We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good tour!”

Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours
Ranked #91 of 752 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Jack the Ripper Tours with Ripping Yarns have been the leading Jack the Ripper tours in Whitechapel for over 25 years. We remain a small Company who believe that small Group Sizes and personal interaction will surpass your expectations, as opposed to the Larger Advertised Companies who now Operate in the area. The Tour is recommended in the Rick Steves Guide book to London. The cost is just £8.00, Where else could you get a great night in London for that price? But perhaps the best measure of the Tour comes from our many customers. which are a fitting testament to the level of satisfaction. All the Guides are serving Yeoman Warders (Beefeaters) at the Tower of London, so you can be assured that your Guide knows how to conduct a tour properly and "tell a tale" the content is such that it weaves the story of Jack the Ripper, the social background and the history of the area, helping to paint the most vivid mental picture of life and death in London's East End.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were not dissapointed by this tour! Jimmy was our tour guide for the night, he was great, got to the point and explained everything clearly. The small group size made it more personal. Learned loads about jack the ripper and his victims! Will defo reccomend this tour to other people :) and for £8!!! Bargain

1  Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, thank you for your positive feedback, which I will pass on to Jimmy and hope you will pass on this to your friends.

We are the longest running and cheapest historical tour group in London, no gimmics a motivated group here at the tower who enjoy the history of the east end and these murders are part of that

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 75 reviews
"tower hill tube station"
in 27 reviews
"white chapel"
in 25 reviews
"great tour"
in 66 reviews
"whitechapel area"
in 9 reviews
"story teller"
in 12 reviews
"two hours"
in 36 reviews
"beefeater guide"
in 9 reviews
"yeoman warder"
in 22 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 23 reviews
"set the scene"
in 10 reviews
"knew his stuff"
in 14 reviews
"small group"
in 22 reviews
"hour walk"
in 8 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 12 reviews
"spend an evening"
in 9 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 15 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this tour. Didn't have to pay until the end and £8 each for 2.5 hours of entertainment in London is a steal. Took in a number of sights and history of the East End not only Jack the Ripper. Tour guide (sorry cannot remember name) was highly knowledgeable and entertaining. If you want someone dressed up in historic costume go to another tour but if you want a no nonsense tour told by someone genuinely interested in what he is saying then go for this one. One last note , please just give him a tenner and don't wait for change like some people on the tour did. Not many places you get something this cheap let alone in London

1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback,

We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We were in a pretty small group of around 10 people and walked past most of the major spots of the murderous events of the Whitechapel Murders. It took place after sunset and you needed very little imagination to go back to the dark past. Actually being where it all happened made the story vividly real and left quite the impression for me.
The tour guide was knowledgable and told a well worked out narrative, always looking after the group and drawing everyone in.

1  Thank Vincent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfromhell1888, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed the evening, our tour group are made up from Beefeaters from the Tower and we have a great deal of experience dealing with groups and putting over a story, and the cheapest tour around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

My teenage son wanted to go on a Jack the Ripper tour, so I looked online and opted for this one on a Saturday evening.

I was really impressed throughout- our guide was knowledgable, entertaining, and funny. It was very interesting, and I’m really glad we went on it, and for £8 was a bargain.
It was also a relatively small group - only about 12 or so, and therefore was much more personal. The tour lasted just over two hours, but with lots of stops at various points.
I’d highly recommend it, as it was fascinating throughout.

1  Thank kingduncan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfromhell1888, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for your feed back, and I am glad you had a great evening and we were able to provide that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

If you are wanting to do a Jack the Ripper tour THIS is the tour group you want to be with!!!!! These tours are carried out by off duty Beef eaters.

Two and a half hours of walking cobblestone narrow alleys and pathways to crime scenes, hearing all the gruesome facts, crime scene photos and some good old fashioned sleuthing . I think thanks to the help of our guide we learned exactly who Jack the Ripper was and why (or at least a plausible theory)

2  Thank TRACEY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackfromhell1888, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for your feed back, and I am glad you had a great evening and we were able to provide that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing