We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #37 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“English elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Having had the wonderful afternoon tea at the Dorchester many times, my husband and I decided to stay for the night as we were at a concert at the royal Albert hall.
The staff are always welcoming polite and friendly.
Our room wasn't ready but we had a quick complimentary coffee before we were taken to our room 10 minutes later.
Unfortunately the room I had booked was far too small and without any hesitation we were upgraded to a beautiful room with a far bigger bed!
The room wasn't huge but was beautifully decorated in traditional English style and the bed was big which is always a must as ours is at home!
The bathrooms are large and old fashioned but have beautiful toiletries in lovely large tubes and bottles.
We ate in the promenade restaurant after the concert at about 11pm and it was still buzzing. The food is always gorgeous and beautifully presented.
The bill was pleasantly not a shock and I would stay again if going to the Albert hall although probably stay nearer the west end if going to a show.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbabes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at The Dorchester and dinner in The Promenade. It sounds like you had a lovely evening in London. I will be very happy to share your kind comments with the rest of the team.
On behalf of everyone at The Dorchester, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
John Scanlon, Hotel Manager
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    215
    79
    29
    22
See reviews for
265
580
107
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Dorchester lived up to its impeccable reputation last weekend when I treated my partner to a romantic getaway! We were certainly impressed by the flawless room, public area and fantastic service!

We dined at the Grill both nights where the food was obviously a product of carefully selected ingredients and hours of hard work resulting in nothing less than perfection. The original plan was to try a different restaurant each night, but we were so taken with Brian Hughson’s menu we couldn’t help but be drawn back in for a second night! The Service was also a huge credit to the restaurant and hotel, in particular Jack and Jose who were there on both evenings. At the end of one of the meals Jose distracted my Partner while Jack slipped a red rose into my hand and whispered give it to her outside. A lovely touch at the end of a lovely evening!

Breakfast in the promenade was wonderful; we were served by a very friendly Karin who was happy to give advice on what to do in the area! The promenade was immaculately kept and adorned with the most exquisite bouquets of flower arrangements and the polished interior gleamed in the morning light.

The reception and concierge were very professional and were able to answer questions and had advice on travelling around the City.

A fantastic Two days!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbaby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I traveled to London and stayed here for 3 nights....I didn't want to leave!!!It was amazing, after a long flight from Perth Australia we were greeted with warm smiles. After an easy check in we were shown to our room...we had a king suite it was beautiful so English with the floral curtain and wallpaper the bed was soooo comfy with the best pillows ever! They immediately bought up a pot of tea and biscuits to relax with! We had room service breakfast 2 mornings of just tea and toast but really there is nothing just about it, so elegantly done! We also had afternoon tea there which will stay in my memory for ever...everything about it was done effortlessly! Nothing was too much to ask for when it came to the concierge, he recommended a lovely french restaurant which he booked for us. I have never experienced a hotel like this before and I must admit I quite like it....husband is squirming as it is of course up there in price:)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ausieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Director of Sales at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Dorchester and your experience having Afternoon Tea in The Promenade. I will be happy to share your kind comments with the rest of the team as they take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester again in the future.
Kind regards,
Trevor Owen, Area Director of Sales and Marketing
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroubra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My girlfriend and I had high tea here and it was a wonderful experience during our overseas travels. The food and hotel were amazing. We weren't hurried at all and were made to feel very special!! It's all now a wonderful memory!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to learn you had such an enjoyable Afternoon Tea at The Dorchester and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please rest assured I have since shared your kind comments with the rest of the team who were thrilled to hear your feedback.
Kind regards,
Max Paret, Food and Beverage Manager
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We celebrated my mother-in- law's 70th birthday with afternoon tea. The food was fantastic and the service first class. They even gave her a birthday cake and boxed up those we couldn't eat to take home. The whole experience from booking to leaving was excellent - ending with meeting Lionel Ritchie in the hotel lobby!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlejenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
It gives me great pleasure to learn we managed to create such a memorable celebratory occasion for your mother-in-law’s birthday. It is always our aim here at The Dorchester to exceed our guests’ expectations and I am only too happy we have been successful.
On behalf of us all at The Dorchester, I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With kind regards,
Max Paret, Food and Beverage Manager
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#56 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#6 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#25 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London
The Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing