We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$383
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$344
US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$280
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$227
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$209
US$175
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,516)
Filter reviews
2,517 results
Traveller rating
1,398
857
173
62
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,398
857
173
62
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish museumcovent gardengreat locationoxford streetwest endbox of chocolatestheatre landjunior suitelovely hoteltheatre breakgood sizeminute walkfree upgradebus stopbreakfast was excellentcentral locationstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 2,517 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Great location for so many attractions. Walkable from Kings Cross and Euston for those who are fit, but £8 in a taxi if not. We had a small but well decorated room with a comfortable bed. A warm welcome from the staff on arrival and an early check-in with a smile. A small problem with the bathroom was soon fixed! Didn’t eat in this time, but the menu looked tasty and contrary to some reviews the prices were good! Good value for money for sure and happy to return. I left something in the room as I checked out. It was quickly found and sent back to me by post and whilst I offered to pay for that, the hotel wouldn’t hear of it. Bravo and thank you!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TolgaErsen, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear UncleBulgaria15,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your stay here at the Thistle Holborn-The Kingsley Hotel, we are delighted to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms as well as the friendliness of our staff.

We are thrilled to read that you were pleased with the service provided and found our room rates to be reasonably good.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we very much look forward to you visiting again soon.

With kind regards,

Tolga Ersen
Operations Manager

Get exclusive perks when you book direct for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

One night stop over during a visit to London. The staff are very friendly at the hotel. The room I had was clean but quite small and unfortunately the air con wasn't working (coolling) so I had a rather warm night as the windows were sealed too. The bed though was extremely comfortable. The shower was a rain shower effect and toiletries were provided, except body lotion which I typically forgot to bring.

There was a fairly good hot breakfast that set me up for the day and I enjoyed the coffee where you helped yourself.

Tip - There is a newsagents just outside the hotel on the right where you could purchase water for your room as there wasn't any provided.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travel4fun27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TolgaErsen, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Travel4fun27,

I would like to thank you for choosing Thistle Holborn-The Kingsley for your recent stay in London. I appreciate you taking your time to make us aware of your experience, your feedback is certainly highly valued.

I am thrilled hear that you had a pleasant stay, slept well in our specially made Hypnos beds and enjoyed our delicious breakfast offering in our Kingsley Two Restaurant as well as the professionalism and the friendliness of our staff.

I am disappointed to learn that you have had an unpleasant experience due to malfunctioning Air Condition Unit in the room. This issue has been addressed with the relevant teams after your departure. Please may I offer our sincere apologies that in this instance we failed to exceed your expectations, and assure you that this is not our acceptable standards of operation or service.

We hope that despite this isolated incident we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, when we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in Thistle Holborn - The Kingsley.

Kind regards,

Tolga Ersen
Operations Manager

Get exclusive perks when you book direct for your next stay. Such as up to 30% off when you book direct through our website

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We love the location of this hotel but our stay last year was much better.

We booked the same type room as last year - superior double - but our room last year was much larger. This year our room was only slightly larger than the two twin beds which were pushed together. The only place for our luggage - two small carry-on roll-aboard suitcases - was on top of a chair and a small table. The first room we were in , #304, was very cold. The woman at the front desk said she was unable to regulate the heat and offered us a space heater. Since there was no excess space for anything, we declined the space heater. She said they could move us to another room the next day. I reminded her that we had requested a quiet room and this room was facing Bloomsbury Way which has quite a bit of traffic.

The next day we were moved to room #421 which was somewhat warmer and quiet. However, it was even smaller than room #304. Adequate heat must have been an issue in rooms because we saw radiator type space heaters being moved around in the hallways.

The Thistle website says if you are a Thistle member, breakfast is free. At the hotel, we were told we got a 10% discount on our rate therefore breakfast was not free. That "deal" was not specified when we made our reservation. We paid for breakfast.

There is a small desk as soon as you enter the hotel which has a concierge sign. Last year there was always someone at that desk. He monitored who came and went in the hotel. This year, during our five day stay, we never saw anyone at the concierge desk. There were also many times there was no one at the front desk when we entered the lobby. There are two elevators - one on either side of the lobby. It is possible to enter the first elevator without being seen if there is no one at the front desk, which is a safety issue. Also, I am glad we paid our bill the evening before we left because we could find no one in the lobby area when we departed on March 25 at 6 a.m. We just left our key cards at the front desk and departed without getting a final copy of our paid bill.

On the positive side, the room was very clean and we do like the location which is just a few blocks from the Holborn tube stop on the Piccadilly line.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TolgaErsen, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear luvroma2,

First of all I would like to thank you for being faithful to Thistle Holborn - The Kingsley Hotel. And thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us. We welcome all feedback as an opportunity to learn and improve our training and service standards and facilities.

We are truly sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your experience and your visit left you feeling disappointed, and that these circumstances interfered with your enjoyment of your time with us.

We would very much like the opportunity to further discuss with you the issues that you raised on your review, in order to get a deeper insight into your overall experience of the hotel and redeem your faith. If you would be so kind as to allow us the opportunity to contact you at a convenient time we would be most grateful.

Kind Regards,

Tolga Ersen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Really great place , very friendly staff, room excellent and large for London , bed so comfortable and location was central to everything we wanted to do , we walked everywhere and only 18 mins walk from London Euston , excellent for theatres and china town definitely come again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TolgaErsen, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear nigel w,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay here at Thistle Hotel - The Kingsley.

First may we wish you a belated, but Very Happy Birthday, and thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed what sounds like a very lovely stay, and we are very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations, you found the staff to be helpful, pleasant and that you would definitely stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you both back for many more celebrations to come.

Kind regards,

Tolga Ersen
Operations Manager

As part of our mission to reward our guests for booking direct, all Thistle hotels is offering 10% off + guaranteed best rates to those who book online on thistle.com and sign up to it's database. May I suggest you to book your next stays directly with us and take advantage of our exclusive benefits?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Perfect location for watching a show and then walking back to hotel. Fabulous spacious room with all the trimmings you would expect including a Nespresso. Easy check in and check out. Cleanliness paramount, loved it!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TolgaErsen, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Kathryn G,

First of all I would like to thank you to for choosing to stay with us.

It is a great pleasure to read how enthusiastic you are about the perfect location of the hotel, the comfort of the rooms and their amenities but also the high standard of cleanliness .

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit London.

Warmest regards,

Tolga Ersen
Operations Manager

Get exclusive perks when you book direct for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews