We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too crowded”

Madame Tussauds London
Ranked #94 of 1,912 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: STARDOM awaits you! Step into the spotlight as you accept your exclusive invitation to Madame Tussauds London, the home of famous fun in the capital. Join your favourite celebs at the ULTIMATE A-list party, strut your stuff on the catwalk with Cara, take the hot seat alongside will.i.am in The Voice Experience or join the Royal Family on the iconic balcony. Test your bravery in Alien: Escape then explore the jungles of Kong: Skull Island. Hail a London cab and journey through 400 years of the capital’s history before joining the Marvel Super Heroes for a crime-fighting adventure. Then use the force to be transported to a galaxy far, far away and star in the action with the greats of the Star Wars universe. So what are you waiting for? COME ON IN!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We bought VIP tickets to avoid the very long queue outside, but things were not much better inside. The number of people really made it difficult to enjoy the exhibits. Try to go when things aren't busy!

Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear James W,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at Madame Tussauds London. During our peak periods we can attract a large volume of guests due to our unique experience and sheer popularity! We have a strict capacity management system in place where we will ensure that we do not become overcrowded and I am sorry that you were left feeling that way. If you would like to tell us more about your visit, please contact us at guest.experience@madame-tussauds.com.
Kind regards,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wax works"
in 1,280 reviews
"star wars"
in 965 reviews
"spirit of london ride"
in 324 reviews
"wax museum"
in 321 reviews
"sherlock holmes"
in 655 reviews
"london taxi"
in 241 reviews
"marvel experience"
in 157 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 218 reviews
"merlin passes"
in 175 reviews
"photos taken"
in 168 reviews
"take photos"
in 406 reviews
"long queue"
in 254 reviews
"great attraction"
in 180 reviews
"other attractions"
in 153 reviews
"london eye"
in 474 reviews
"celebrities"
in 916 reviews
"figures"
in 1,116 reviews
Filter

902 - 906 of 27,792 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We went with 2 kids and thought it was ok nothing special for the price ! No queues to get in which was a bonus , quite busy inside . We have done it now and wouldn’t rush back for the over the top price you pay !

Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Sean D,

Thank you for visiting us here at Madame Tussauds London. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests so we can find out more about their Madame Tussauds experience.

I am sorry to read that you found the ticket price expensive. We have between 290 and 310 wax figures on display as well as our Alien: Escape, Kong: Skull Island, The Voice Experience, Sherlock Holmes experience with live actors, Spirit of London ride, Marvel Superheroes 4D and our Star Wars experience with 11 immersive scenes. We hope this is reflected in the ticket price; however we do offer discounted tickets when booking from our website to ensure we cater for a range of budgets.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to Madame Tussauds in the future!

Kind regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

So pre-booking tickets does not help you gain a quicker entry. We were given an allocated door entrance and an entry time. Well we got in about 3 hours after this allocated entry, queueing in the rain, wind and the cold. We were told to go to different queue line, then told near the front that we were in the wrong one and have waited for longer than needed. When I explained that actually we were told to queue there, we got a ‘oh sorry, wrong queue, just stay here then’. Guests who had not pre-booked and buying tickets actually got entry to the attraction quicker and when staff were asked about this, there was mumblings of these guests paying so more money.
Disgusting way to treat people. The wax works were realistic and was interesting to view. But after queuing for so long, it lost its appeal. Too many people inside so constant waiting for everything. Parents lost children in the crowds due to pushing and we all felt like cattle being forced into small spaces.

2  Thank Luci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Luci N,

We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests. We’re disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your visit to Madame Tussauds London and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail. Please do not hesitate to contact us at guest.experience@madame-tussauds.com.
Kind regards,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Apart from the traditional appeal of this place the horror house experience has the best.. Must see as it involves real humans in the experience and its the most significant experience.. I was really scared

Thank aijaz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear aijaz R,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Madame Tussauds so much that you have awarded us with 5 stars! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed getting up close and personal to all of the amazing wax figures and you were entertained with everything else that we have to offer at the attraction! Be sure to come back again soon and see what is new in our world famous attraction!

Kind regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Visited on Wednesday with our kids (10 and 7). Thankfully we have Merlin passes and walked straight in, as the queues were horrendous.

The models are pretty good, although I didn't see labels for all of them in the first part. Perhaps I should have known who they were meant to be! A bit awkward to take photos with them due to the number of people.

The taxi ride and 4D cinema were the best bits. I also enjoyed reading about the history of the exhibition and how the models are made.

Popcorn and drinks for sale at various points. And I think there were photo opportunities (for you to buy pictures) with some models, but we bypassed these quickly. Queue for the cinema was quite long (lots of pushing) but got straight on the Spirit of London ride.

Wouldn't bother going again. Not sure if I quite see the point of it to be honest. Give it a go if you have Merlin passes and nothing else to do...

Thank Thomisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Thomisa,

Thank you so much for your comments and taking some time to leave your review about Madame Tussauds London.

We are delighted to see that you recognised the true likeness of our wax figures; it takes a lot of time and skill to ensure that each one is just perfect! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed taking an exciting journey through London's history on our Spirit of London ride!

We hope to welcome you and your family back to Madame Tussauds in the future!

Kind regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madame Tussauds London also viewed

 

Been to Madame Tussauds London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing