We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Balwyn, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have stayed at The Capital twice in 12 months, for a week each time. Everything about the hotel is top class. Our apartment (yes, they have a few apartments) is always comfortable and housekeeping is excellent. The Concierge team have everything covered: tours, attractions, museums, and of course restaurants. Even if you think you know London, you will love their guidance. Hotel management are so professional in their effort to make our stay perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are always striving to bring a personal touch to each person’s stay, and I am so pleased that you felt well taken care of! And yes, I too can’t get enough of those macaroons…I shall mention it to our pastry chef. He will be so pleased to hear this!

Kind regards
Kate Levin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    106
    25
    18
    4
See reviews for
127
299
68
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I love this hotel, friendly, comfortable, quiet and a relief from the bigger chain hotels in London. We had very pleasant stay and will return again. Just a note, we were offered am upgrade but declined it however the room we were in was spacious and comfortable anyway - who needs an upgrade??!! (243 by the way) the complimentary macaroons were to die for too...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DATP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had a wonderful four nights at the Capital. This was the first time that we lived in a boutique hotel, and we think we will definitely stay at the Capital again at our next visit. Staffs are very friendly, and the location is great, close to Harrods and Hyatt Park. We went to play with squirrels in Hyatt Park every morning. The room is very comfortable, once on the bed, can immediately sleep. Breakfast is great, lots of choice. Free wifi, candies & bottled water are plus.
suggestion - better have coffee, tea & water boiler in the room, sometime, it's more comfortable to have hot drink in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and especially that you slept so well which is after all the most important thing. We have Savoir beds in our rooms and they are exceptionally comfortable. We are very happy to put a tea and coffee tray into your room, please let us know when you make your reservation or during stay and we will organise this. I hope that we will be welcoming you back very soon and I am sure the squirrels will be pleased to see you too!

Kind regards

Kate Levin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Everything is perfect about this hotel.. The location, the friendly staff, the rooms (even single room) and ofcourse the food.

I stayed here twice and it will always be my preferred hotel in london.. would select it over the dorchester anytime.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you so much, it is so lovely to hear feedback like yours. We are always delighted to welcome back our regular guests and hope that everyone can feel at home while they are staying here. I hope that I will be welcoming you back to the hotel soon, please contact me directly so that I can organise your next reservation once you know when you will be back in London. I look forward to speaking to you then.

With many thanks

Kind regards

Kate Levin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Amazing 5 star service - friendly but not overbearing.

Beautiful decor and atmosphere.

Excellent dining and cellar.

A really gorgeous experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2011164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind review. I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the restaurant during your visit. It means a great deal to the team and me to read praise such as this. I very much hope that we will be welcoming you back to the Capital soon, it would be a pleasure to help with any future bookings, please contact me directly.

Kind regards

Kate Levin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#63 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#91 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#297 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 22-24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests for 45 years The Capital Hotel in Knightsbridge, remains under the guidance of its original owner David Levin and his daughter Kate Levin. Few hotels in London can boast of such outstanding staff loyalty, family heritage and the ability to remain true to classic British design. An award winning grand hotel in miniature, The Capital Hotel Knightsbridge has all the advantages of a large establishment, yet exudes warmth, understated exclusivity and personal attention to detail, which only a privately owned luxury hotel can afford. This discreet London Hotel and adjacent luxury Knightsbridge apartments sit proudly on Basil Street, close to Harrods and just a few minutes from Knightsbridge Tube Station as well as Harvey Nichols, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Hyde Park and the designer shops of Sloane Street. The Capital also has their own award winning vineyard, Levin Wines, in the Loire Valley and a bakery that delivers to high end restaurants, hotels and clubs across london, The London Bakery. Next door sits the Levin Hotel, a 12 bedroom townhouse and The Metro Bistro also run by the Levin family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London
The Capital Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing