We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the mark on many aspects but room size disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #150 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

There is much to appreciate about this hotel:great central London location( Green park underground only 3 mins away) ,friendly staff,night time peace & quiet.Also & unusually in 5 star London hotels complimentary soft drinks & snacks and free wifi .Given all these benefits it seems churlish to point anything negative out BUT room 106 in the new block amongst their apartments is in my opinion too small for a 5 star.The bathroom & access lift also leave a lot to be desired when it comes to space.We were actually asked for feedback about the room when we checked out & could see our one negative on room size was not unexpected.To be fair I would expect the rooms overlooking Green Park to match the rest of the positive experience.Just check!

Room Tip: Avoid the new rooms accessed by side entrance if you want space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craigrossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,962 of 2,480 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

A most delightful hotel, centrally located near all great attractions. The rooms are clean and bright and a real plus point is that ALL of the contents of the minibar are free, and are rerilled daily...all good quality stuff. The staff are excellent, very friendly and most helpful. Paula the manager helped us tremendously when we hit a booking problem.

High tea is a High point, lots and lots of delicious traditional eats, actually everything was unlimited. When we stayed here, Matt & David from Little Britain were having a business High Tea. Just 2 of many celebs we spotted during our stay.
We will return on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenRon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We booked this room on lastminute secret hotels so saved £100 on room price. Overall we found the room very average which was a shame because with a little effort it could be fabulous.

Room small but comfortable. Bright lighting which we couldn't change - it was either all on or all off. The bedside remote control for light/heat didn't work, nor did the Nespresso coffee machine. Reception showed little interest when reported on check out.

Little room in bathroom &towel rail at end of bath. This means towels have to be moved before having shower which is in bath or they would be soaked. Shower ok but immovable and seems rather behind the times with shower curtains and rubber bath mats.

Check out at 12, but at 11 someone knocked on our door. As I was reaching the door they were using their key to enter. The lady seemed surprised at our being there & said she'd pop back later. Why would anyone be entering our room when we had not yet checked out?

There is a free mini bar (except alcohol) which is a nice touch - however again this ends up adding disappointment. It's a double room therefore most likely two people. The bar had one of everything - one cereal bar (no biscuits), one kitkat, one bag of crisps! Just makes what could be a treat into an example of lacking in thought.

The whiskey bar was a nice stop for a night cap& we had good service there.

We were meeting friends so the hotel was simply a place to sleep/shower and for that it did the job. However it is certainly not 5* and could do with a lot of attention to detail. We would have been very dissatisfied had we paid normal rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mojitomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was at the Athenaeum hotel for 6 days in january 2012. It was my first visit to London and after reading all the reviews and high recommendations from my friend booked it. It is a lovely small place and the rooms are just awesome. You get free wifi internet, the room is pretty spacious for London standard, and the service is just fantastic. Coming from US I am not used to service from the big hotels, but these people really take care.

Is is in the Mayfair area, very posh and great places to eat and drink. I love the fact that I could walk to all the great places.Being on a business trip alone is boring, but this place is so lively.

I would definitely recommend this place.

Some things .. elevators are slow, no pool and gym is also pretty small.

Room Tip: ask for green park facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boozitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Great location between Piccadilly Circus and Hyde Park. Across Green Park and Buckingham Palace. Only 15 min. walk from Oxford Street.

Our room (overlooking Down Street in a traditional building with separate entrance) was like a home to us, very spacious with a king size extremely comfortable bed and a small but modern bathroom with lots of towels and toiletries.
There was also in a room, a very clever construction for the huge tv, a desk, closet and a kitchen area with the mini bar, espresso machine, glasses, cups, spoons and all the necessary relatively facilities.

All very clean, nice quality and cosy.

We especially enjoyed the side table with the two armchairs close to the three sides window for relax, drinks and snacks.

Transportation: Green Park and Hyde Park Corner tube stations within a couple of minutes, plus two bus stops in front of the hotel and one across the street.

Great plus: very friendly and extremely, helpful and efficient staff.

We had no breakfast or meals at the hotel (which where expensive for us) but we enjoyed a lot the complimentary products from the mini bar (refreshments, milk, juices, chocolate and cereal bars, etc.), Nescafe espresso machine which were inclusive with facilities for coffee, tea and chocolate drinks.

Kids had free movies, tv games and a glass of milk with cookies every night. They had also for present yoyos which was a little bit useless for them since they are girls-teenagers (I think that hotel must consider the age and interests of the kids for the presents which otherwise is a warm and welcome touch). Overall they felt very comfortable with the hotel and our room and they really loved it.

As a conclusion, the hotel is excellent and we will definitely go back again and recommend it to anyone - either travelling for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#55 of 1,076 in London
1,115 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#132 of 1,076 in London
1,814 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: €276 - €529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing