We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“we will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #312 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“we will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have been disappointed in otherThistle hotels, and were a bit apprehensive but the Hyde Park hotel is really great! It manages to have very personal ambience, and the staff are so helpful and welcoming. Just watch out for the manger who is very much "on the floor" and turned out to be our "porter"-------. Even when we had left, we returned with friends for a lovely quiet drink in this hotel as we were so happy with it. The Hyde Park manages to make you feel as if you are in grand version of your own home. Thank you Mr Murphy, you are doing a wonderful job.

Room Tip: our 3 adult sons had a huge room - much to our envy - so a good hotel for families, We had a rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Christine M,

It was my great pleasure to meet you both and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here. Thistle has gone through some big changes of late and we have invested huge amounts in our hotels. This investment will continue as we endeavour to become the “hottest show in town”.

I am looking forward to your return and please contact me if I can assist with your booking (contact details are located at the top of out Trip Advisor homepage)

All the best,

John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    355
    97
    40
    27
See reviews for
166
350
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sommacampagna, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I recently spent 5 days at this hotel, 3 for business plus a weekend with my partner. I found it to be ideal for both business and leisure. The deluxe rooms are very large by London standards and very well appointed at reasonable rates. With 3 underground stations within short walking distance! getting around London is very easy. Service is ok and staff is kind and helpful. My only complaint is for the sometimes unsatisfactory making up of the room. I would. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdemaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear jdemaio,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Thistle Hyde Park. We are delighted to hear that you liked our Deluxe rooms and found the hotel suitable for business and leisure (We agree!) . We would, however, like to say sorry about your room. We will take these comments on board and ensure that we get it right next time and all of the time.

Once again, many thanks,

John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stop in Bayswater whenever we visit London, love the indie restaurants and little quirky shops, as well as the central but tucked away location. This was the first time we had stopped at the Thistle.
After initially going to the wrong Thistle (Marble Arch one is literally three doors away), and being very politely redirected, we found the Thistle Hyde park very visuallt impressive. We stopped for a quck business and pleasure trip, and found the room (with its MASSIVE high ceilings) more than good.
The bed was comfortable and the room well appointed - my husband was of a mind that the bathroom could do with a bit of a vamp (cracked tiles and lots of silicon sealent), but I personally quite liked its old fashioned Georgian style.
Overall I liked the Georgian style hotel and decor, but I agree, areas could do with a touchup. I think it all comes down to what you pay - we paid about £85 a night, so I was dead happy with the room, but for the average rate of £135 (I think) I would maybe expect a little more.
I would however, stay again without hesitation, it didnt put me off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fickle_barista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear fickle_barista,

Thank you for the great review. As you are a regular visitor to Bayswater, I hope Thistle Hyde Park will be “your” hotel in London for many years to come.

When you wish to return, you may wish to contact the hotel via the business listing on our Trip Advisor homepage.

Yours Sincerely,

John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

As has been reported in the past the positives are staff faded grandeur if that's your thing and location.

Negatives from a business users point of view was tired stuffy room with noisy grumbling air con whether on or off.

Poor bathroom I had a shower cubicle but no shower so had to use handheld in bath with no screen.

If you get a cheap deal it's good for a night. As a private customer I would look around you can get better.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear water,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Hyde Park. I am sorry to hear that we have let you down and wanted to let you know that we are working on solutions to the issues raised. If you would be willing to give us another try, I will personally look after your booking and ensure that you enjoy your time here. When you next plan a trip to London, please contact me via our business listing (details are at the top of the Thistle Hyde Park Tripadvisor homepage)
Once again, thank you for posting this very constructive review.
Kind Regards,

John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

For my wife's birthday treat we came up to London to see a show and stay in a hotel. I picked the Thistle Hotel Hyde Park and I am so glad I did. We had a wonderful room that overlooked Hyde Park and we were welcomed by the reception staff and the Manager. All the staff were friendly, professional and made us so welcome.
The hotel is central for the West End and the shops, theatre land and all the historic sights - it is just down the road from Kensington Palace.
If you want a night, or indeed a few days in London, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. A thank you to all the staff who made our trip memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel as it overlooks Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Andrew H,

Thank you for this great review. I really enjoyed meeting you both and hopefully you will keep Thistle Hyde Park in mind when returning to London.
If I can be of any assistance in the meantime, please drop me a line.

Many Thanks again,

John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#286 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#383 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Lancaster London
#230 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#208 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Property: Thistle Hyde Park
Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing