We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exciting way to explore London!”

BrakeAway Bike Tours
Ranked #3 of 198 Outdoor Activities in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With BRAKEAWAY BIKE TOURS you’ll see more in a few hours than most see in a few days. We pride ourselves on being a smaller company, with local tour guides, who limit the size of the groups so that you are always involved and remain safe at all times. So, come discover the real London, as we tell you tales about sites that breathe life into the history of one of the greatest cities worldwide.
Hasselt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An exciting way to explore London!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We decided to book the secret London tour after a collegue recommended it... And he was absolutely right! My boyfriend and I've visited London several times already, but never experienced the city this way... It's a unique opportunity to see the sites you normally would walk past as a tourist. Through the stories and anekdotes, told by our guide Chris, we got to learn more about London in a fun way. When you want a break from the popular sites, this is the alternative!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ine654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,074
    51
    11
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of Our trip”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was reluctant to book a bike tour in London being concerned about the paths and streets that we had to take (crowded and scary). After researching several companies, Brakeway stood out for the good word about the guide (Chris) and for having small group tours, which would make me and the kids feel safer. Chris was great, friendly, funny and knowledgable. He took us through safe paths and some beautiful backstreets that were not crowded. We saw the main attractions from a different and more personal angle. Taking the tour early in my trip made it easier for me to plan for the rest of the trip. We had a blast, the tour took 3 hours that felt like 30 minutes, the kids wanted to go on another tour with Brakeway but we didn't have time in such a short visit. A big plus is the Banksy painted graffiti tunnel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Mims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon
1 review
“Brecon Beacons to the Big Smoke”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We really enjoyed our bike tour and found the mix of Main London sites combined with the off the beaten track less well known aspects (but just as interesting) was the perfect combination. The small group meant the tour was more personal and Chris was a very knowledgeable and gracious guide - you knew you were in good hands. The 'cruiser' bikes were good for sightseeing. Living in the country we are not used to much traffic, but at no point was the London traffic a cause for concern. From young (teenager of 13 yr) to old (mother of 76 yrs), we all had a really great time and would highly recommend to others as a great way to see the 'big smoke'.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ceri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unique sightseeing!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

April 1st I attended the Secrets of London tour and it was very exciting! Our excellent guide (a lot of background knowledge!) directed us to interesting sights in London sites without any rush.
Even people with a low fitness level are possible to go on this tour.
I enjoyed it very much, thanks Chris!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andyK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab alternative to the Bus Tours!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We decided to book with BrakeAway after reading the previous reviews posted here, and we were not disappointed. Chris was an excellent guide, and very knowledgable about the places we stopped at. The tour was perfect in terms of distance and time spent cycling, although the London traffic took a bit of getting used to!!

Every time we have been asked about out trip, the part we get most enthusiastic about was our cycling tour. It's a must!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jrdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BrakeAway Bike Tours also viewed

 

Been to BrakeAway Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing