We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better option is to sleep in your car, a park bench. Anywhere other than here”
Review of Hamiltons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamiltons Hotel
Ranked #414 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Shocking from start to finish. I have stayed in some holes in my life, and had forgotten what it felt like. If you have forgotten you can relive the feeling here. Avoid at ALL costs. It is relatively cheap compared to other hotels nearby, however even though it is cheap it is still massively overpriced.

Room Tip: Any room at another hotel is the one to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Due to the poor mobility of my mum, we asked for a ground floor room. They gave us a first floor room and there isn't a lift. So they offered her the basement room?! Which is down a steep flight of stairs! Come on darling just give it a try to my 85 year old mum. She was humiliated.
When we cancelled hey charged us for the room anyway, still waiting for a refund three weeks later.
They are also refurbishing the hotel which wasn't on the web-site.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boucher63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I did not book this hotel but it was chosen because of the "alleged" location of Paddington and very late in booking.
The location was also "dodgy" even though an apartment in an adjoining street had a twenty million pound asking price.
We shared a "family room" with our two grandchildren. No room on floor to open bags because room is so small, so had to be opened on the bed, closed and stacked in a pile.
There is being an attempt to renovate this old building. They are not succeeding in turning a 'sows ear into a silver purse' I would not be paying for the standard of workmanship.
Of concern is the old fashioned key lock (Circa 1600 AD) - no way anyone could open the door to rescue you in case of fire.
The bathroom is a renovators nightmare. Ugly flexible ribbed sewerage pipe and shower outlet pipe running along the wall.
The bed was good and the pillows good. The industrial fan was excellent for cooling the un-air conditioned room.
The old adage, "you get what you pay for" would be appropriate if a double was less than fifty pound a night.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOURKE2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The price reflects the quality of the accommodation. Building work is currently taking place, I struggled to get a hot shower. The location is only 7 minutes from Paddington station and Edgware Road. The family room has a double bed and bunks, this leaves very little floor space. The wardrobe had a screw for a handle.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Needed to stay overnight close to a tube station, the Hamiltons Hotel was very reasonably priced and the room was well equipped. The manager who checked us in was delightful, and we were given an upgrade - which is always a lovely surprise.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank eleni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#419 of 1,081 in London
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Hotel

Address: 32 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: €63 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hamiltons Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamiltons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing