequate parking. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The interior of the rooms were both basic but fine and sound proofinf through walls was fine however the corriodors echoed with noisy other guests. Our room faced the front of the building onto Silvertown Way and you could view the top of the O2 arena and the Canary Wharf buildings, however the police cars raced up and down each night we stayed there 3 or 4 times.. If I stayed here again I would need to face the back of the building away from the road. The tram and tube statioin is about 100 metres into central london. A Private hire taxi into central london will cost about £30-35. Breakfast is very basic and totally self service ( cooked-, scambled eggs, sausages and beans, cereals, toast and pastries) and all plates are quite small. Booed via laterooms at £88 a night, room rate at the hotel was £220 per night. so had good value for the money. I do not think the full £220 is worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back over looking the car park to reduce road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear kartNottingham,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a detailed review of your stay here at the HIEX Royal Docklands Hotel. We really do value your comments as they show us how we are really doing and help us to improve where necessary.

There were a lot of positive comments about your stay that we appreciate very much, with regards to the sound of sirens running up and down the road. I’m afraid that is a part of the night time sound of most great cities in the world today. I hope this didn’t affect your stay too much and that you will definitely be choosing to stay with us again.

We look forward to your next visit with us the next time you’re in London.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Travelodge London Docklands
#576 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#285 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #526 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing